We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
410
47
13
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
47
13
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doce lunas yoga studio costa rica tropical paradise grounds are beautiful manager brian flora and fauna cab ride downtown jaco large bathroom staff went out of their way beautiful room beautiful hotel hermosa beach mango rainy season horseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Our family of four along with another family just returned from a week at Hotel Docelunas. We had a really good time. Brian and Chris, two of the owners, couldn't have been nicer. They helped arranged all of our activities and because the hotel is small (20 rooms), you get individual attention that you wouldn't at a larger resort. Breakfast was lovely and drinks were easy to come by. Two things you should know though. One: you are a 15 minute walk or a short cab ride from the beach. Two - Don't expect someone taking your drink order while you lounge at the pool. Of course, the pool is only 200 feet from the bar and by being away from the beach you are secluded among trees and at times feel as though you have a resort all to yourself.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank MitchN978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The staff and owners are wonderful, the pool is quite literally the gem of the show, and the location is perfectly nestled just out of town and out of the noise. The grounds are beautiful, well kept, and full of the natural beauty of costa rica. The rooms were roomy and full of beautiful art. The walk to town is only 20 minutes and the cab ride is cheap, I recommend walking to town and grabbing a cab home to get closer to the local neighborhoods.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pdxSparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

The resort is beautiful. At the base of the jungle, a mile from town. Secure site. The canopy of jungle overhead was awesome to wake up in. Beautiful pool. No chlorine. Yay. Rooms comfortable. Clean. experience. Massage was very well done Professional. Staff were very helpful with everything. Only issues were wifi was unreliable and the variety of food offered was not great. The quality of food however was good. We will return.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Harold G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We stayed at the hotel for one night on our way to another resort. The staff were very nice. We had dinner late the night we arrived and breakfast and lunch the next day before we left. Breakfast was simple with only two choices but it was quite good. Our lunch and dinner, which had more expansive menus, were good as well. Our room, however, wasn't that great in my opinion. It had "holes" in the walls that didn't really look like unfinished remodel work but just damage, our sheet had an explained, but small, red stain on it, the hairdryer looked like it had seen better days, the furniture was worn and the bedspread was dated. The pool area was nice and clean but we didn't have a chance to get in. I'm much more picky than my husband and he too wasn't thrilled with the stay. I tried to post some pics but they were too small to post.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ARWH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Just returned from another great stay at DoceLunas! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. For being only one mile from downtown Jaco this place feels like it's in the middle of the rainforest! The grounds are beautiful and the pool is always clean and just the right temperature. The staff is quick to accommodate too. We went on a fishing trip and the cooks told us to bring anything we caught back and they would cook it up for us! They can cook some fish!! It was delicious! The front desk staff also set us up with car rentals, zip lining, the ropes course, fishing etc. If you are looking for a clean, spacious, chill place that is also close to the action, check out DoceLunas! You will not regret it! We have stayed here in March during the dry season, as well as during October during the rainy season; both times couldn't have been any better. During March visit it was hot and maybe rained once in a week. The October visit it rained in the evenings and sometimes all through the night. It was beautiful all day though. Last but not least, Chris the owner is one cool dude that would give the shirt right off his back for you. Thanks again for making our family's trip one we will never forget!! Till next time! Talia and Jason from WV!!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Talia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews