We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, but a great escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Reviewed 26 January 2016

So, its not worth the high price tag but we enjoyed our stay. The place is quite run down, with need of a spruce up, better food (although breakfast was great as was Angel the man who looked after the kitchen). It doesn't do luxury as it claims though.

Rooms were clean and lovely, just not worth the high price tag! Privacy is a problem, but if you think of it like camping, you're ok.

With regards to some of the other reviews, you're in the jungle. There are bugs in the jungle and monkeys. They make noise. That's what you're there for, to be close to nature. Yes it is loud, and there are lots of bugs but we loved that bit!

This is definitely a place for the adventurous! And try and negotiate on price as its not worth the high price tag! Book direct...

Room Tip: apparently room 16 is nice!
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Reena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Almonds and Corals Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2015

I visited Almendros y Corales with high expectations because of its reputation as a sustainable hotel. To my dismay this hotel is not only NOT environmentally friendly (the janitor told us he was using muriatic acid to clean the bathroom pipes!), it is old and run-down due to lack of maintenance, dirty, offers bad service, bad food, and doesn't comply with the standards it sets. By no means do you get your money's worth! There are great hotels in Costa Rica that are truly environmentally friendly, this is not one of them! I sent an email to the owner with pictures of the terrible state of their installations and the response was "I'll return the money for the nights you don't stay", which was not what I was expecting at all considering the long trip and high season. This hotel promotes itself as a "wedding and honey moon destination" I pity the couple that choses this place!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Sceva271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was constructed in the jungle in an environmentally conscious manner and is very close to the beach. The staff members are friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in a relatively remote location (a couple kilometers from the nearest towns on either side) but busses run regularly between the towns. Given the open concept (screens and curtains rather than walls) this place won't be for everyone - privacy is limited and very small bugs can make it through the screens - but for those who don't mind being close to nature, it's a great find.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were recommended Almonds and Corals by a great guy we met on the inter is from San Jose to Puerto Viejo. Upon arrival the staff was more than welcoming. The owner walked us down the path to the beach to ensure we knew the safest places to swim and not get caught in the rip tides. This was a lovely personal touch. The cabins are clean with beautiful canopy beds and a hammock. They have biodegradable soap so you don't have to worry about polluting the natural environment. The linens were very fresh. Breakfast is included with your stay. We had amazing fresh fruit, outstanding coffee and a freshly made omelette. Outside of the reception area we spotted a baby sloth and toucans. There is amazing wildlife to be seen all around the hotel. Although we came as a couple we would definitely bring our 2 year old as this would be a great place for a family.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Lsalmiery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place COULD be nice if it's what you're into...there's no A/C, no WiFi, no privacy and NO way I'd EVER stay here again.
#1 the food is no good
#2 the beach is...meh
#3 all sorts of creepy crawlies in AND outside
#4 those creepy crawlies NEVER shut up
#5 the shower isn't really a shower at all.
#6 the jacuzzi spits out black gunk
#7 the mosquitoes give you dengue fever
#8 even the locals say it's a total dump
#9 the nearest town is 12km away
#10 the mosquito net bed canopy does NOT keep ANY bugs out (especially mosquitoes, beetles, stink bugs, cockroaches, grasshoppers and lightning bugs)
The list could go on, but I'm tired of typing. It's gross and nothing like the sanctuary it claims to be (unless you're a lizard or a snake or a spider or some other type of jungle dweller). Unless you are looking for a true outdoorsy , one-with-nature type of experience.... STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kymberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
6.2 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
Almonds and Corals Hotel
Almonds and Corals Hotel
#10 of 16 in Manzanillo
208 reviews
0.4 km away
El Colibri Lodge
El Colibri Lodge
#5 of 16 in Manzanillo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#2 of 53 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
426 reviews
3.0 km away
Cabinas Punta Uva
Cabinas Punta Uva
#18 of 107 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
111 reviews
1.8 km away
Casa Del Mar
Casa Del Mar
#2 of 16 in Manzanillo
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almonds and Corals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almonds and Corals Hotel

Address: 10 Kms Sur De Puerto Viejo S/N, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price Range: $151 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Almonds and Corals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almonds And Corals Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing