We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time - excellent place :)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casitas Las Flores

Casitas Las Flores
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casitas Las Flores
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Casitas Las Flores
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Melissa E
1 review
“Great time - excellent place :)”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Casita las Flores in March of this past year and had an excellent time! From the start Shevonne and Joe were very friendly and helpful - offering different insights on what to do and see in Puerto Viejo and the surrounding area. They even dropped off banana chocolate chip bread on our first morning there! First impression of our bungalow - WOW! It was perfect. Snuggled away from the town, but close enough to access by walking, biking, or car. Our bungalow was surrounded by the beautiful flora and fauna of Costa Rica, as well as your friendly local sloth, toucans, and hummingbirds. We enjoyed eating our breakfast on the porch each morning,lying on the hammock, and watching the occasional rain shower. The bungalows had everything you needed - a bed (with mosquito netting), bath, and kitchen. It was our little paradise home away from home. It was hard coming back to the east coast and now with the winter coming we still reminisce about the great time we had in Puerto Viejo and Casita las Flores.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2checking...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We received a warm welcome from Shevonne and Joe, who has just recently taken over the management of Casitas Las Flores. They were incredibly friendly and helpful.

The accommodation included a bedroom, bathroom, outdoor sitting and dining area and a small but well equipped kitchen. A treat was the warm banana bread left for us on the first morning.

Location wise the place was perfect for us. Just 1km from town up a quiet dirt track. We used the hire bikes a couple of times to explore. We found some great yoga classes nearby too. It was peaceful and quiet just chilling in the mature garden.

We also enjoyed a home cooked meal with Shevonne and Joe for $15 p/p. A tasty veggie curry and brownie for dessert. We shared some wine and travel stories. They are a great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts, location, property itself
Liked least: They ginormous cricket thing I found on my pillow!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AroundThe...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Highly recommended - we stayed here for a month and loved every minute of it.
Our bungalow comprised of a bedroom (with mosquito net), a bathroom, a separate (well stocked kitchen) and a spacious balcony area, complete with dining table and a hammock - perfect for chilling! Everything is very clean and replenished regularly.
There are 4 bungalows in total set in this rainforest environment but thanks to the amazing array of plants there is complete privacy for each bungalow. The setting is great, it gives you a feeling of being in the rainforest while being very close to the beach (5 min walk to Playa Negra) and the centre of Puerto Viejo (20 min walk / 5 min cycle).
There is also a bar just by the beach (5 min walk) which serves drinks and some decent food (The Point) and a shop just opposite where you can pick up groceries.
Despite the remote setting the accommodation also has very high speed internet.
The managers Shevonne and Joe who live on site also deserve a mention - they were absolutely amazing both before and during our stay and helped us with everything we needed. Thanks for making our stay as perfect as it was!
Prior to booking this place we could only find 1 negative review which was in regards to the size of the coffee maker - worry not, a bigger coffee maker has been added so all needs are now catered for :)
Overall highly recommended both for short and long-term stays.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piktojika...
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Casitas Las Flores are not located right at the beach but it is an easy 5min walk to the black sand beach, which is usually not very crowded compared to the other ones in the area (but keep in mind that sand gets pretty hot in the sun!). The town of Puerto Viejo is about 10-15min walk but it is not advisable to do it at night so if you have no car and want to go out in the evening, it is probably better to stay somewhere closer to the town. But if you want a quiet place, then Las Flores is perfect.

Casitas are very nice, private and have a beautiful patio outside to have a drink or lie in a hammock and simply relax. The bigger casitas also have an open kitchen so even if you decide to cook or make coffee at home, you can still enjoy being outside surrounded by a beautiful garden. Hosts are also very friendly and helpful so the only disadvantage for those who cannot tolerate heat is the lack of air conditioning. Casitas have open windows (only covered with mosquito net) so the temperature inside will be the same as outside and this means hot! The fan helps a lot but if you are sensitive to heat and cannot sleep at night, then it might be not for you. Nonetheless, we really enjoyed our stay.

And if you happen to stay in the area and have a car, then go to the beaches a bit further down the road (e.g. Playa Punta Uva) – everyone tends to go to the beaches closer to the town so those further away are almost empty, which is an added bonus to the beautiful scenery. And we got to see a sloth who came down right in front of our car – besides a thousand beach photos we also got an additional hundred of sloth photos :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobNewsgu...
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A true paradise in the jungle. Shevonne and Joseph were the consummate hosts. Great restaurant recommendations and always ready to hear about our adventures.
Can't remember the last time I went a week without some TV and didn't miss it a bit. Waking up to birds and great coffee.
An amazing 20th wedding anniversary memory!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing