We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
214
294
199
84
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
294
199
84
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjaco beachbuffet styleall inclusive packagesan josebeach barbeach accesscentral americarice and beanspura vidapebblescostaoceantourswavesiguanasdiscoguard
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Rented car was traveling from Quanacaste had fun taking stops here and there as my husband speaks fluent Spanish.Was told town was not that great drugs prostitutes we did see some girls but you see that in everyplace in the world.went to local super markets we ate a lot of local food

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beachbumdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear beachbumdina, thanks for sharing such a nice review.

It is very rewarding learning how much you and your husband enjoyed staying in our hotel, finding our services so good and our accommodations so comfortable and pleasant. We want to make sure that all of our guests have everything they might need and to be able to assist them and comply with their requests as soon as possible so that they can relax as much as they can and enjoy the beach and everything else the hotel offers.

It was a pleasure being at your service. We hope to see you both back again very soon.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

My stay at this resort was very good! Friendly service, very nice pools and views that can't get any better. Plus you're only a few steps from the ocean. Only thing I thought that could have been improved were the standard rooms. Very simple, not that great of beds, but just anyone needs. Overall, I was very pleased with this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kdbrown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear kdbrown22, thank you so much for posting such a marvelous review.

We are delighted that your stay with us was such a great experience. There is nothing more important for us than our guests' comfort and satisfaction so that they can enjoy everything we offer and have all the fun they want.

We are also very glad that our location right infront (and with direct access) of the beach was so convenient, that way, you could go and come from the beach whenever you wanted and without having to walk too much.

We are sorry that our accommodations were not up to your expectations, please accept our apologies for it. We assure you that we are going to share your comments with our Management so that they can take them into account as quickly as possible, because as we mentioned before, nothing is more important than our guests total comfort and satisfaction.

It was a pleasure being able to serve you. Thank you for your visit.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016

This is known to be one of the oldest hotels in the area and you can feel it as soon as you step in.. The room was one of the worst hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, no ocean views, plastic chairs, balcony overlooking a building in construction and the most uncomfortable bed.
On the other hand FOOD WAS AWESOME! We did not expect good food from this place at all but kudos to the chef for 5 star buffet experience for breakfast/lunch/dinner!
Also the beach is a disappointment, if you stay here take day tours to other beaches so you can avoid the resort and just take advantage of free drinks and food.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool on a higher floor
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DOSAMANTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Dear DOSAMENTE, thank you for sharing your comment about our hotel.

Yes we are one of the oldest hotels in the Jaco area, a hotel that has always provide guests with comfortable accommodations and great services making us a staple in the town because our guests mostly come back. We are sorry that you found our hotel old and outdated, but as you could see, it is actually undergoing renovations and remodellations which is something that its done every couple of years because we want to ensure that our guests have always the most comfortable accommodations and modern furnishings so that they can enjoy themselves and have all the fun they want.

We are very happy that you liked all our fun so much since we truly want our guests to have a wonderful time and that they enjoy staying with us. By offering them our all inclusive services we make sure that we have everything covered so that they can relax and enjoy their stay.

It was a pleasure having you here. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

I feel this all-inclusive resort is a treasure. My daughter is studying abroad for Spanish in San Jose and we were looking for something in close proximity from her home, to enjoy the culture, to see the beautiful country, to vacation at the beach, to be reasonably priced, to include meals and to accommodate for non-Spanish speaking visitors. We didn't want an expensive five star but I feel we got five-star amenities and services at four star prices. Totally affordable for a family and enough for everyone to do. The food was excellent....every meal, every day, a variety of options to satisfy all tastes.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear Lynne C, thank you so much for your charming comments.

We are delighted that your stay with us was such a wonderful experience; that you found our accommodations so comfortable, our all inclusive services so good, our location so convenient (we are only about an hour and a half from the city and right infront of the beach and with direct access to it) and a staff so committed to our guests comfort and well being.

It was a pleasure having you and your family here with us. Thank you for choosing us.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

After reading the reviews and focusing on the negative, I was hesitant to stay here and almost cancelled my reservation. I'm glad I didn't. We were very impressed with the resort. Very clean, secure, lots of food options and great access to the town and beach. While it wasn't perfect; we "lost" two hats and a pair of swim goggles at the pool, overall it was a great value.
Something to note, the location is away from the downtown section and therefor was very quiet and insulated from the night life. We walked to the shops, etc one day but ended up driving the next because it was so hot in the middle of the day. Parking was easy and free.
At the resort the kids (12, 10, 5) had a lot of fun using the pool table, foosball and ping-pong table. That was a nice bonus since the sun is really intense and we were looking for non-sun activities from 12-3.
The pool was good but as other stated there is very little shade so the water is really warm and you have to hide yourself from the sun. We never had a problem finding a lounge chair in the shade.
The beach was great but be aware the waves are big, at least from Connecticut standards. The first set of waves were small enough for our 5 year old to play in but he did get pushed around and wore a life jacket the whole time. The bigger kids and myself had a good time body surfing the second set of waves. We tried to get to the third set with boogie boards but could make it without getting slammed around. It was fun but we are novices. The nice part was during low tide the water is shallow around the second set of waves, about 3 ft, so we could stand and ride waves without too much worry. Plus you can ride a the wash of the wave in on a boogie board really far. High tide wasn't as much fun as the waves broke late and the water was deep.
The resort had security at the front and back to make sure only guest got onto the property but there were so few people around. Even in the resort it seemed half filled most of the time. At certain periods during meals the restaurant filled up but never to the point of having to wait for a table.
Speaking of the food, it was decent Costa Rican food with a mix of other stuff. Nothing out of this world but solid and with good variety. Fruit was great. Plenty of meat choices but with my vegetarian gluten free wife, she found lots of salad choices and was satisfied. Nobody got sick so that is a big plus for me.
The rooms were kinda small but clean and new. TV, A/C and showers were fine. We stayed on first floor on the garden side. The view was of a wall and another building, not much to note. But we didn't spend much time on the small outdoor area, except to dry clothes. There was noise in the morning from the room above us. Some fool moving furniture around a 6:30 am and making a heck of a lot of racket. I was up so it didn't really matter but who does that? Also, the A/C was loud and right next to the bed. Kept me cold but almost too cold and too loud.
The bar area was good. Really friendly staff. There was food there during the day; hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, nachos, fruit, coffee which was nice.
All in all a good place to stay for a reasonable amount of money. The staff was helpful setting up a surf lesson and getting us anything we ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Avalanche408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Dear Avalanche408, thank you so much for sharing your thorough and very detailed comments about your experience with us.

We are ecstatic that you and your family had such a nice stay, finding our hotel very comfortable, with everything that you might need so all of you could relax and enjoy the beach and everything else that the hotel offers. Our entire staff is devoted to our guests' comfort, satisfaction and well being so they are always making sure that our guests are happy and that everything is up to their expectations, always willing to assit or help them and also complying with everything they might request.

We are also very glad that you like all the food we offer, both the snacks and the buffets. As you were able to see, our location is very convenient because we are only a couple of blocks away from downtown which enables our guests totake a stroll and see all the shops, bars, cafes and restaurants there are. By offering and providing great all inclusive services, very comfortable accommodations and beautiful landscaping and premises we want to ensure that all of our guests lleave feeling very well rested and very happy for having chosen to stay with us.

It was a pleasure having you and your family here with us. We hope to see you all back again soon.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews