We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in great prices from these sites
PricelineUSD 38
Agoda.comUSD 38
TripadvisorUSD 38
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
18
11
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
11
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Very nice room and facilities for the money, beautiful garden for realxing and admiring the local wildlife. Helpful owners - among other things they informed me that if I had a Tracopa bus ticket to San Jose or elsewhere, that I could use it to ride the local bus into Golfito for free.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B8117JSrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

As we arrived Walter (the owner) came out to greet us. As noted in another review the check-in was informal. His garden like grounds and our room were immaculate! It's obvious he cares very much about his lodge. We were shown around the property and noticed wildlife everywhere. There was a beautiful pool in a secluded area, as well as a pool table and BBQ for his guests. Walter recommended a small restaurant directly across the road from the lodge which had a great menu as well as a delightful proprietor. Not in town proper, but quiet and worth three times what he charges. We'll be back for another visit.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The vibe of this place is slightly odd. Our interactions with the innkeepers were a bit awkward, with no real check-in process and the final bill discussed in round figures. The central gazebo has a pool table, which is fun, but the swimming pool has been emptied of water. We stayed in the hostel room with our family of four. The room itself was clean, but lacked pretty much everything but bunkbeds -- no chairs, table or wastebasket. There is an industrial sink outside, but the mosquitos made it difficult to brush our teeth. We knew that the bathroom was in a separate building, but we were surprised that it was up a hill and that the light didn't work. The onsite manager was kind enough to loan us a flashlight and a fan, and made a point of asking for them back right before we left, since they were his personal property. The hostel room itself is built at one end of the gardening shed, so there was noise when the gardener got started with his work each morning. The breakfast was fine, but included only coffee, toast and eggs, so not worth the $6 price. We were surprised when we checked out that they only accepted cash. It seems like some of the other cabanas were nicer, but staying in the hostel room was a largely negative experience.

Room tip: Avoid the hostel room unless you're just staying over briefly on a tight budget.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

the rooms was nice, and clean. the grounds are meticulously maintained and it shows. they have a nice pool to cool off in and a nice shaded area to eat breakfast. lots of wildlife around (especially birds) and a fantastic restaurant right across the street about 100m up the road. i suggest going there to eat.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

Located in a beautiful property where Toucans are all around, Blue Morphos flying and Squirel Monkeys jumping on the trees.
The cabins are super clean, the bed is comfortable and the swimming pool is refreshing, fun and natural.
We didnt met Walter but Rosi was so nice that I wish we could stay another night.
Drinking coffee at the morning while listening to the nature in this lodge became one of our favourits mornings of the trip.

Shani & Liza

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank shanicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews