We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
150
62
36
26
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
62
36
26
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi on the balcony clothing optional resort working girls costa rica karaoke night pool bar ocean front public beach laid back central america san jose naked nightlife jungle
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

If your looking for a clothing optional resort that's what you get. That's a good thing the property is in a great location, The staff are few so they multi-task and not that well. The only brite light was Becky she was outstanding as bartender, waiter, and she corrdinated our dinner on the beach and even booked our tour. The food was excelent, same menu every day except for dinnr specials, but everything was very good quality, well seasoned and prepared, even the presentation was great. The property itself needs upgrading and better upkeep, and yes, its considered beachfront, but you will be About 500 ft from the beach, and its a public beach so keep your swimwear ON. You can rent an umbrella and 2 chairs from a guy on the beach for $20 until sunset, when he starts gathering everything. Power and internet were sporadic. The only entertainment is Wed night karaoke, so plan to go elsewhere or go to sleep early, there are some local bars in walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Johnpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for you comments. We are glad you had a good time. We have Karaoke on Wednesday and DJ Saturday and Sunday by the pool. Glad you enjoy you meals and your dinner on the beach.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

It is a very nice place to visit if you like adult only hotels with optional clothing, I really liked that option and service from the hotel and the food is very tasty. Rooms are comfty and nice for good rest.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you very much for your nice review!!! Hope you visit us again in a near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

My wife and i and friends stayed here in Feb. 2017 for a week. First let me say the place is a 3 at best. Pool needs work as do some of the rooms and the grounds . This supposedly was the busy time of year and i don't think their was more than 10 people here at any one time and some of those were the hookers.
we booked a room overlooking the pool. (waste of money) yes we could see the pool but just barely. Had to really try. The room was very small but doable; the problem was the shower/spa tub. The shower head was in the middle of the ceiling over the spa tube , very difficult to use without spraying everywhere and that was if we even had hot water. I would turn on the hot, wait 5 minutes then it would be VERY hot then turn on the cold but the water got hotter then it would turn ice cold.. EVERY DAY was a water adventure. After 2 days we asked to be moved to a different room ( facing the ocean) much better. Had to argue the price as it was more expensive even though almost all the ocean rooms were empty in the hotel. The lady at the front desk had to call the owners in Canada to get an ok to move us in a 3/4 empty hotel. Every night in our room we had termites coming out of the ceiling down the wall. This went on every night until i asked for bug spray, they sent a worker on a bike to the store and gave the can to me and told me to keep it.
The pool area was ok.. One nude and 1 clothing optional.. People went back and forth but the C.O. pool was mostly hookers and men picking them up. The nude pools was very quiet but was ok.. we spent most of our time there relaxing. The pool needs work but all in all was really fine. The hooker being around sounds weird but it really was no big deal.
The food at the resort was ok but there are many different restaurants to choose from within a couple blocks and the food was very good at all of them. We booked the hotel through expedia so they wanted to charge us for breakfast every day so we went out instead.
The people who work their try their best to help you but with things but the service was slow at best. One day the power was scheduled to be out in that part of the city and nobody let us know until it was turned off. A simple heads up would have been nice.
I don’t think I would go back here again for the price unless some upgrade are done.
Tipping is included in all services so no need to tip again if you order food or drinks

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for taking a time to write your comments!!! We will look closely to all your comments and fix the problems,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Classic example of the good, the bad and the 'in between'. First the Good! Property has an excellent location in the center of Jaco on the beach and convenient to all restaurants, tourist shopping, and bars. Staff is helpful, friendly, and truly tries to do all within their power to make the guest happy, but training is seriously lacking, and for example, one waiter may deliver toast with breakfast, one may not, and one or two slices per serving seems to be discretionary. Both pools are central, but both hot tubs are on au natural pool area, and rarely heated, lending them an issue for those that do not chose to lose the suits. Did not use the all inclusive option, as it was expensive in relationship to the area, and good restaurants within easy walking distance were plentiful. The Bad...... Rooms were marginal at best, and seriously in need of updating from the mattresses, furniture, and bath areas. Mold was apparent on baseboards which would be a problem for anyone with allergies. With taxes, this is a $150/night facility which cannot be justified. Picture a '60s Motel 6

Room Tip: second floors have sitting areas outside of room, ground floors do not.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank arry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for taking a time to right your comments!
Starting low season we will start our upgrade to the poolside rooms for the comfort of our guest. We have one heat Jacuzzi and one not, but we will take your suggestion about a Jacuzzi on the clothing optional area.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We booked this thinking it was for the alternative life style community and it turned out to cater mostly, if not exclusively to prostitution. Outdoor soaking tub never did work in our room. No mattress pads, that could be removed and washed in between guests, This really grossed me out.
Ceiling leaked onto our bed, they finally with our insisting, moved us to another room and reduced the rate.
Location was good. Food okay.
Nice to have clothing optional if you can overlook the rest.

Room Tip: Knowing what I know now would not stay again. Property pretty run down
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank pball2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Once again not every Latin lady staying at the property is a prostitute, ladies in our property dressed sexy or no clothing ( we are a Lifestyle hotel for open minded people) and we have many local ladies staying with us!
You reported a problem with the Jacuzzi the same day of your check out because you wanted to stay and extra night and your were asking for a discount , if you were so grossed out about us WHY do you wanted to stay an extra night with us?
And you got upset because we gave you a discount but not the room for FREE.

I personally apologized with you about the leak in your room and explained to you that the guest staying above your room left the Jacuzzi filling up and left the room what caused a flooding and the leak into your room. I offered to you another room and you moved. This problem was out of our hands and we try to solve it the best we could.

I don't think is fair your put this review because we didn't give you the extra night you wanted to stay for FREE.

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews