We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exotic and Luxurious Jungle Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
The entire dome. The viewing platform rests on the top of the bedroom. The approach and the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The plunge pool and main arch of the dome.
The entire dome. The viewing platform rests on the top of the bedroom.
The approach and the front door.
Paintings from my favourite local artist in the main dome.
Bedroom with relaxation seats in the windows
Queen size bed with canopy.
The stairs to the observation platform.
The observation platform features two adirondack chairs and a hommock.
spa style shower made from river stones. also, slate bench with rain shower head and hand shower.
Washroom counter with stone sink and bamboo faucet.
Our first guest arrived during construction!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
khrista69
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor quality, mildew, and not kept up. Paid for Hilton got a tent”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

dont do it!.
Next the place was not clean- the bathroom smelled badly of urine. By the third day I couldn't handle it anymore and had to scrub the floor. The shower although looked lovely splashed water all over the bathroom floor hence our feet were wet every time we went to the bathroom as it never dried, the whole time we were there. The bamboo tap was felling off, the door handle on the bathroom door, top pulled off when i closed the door.
kitchen- mold everywhere. Now I understand it is always damp with high humidity, but the freezer was moldy and made all of our food smell and taset like mold. The cutting board on top of the fridge was full of mold both sides. I had too wash the whole kitchen in order to make it clean enough to cook. The tea bags in the boxes all moldy in the box. Trash was never emptied our whole time we were there. After the third day my husband become sick with a head and chest cold. he has an allergy to mold.And is still trying to recover for the illness.
Bedroom.- because of all of the creatures and rain coming-in the windows we had to keep the windows closed at night and it was like sleeping in an sauna, then we are sweating and lying on wet sheets. the sheets never were dry. Never once n the 7 days, offered to wash or change them. Find upon arriving that the safe doesn't work, so had to lock the door to the bedroom, No door handle and the pins kept falling out of the bedroom door and the bathroom door. if we leave and had to lock things in our bedroom then we have to kept the widow shutters shut as well, so no air in the bedroom at all during the day/ night. It was very unpleasant experience for us.
living room, the most uncomfortable chairs I have ever sat in and the cushions were moldy/wet as well.
Pool- this we were so excited for and was the number one reason we choose your dome. greg loves to soak in a pool on holiday and to have our own that would be great. Would have been except it was dirty and never turned on. I had to clean it every day myself. i was told by John "good luck with that" . beach a lot further then 300 meters away. Also told you had bikes we could use/you didnt. .
The day before we left I did tell you I wasn't happy and things weren't great and only then did you offer to put our sheets in your dryer. DRYER!!!
You know what the creatures were not the issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: terrace
Liked least: mold uncleanly promising one thing and getting nothing exected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
This is categorically untrue and the person who wrote this knows it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyGorans...
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exotic and Luxurious Jungle Experience”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights this month and loved the unique surroundings!! This house gives visitors to Costa Rica the feel of what it must be like to live in the jungle while at the same time having the luxurious feeling of being at an exotic resort. We slept under the mosquito netting (though there were surprisingly few insects) with the windows open and enjoyed listening to the birds, howler monkeys and other jungle creatures as we woke up. The bathroom helps to add to the feeling of being part of a honeymoon suite with the uniquely designed shower layout. The upstairs patio is the perfect spot to sit and enjoy the warm temperature of Costa Rica even as it rains. The decor is thoughtfully placed to be warm and inviting while retaining the jungle spirit of the home. The location is close enough to town to be comfortable walking/biking distance but is quiet and private with only the owners nearby. Casa Corazon del Mar is the perfect setting for a romantic vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The experience of being in the jungle but also in beautifully comfortable surroundings.
Liked least: We really enjoyed eating dinner in town by that point in our stay but we should have made more of an effort to fix a meal at the house and enjoy its beautiful setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
It was a pleasure having you in our Casa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sus H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights over our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. John is an amazing host and was more than happy to help with any requests or recommendations in the area. Even before we arrived John responded promptly to our emails and was really helpful with any questions we had leading up to our trip. We arrived early one morning and John had arranged for us to be picked up from Limon. Upon arrival we were greeted with a fridge stocked with breakfast food which was incredibly thoughtful and not to mention appreciated after being up since 4am. John's local knowledge is fantastic and we really felt like we got to experience the best of Puerto Viejo.

The experience of staying in the house is truly unforgettable. Every design aspect to it was clearly very well thought out and we enjoyed our pseudo outdoor living in this amazing home. I wish I could go back and relax in the hammock with a drink right now!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thanks so much! It was truly a pleasure having you here. We look forward to your return! All the best! I am so glad we were part of you beginning your journey of life together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amybenven...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place is just amazing! Owners John and Eric are wonderful as well and made our experience unforgettable. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone who is looking for a beautiful adventure. We were met and escorted through the jungle by John who had already stocked our fridge with treats and wine. He and Eric have special hearts with six rescue dogs and a rescue cat! Love these guys! I have so many favorites about this place but My favorite part of the dome was sitting on the observation deck at dusk listening to all of the jungle sounds and watching the beautiful wildlife unfold around me. I really can't say enough good things about the dome and the guys who own it. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal57...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for three nights in this unique and beautiful house. We loved the layout, design and location of the house. The upstairs deck is a great place to relax with a drink and take in the natural surroundings. The shower is amazing. The pictures don't really do it justice.

We rented bikes and it was a short ride to down town. We even rode the 12km to Manzanillo then hit Punta Uva on the way back. I recommend that.

If you're squeamish about bugs this may not be the place for you but if you realize that you are a guest in their natural environment you can easily get by.

John, the owner, was a fantastic host. There was a bottle of wine waiting for us and the fridge was stocked with eggs, bread, butter and juice for the next morning's breakfast. He gave us the low down on the town and the best places to visit. Stashu's restaurant was the highlight of all the places we ate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing