We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
150
62
35
26
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
62
35
26
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi on the balconyclothing optional resortworking girlscosta ricakaraoke nightpool barocean fronthot waterpublic beachlaid backcentral americasan josenudenakednightlifejungle
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The Copacabana advertises itself as an adults only establishment, with clothing optional portions of the pool area. It's right on the beach, which has its up and down sides. The hotel itself is a bit dated, though some rooms have been renovated. The bar and hotel itself were deserted when we visited, though the restaurant is apparently good. The most interesting thing is the wildlife one encounters. In the pool area we saw three crabs (not the STD variety, actual crabs about the size of your hand) in the pool (a maintenance guy fished these out with a net when we pointed them out), and what appeared to be an armadillo skulking in the flower beds. The hotel is right next to a river that runs into the ocean - its the home of a crocodile who sometimes appears. All in all, an interesting stay, though perhaps not for the reasons one might expect.

Stayed: July 2016
3  Thank SMartHistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thanks for you comments. We are remodeling the hotel , we started with the Ocean Front Junior prestiges, and poolside Junior prestiges, Passion Suites and back Bar. Our Location and food is one of the best of Jaco! Hope to see you back at the Hotel during busy season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

I still go back to the Copacabana, but I no longer take my children. That is the most important difference to 8 years ago. I've gone another 10 or 12 times since then, but no children. Adults only works for me...an adult for sure. Food still good, staff still good. In fact, I had a serious health issue there...mine, not theirs...and the staff was very supportive in getting me the medical care I needed.
The beach has not moved and is still right there.
The hotel has changed the suites and no longer has the kitchens it had, and now has more rooms, but not as large as the suites were before. But they do have the sauna/hot tubs on the decks over-looking the ocean.
I'm off to Jaco soon...and back to the Copa!

Room Tip: If you want the view and sauna/hot tubs, go for it. All rooms are good, but don't have these amenities.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrganicmanCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thanks very much for taking a time to write your review.. Every guest is important for us and wue are happy we were able to help you!
We remodel many rooms, but we still have the suite with kitchenett on the second floor.
Come down and visit us soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Well taking photos for their website when you get there it is incredible for location Milby bathroom died for all from the wall sink is broken heavy smell of urine
We booked a suite and we got a refrigerator that has more rust on it then paint terrible and disgusting cannot even describe what we saw a soon as we walked in we have to cited to look for substitute place to stay

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Avi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john0123, Owner at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

This guest never stayed with us,contrary to the quests allegations that they did.We have no wall sinks in any of our rooms,contrary to the allegations of this consumer.We have no cleaning issues in our rooms contrary to the quests allegations.
This is an example of persons that post reviews,that are not factual and say they stayed with us but they never did stay with us.
Being an owner you have to deal with reviews that are false.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I've stayed at the Copacabana 4x now and just keep going back. Whenever I go to Jaco Beach, I usually go with a group of friends. It's a fun party place and the Copa has everything you need to get going.

The staff are all very friendly and eager to help you out. Just down the street (towards the main road) is a small mom/pop restaurant with the best Chifrijo in Jaco.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katia A, General Manager at Copacabana Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thanks for your nice comments. We hope you continue coming down and staying with us!! We are happy when our guest are happy!! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Great days at The COPA
Back to reality now, thinking already to go back to Copacabana. We had such a good time. Our room was perfect with an open shower , jacuzzi on the balcony and great sunset view. The food excellent with a big selection, i love the shrimp rice.
We had a blast in karaoke night, and good atmosphere at the pool , DJ and exotic dancers. Thanks to the staff for an amazing time, kiki, cesar, rakel, pam , luis, cant remember all the names, too many drinks!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank carelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews