We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Catalina
Nearby Hotels
Monte Carlo Condominium(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 200*
USD 157*
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 162*
USD 118*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tangeri Hotel(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 110*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 244*
USD 169*
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 118*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Creole(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 78*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 93*
USD 91*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 79*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 74*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Perico Azul(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 68*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
94
16
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
16
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmother and daughterspent nights at hotelgreat stay at hotelcosta ricasouthern endbeautiful plantswonderful hostscharming hotelbeachfront locationlittle slice of heavenlaid backshort walkeasy accessdowntown jacosandrakitchenetteocean
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This was my first trip to CR.
Hotel Catalina is located in a quaint beachside area of Jaco, where beautiful ocean waves and incredible neon sunsets lull you into relaxation mode. The proprietors are extremely friendly and accomodating; each room is comfortable, cool and clean, they answer to their own high standards. The grounds are a floral paradise, every flower and bird stopping by to sing their song. They are environmentally conscious of daily living without sacrificing creature comforts. The surfing is literally at the door front. Classes are held for newcomers nearby. Fresh fruit and drinks in the patio are lovely at days end. People are so friendly and engaging; as if we all know how lucky we are to be there! Along with a friend, we stayed at both a high end resort, and Hotel Catalina, and I must say the service and warmth of Hotel Catalina far outdid the staff at the high end hotel which felt a bit too impersonal. To each his own...I will go back to Hotel Catalina as soon as I can! What a fantastic getaway from the rat race!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanc8pd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puravida643, Owner at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

We loved having you here! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Catalina continues to be our beach home of choice. Over the past several years we've stayed as a couple, as a family, for a family reunion over the winter holidays, and for a stay with several friends of 60 years (literally) who came from Massachusetts to visit us for the first time.

We love the cleanliness, hot water, unbeatable location, and the kitchen facilities, but the best thing about the Catalina is the people. Sandra and Naomi never fail to treat us and our guests like friends...better than family:)...and go out of their way to be always helpful and to individualize their attention depending on our needs.

We always stay in one of the fan rooms, and don't feel the need for a/c, but we live in Costa Rica and can see that people from the Frozen North might want the a/c:)

We'll be back asap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saramandaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

We always enjoy when you visit with your family! Thank you for the continuing support! Hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel Catalina is run by a lovely family who are incredibly welcoming. We had a room on the second floor with a perfect view of the most amazing sunset. The rooms are clean and well equipped. It's good value and safe. It is right up the quiet end of Jaco beach away from the main tourist area which does mean you either need a car or to take a taxi into town. Taxis are cheap though and the hotel will call one for you whenever you need one. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the second floor at the back as then you look directly out onto the sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

It was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for staying with us and writing the lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Our friends told us about th is place. They live in costa rica and come here often.

Located on the south end of jaco beach. Quiet and laid back area close enough to walk to center of town for dinner or action

Secured parking and building
Small pool
beautiful grounds they have taken great care of this property

Rooms are the cleanest we have seen. Fridge small kichen and hotplate

Air condition that us quiet
Hot water
No bugs

No tv

Excellent property and great owners

We will be back

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puravida643, General Manager at Hotel Catalina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

What a pleasure meeting you both! Thank you for the support! Hope your travels through Costa Rica were enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This place is great by the beach. The rooms are clean and the price is just right. A place you always go back to.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews