We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great gardens”

Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls
Ranked #7 of 53 things to do in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls is unique in Costa Rica. It is truly a "Visual Masterpiece". The gardens begin with the natural beauty of Costa Rica and four waterfalls in the property with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. To this millions of plants, flowers and orchids from all over the world have been added. Manicured walkways meander long a river and at the crest of the mountain which make the entire 50 acre gardens accessible to all. Have lunch in our restaurant and browse the gift shop that offers authentic Costa Rica gifts.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I never saw anything as beautiful and well kept. We loved it and would highly recommend this attraction to anyone and everyone.................

Thank stepjumpjump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvgardens, Owner at Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Steve,
Thank you for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cruise ship"
in 26 reviews
"botanical gardens"
in 14 reviews
"gift shop"
in 21 reviews
"pura vida"
in 33 reviews
"plants and flowers"
in 9 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 4 reviews
"dirt road"
in 18 reviews
"costa rica"
in 69 reviews
"scarlet macaws"
in 15 reviews
"wheel drive"
in 7 reviews
"carara national park"
in 6 reviews
"the owner"
in 22 reviews
"well worth the effort"
in 5 reviews
"tropical paradise"
in 4 reviews
"dry season"
in 10 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 6 reviews
"hiking shoes"
in 4 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Thank you for sharing your gardens with us! We took a 4 wheel drive taxi ride up, and didn't find it a bad drive whatsoever, including my daughter who tends to get carsick. The trip up the mountain was well worth the gorgeous gardens and pathways. We saw more macaws (6 to 8) here than anywhere else on our vacation, including Carara National Park!

Thank sunny4222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvgardens, Owner at Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Sunny,
Thanks for the nice review. its a bit hard to get car sick even though the road is windy , with all the scenic things to see on the way up.
Something funny has happened in the last 10 days or so (maybe climate change lol) but we are continually having between 20 and 30 Scarlet Macaws in the gardens and more Tucans as well. I hope they stay.
Thanks, again
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We visited the Pura Vida Gardens as part of an excursion with the Coral Princess Panama Canal Cruise that stopped in Costa Rica. The gardens were quite spectacular and the owner and staff were very nice and accommodating. They provided us with food and drinks after our tour of the gardens. I would recommend a visit to the gardens, the scenery is quite spectacular. I have a plethora of beautiful pictures of the gardens and of the views from the gardens, so definitely bring your camera.

Thank AE6YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvgardens, Owner at Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hello,
Thank you very much for your great review. I was enjoyable having you here ar Pura Vida Gardens. I'm glad you had a
good time. Hope to see you again sometime
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Overpriced, takes maybe 30 min to go through the whole site. Terrible road to get to it and the waterfall was barely flowing. Go tho the national parks instead!

Thank jensen7102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvgardens, Owner at Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Jensen,
You were told that thie is a tropical garden where you can see the waterfall but not get near it. Maybe you just didn't understand and if
you can see the whole gardens in 30 minutes you must be a real fast runner because you sure didn't walk. If you read anything, you know we are in the dry season.ER STRESS THE GARDENS AND NOT THE WATERFALLS. By the way , did you see all three waterfalls????
The national parks with a guide are twice as expenseive.
I think your review is false.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

As we were driving this place took a little finding, a long winding hillside track to get there but well worth the effort. The gardens and waterfall are very attractive and well maintained. There are lots of steps up and down hill with some spectacular views. The restaurant did not appear to be open but there is a good one further down the hillside.

1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvgardens, Owner at Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for you nice review amd commits. our restaurant is open on Cruise ship days and since your the second person that has
mentioned the restaurant been closed I am going to re open. Our restaurant Adventure Dining is open for evening events and is quite popular. Maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls also viewed

Jaco, Jaco District
Jaco, Jaco District
 

Been to Pura Vida Gardens and Waterfalls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing