We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Club del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 244*
USD 171*
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 126*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 565*
USD 361*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pochote Grande(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 95*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 135*
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 93*
USD 85*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sports Bar and Hotel Oz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 113*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 78*
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Flamboyant(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 107*
USD 76*
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Perico Azul(Jaco)(Great Value!)
USD 73*
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
272
116
33
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
116
33
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom condojaco beachcosta ricamain buildinghotel is locatedocean viewsouth endfull kitchensan josegreat wavesnice poolblack sandwasher and dryerhorseback ridingloved this hotelcarara national parkthe penthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Club del Mar is professional in every detail. The property is spotless. The food is perfect. The staff is friendly and goes out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Guest services manager Jason along with Kittina, William, and the rest of the staff made sure our visit was unforgettable. You can't go wrong here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank LeezFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F, Owner at Hotel Club del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So happy you enjoyed your visit with us at Club del Mar! Please think of us for your next get away! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Another incredible experience at Club del Mar.
I have stayed here 3 times since Thanksgiving 2017.
The staff and management truly make this place unique. Restaraunt is onsite with wonderful food.
Pool is out before you enter the beach with a fantastic tiki bar to watch the sunsets.
Great place to surf safely and instructor onsite.
Every visit I make, new management has stepped up the location by creating an overall welcoming experience.
Love this spot on the quiet south beach side.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F, Owner at Hotel Club del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We enjoy your visits! Welcome to family Club del Mar! Get back soon.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I’m not to fond of Jaco beach given that it’s always crowded and during high season it gets pretty unbearable.

This place changed my mind. Located at the very tip of Jaco beach, it’s as beach front as you can get without being on the actual beach.

There’s a hotel which I didn’t stay in but the villas are everything you need for a long stay. Very well maintained, fully furnished, one or two rooms, full kitchen, terraces or balcony, AC all over, cable TV, it’s a small apartment.

Beds are comfortable and the villas are lovely overall.

Facilities are very nice and suffice for all guests. I haven’t felt crowded once at the pool and it’s always clean. The surroundings are pretty, filled with vegetation and large trees.

Service is great. All staff members are friendly and helpful. They clean each villa everyday and even do your dishes.

I can’t comment on price since I was invited this time but during high season everything becomes pricey in Costa Rica.

I really liked this place, specially since it’s really close to San Jose.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F, Owner at Hotel Club del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us at Club del Mar. We appreciate your business & kind review. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here in a one bedroom condo almost on the beach and we loved the five days we slept here.

Spacious condo, very clean, nice garden (with a sloth during our stay), good swimming pool and good service. The restaurant serves okay food; not fine dining but just an honest dish.

If I read other reviews I see:
- too noisy due to too close to the road; basically only when you want to hear it you notice a truck going up the hill
- the beach has black sand; correct but it is sand and no cobbles or rock
- you cannot walk to town; be happy, it cost you 2000-3000 colones to go safely by taxi and able to drink a beer or two
- breakfast has only four choices; correct but it is made fresh instead of a buffet style breakfast (environmentally okay since you do not have leftover stuff thrown away and it prevents you from too much eating)

If you only want to have the best of the best then I suggest you stay at the FourSeasons, otherwise this is a very good option; certainly price wise.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WallyHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F, Owner at Hotel Club del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Your review is very appreciated! Thank you for staying at Club del Mar. We were extremely fortunate to have the sloth visit us, glad you were here for it. We would enjoy having you again if your plans bring you back to Costa Rica! Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

What a find. We came here after a hectic week of travelling on a tour of Costa Rica with early starts and arrived at this haven of peace and tranquility. Initially we had a deluxe double room but chose to upgrade to a ground floor two bed condo with sea views mainly due to the traffic noise which was ok.
The condo was fantastic with masses of space and a well fitted kitchen which we only really used to store beer and wine! We had a fantastic seven days, the staff are all really friendly and helpful but we would especially like to mention Eunice, Kat and of course
Jason and Tom. Jason and Toms recommendations on places to eat were spot on giving us a great opportunity to experience Costa Rica.
The beach is wonderful and there were daily walks right along 7 km and also into town. At night we tended to take a taxi but for 4-5 dollars was worth it. During our stay we
sampled Graffitti, Juanita, The Green Room and Vida Hermosa all of which have something to offer. Be warned the service can be slow but often was worth the wait and the live music at the Green Room was great.
The location of the hotel is perfect tucked away at the far end of the beach which apart from the weekends was lovely and quiet.
We had seen some reviews about the sea but we swam everyday and felt quite safe although came out with costumes full of sand.
During our stay we saw a sloth, red and blue macaws, pelicans, red squirrel and masses of iguanas in the hotel grounds.
Overall a really friendly and very comfortable stay and would definitely come and stay again.
A big thank you to everyone for such a great stay.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front condo - well worth it. We had number 16
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SBhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F, Owner at Hotel Club del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear new CDM family.....Condo 16 misses you & your cheerful smiles & poor Jason is trying hard to get someone else to invite him to the patio for a sunset cerveza!
Very much enjoyed your visit & look forward to next year.
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews