We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fish Hook Marina & Lodge(Golfito)(Great Value!)
USD 75
USD 68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal del Mar(Golfito)(Great Value!)
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samoa del Sur(Golfito)(Great Value!)
USD 49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
138
2
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
2
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheaven on earthorganic farmhowler monkeyspaddle boardingdolphin watchinggolfo dulcehis teamthe osa wildlife sanctuaryculinary experiencered carpethoneymoon suitethe general managerspecial placecosta ricaminute boat ridenew friendsceviche
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

The pictures posted in here do not do this place justice. I don't think there are many words to describe Playa Cativo and the lovely people that work there.

The boat ride on the way in draws you into to the magic that is this place, we were lucky enough to be accompanied by hundreds of spotted dolphins that made the experience for my 10 year old and frankly me even more amazing.
When you arrive you are hit by the magnificence of the national park that sits behind the relatively small boutique hotel.. offering you on location access to a small waterfall with a super refreshing little natural pool, a morning wakeup call by the wide variety of birds of paradise and howler monkeys, and the most lush surroundings imaginable to me.

The room was breathtaking with all of the open windows, allowing you a 180 view of the beautiful surroundings. You get a stocked fridge daily with freshly prepared juice & fruit ( heaven ). The food in the restaurant is the only food available, as there is nothing in the neighborhood, but it is the only food you will want. Freshly prepared, wholesome, nutritious, a health-freak's ultimate vacation.

Victor, Gero, Luis, Steven, and a bunch of others whom's name have left me for a minute, went out of their way to arrange and provide anything we needed. They were all super knowledgable about the species inhabiting their surroundings and were always ready to answer any questions.

My fiancee, 10 year old daughter, and I were there over the easter period, for which the staff had organized an easter egg hunt, and painting eggs for the kids. A lovely detail that made the trip even more memorable for our 10 year old.

Playa Cativo is definitely a home away from home we would love to return to.

Room Tip: Top floor for bathroom with a magnificent view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kolkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I cannot say enough about this amazing hotel. It is life unplugged in such a glorious way. The food is exceptional, the staff all very kind, knowledgable and helpful. The tours we did were excellent - especially the snorkelling and the dolphin tour. We stayed in the two Casitas (one for us and one for the teenagers) which were beautiful and separate from the main building.

Room Tip: The honeymoon casita was very romantic and a short walk from the main building. Nicely private.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McAtravels123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen M, Director of Sales at Playa Cativo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear McAtravels123,

We very much appreciate your kind words,

We really hope you come see us again very soon, please be sure to let us know, we love to do something extra especial for our returned guests!

Best regards,
Cesar Vargas S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Took our party of six (my wife and I, three kids (5, 7, 12) and the mother-in-law (late sixties) for four nights. Simply breathtaking from the stunning arrival, to the amazing tours (snorkelling, dolphin watching, hikes, farm tour), outstanding food, highly personalised service and views and scenery to die for. The staff could not have been friendlier and more accommodating with our family. A stunning and oh so memorable experience. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen M, Director of Sales at Playa Cativo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Hello Murray M.

Thank you for your review and for sharing it~

We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed our property and the amazing surrounding nature, it is definitely the place to disconnect, get closer to nature and the place to enjoy a special holiday with loved ones.

All the best,
Cesar Vargas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Playa Cativo is an incredibly beautiful and isolate resort accessible only by a boat ride (sometime with dolphins!). The on site farm provided unbelievably delicious food daily, and we were completely spoiled by our three course meals. Also, the staff accommodated any food restrictions, for example, making gluten free bread from rice flour and having burgers and quesadillas for younger kids.

The property itself was indescribable. We lived in the rainforest, had several walking trails (one of which included a beautiful private waterfall and small pool to take a dip in), and saw an incredible amount of wildlife. Scarlet macaws, humming birds, monkeys, anteaters, agoutis, lizards, frogs. And the rooms themselves are beautiful, with huge open windows looking out on the palm trees and ocean, comfortable beds, and hot showers.

Lastly, the staff could not have been more authentically warm and helpful. They were always available but never overburdening, they arranged all kinds of tours on site from snorkeling, to a farm tour, to nightly wildlife excursions. The staff spoke incredibly good English, knew tons about the property and wildlife, and were always waiting with a cold towel or drink when we returned to the hotel

I could not recommend this resort more highly, it was hands down the best vacation experience I've had. If you love the outdoors and wildlife, but still want to live and eat in luxury, there is no better place in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen M, Experience Specialist at Playa Cativo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Sean B,

Thank you for making us feel that special, the same way we try to make every one of our guest special and unique at an awesome nature place like ours. Indeed, we enjoy to learn from our paradise and definitely share that learning with our guests day by day while they are still comfortable having lifetime experiences.

Warm regards,
Playa Cativo Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We spent 5 nights at this very special place. All the staff made us feel special too as all our needs, down to every detail, were met. Nothing was too much trouble. The massage on the yoga platform was especially relaxing!. My husband was expertly supervised by Gustavo whilst snorkelling and paddle boarding. Altogether, a totally wonderful experience.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar ....have honeymoon rooms
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01325david1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen M, Experience Specialist at Playa Cativo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear 01325david1944

We love to know that all our efforts to cover our guest’s needs and make them have wonderful experiences with us are accomplished and noticed. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience!

We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Playa Cativo Sales Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews