We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
414
416
186
65
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
416
186
65
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar costa rica playa cocles standard room great pool water pressure air conditioning howler monkeys in town resident sloth surf lessons small pool rice and beans reception area down the road breakfast was included caribbean side
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of an Eco Tour. It was a very nice location, complete with clean rooms, a nice pool and a nice dining area. We stayed in a bungalow, which I really liked. The only annoyance was the doors were not 100% bug proof, so some critters found there way in. You also have to lock yourself in with the key, as the doors do not lock automatically. We had hot water in both the shower and at the sink. The area surrounding the bungalows was very quite, and at night we could hear the waves on the beach (across the road), which I throughly enjoyed.
The staff, both at the front desk and in the bar/restaurant were very friendly and helpful. When we went, the Totem Beach Bar was not open for dinner, so we ate in the main restaurant, which was very nice. The breakfast buffet had a variety of foods to choose from, including freshly made pancakes and omelettes.

Room tip: I would choose a bungalow over a standard room. You get more privacy and a nice deck with a hammock.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This property is absolutely beautiful. Lovely, landscaped grounds. We stayed in a cabin that was very comfortable. Expect to see some bugs. You are in a hot, humid place. Pool is very nice. The breakfast buffet (included) was really good. It had the traditional favorites each day, but changed it up and added some different things with it. Lots of tropical fruit each morning. I did find it a bit frustrating that I was not able to order off the "snack" menu after 5pm. You can only order off the "dinner" menu after 5. The dinners tend to be quite expensive and pretty big...although very good. There were also some menu items that we asked for, but were not able to get the entire time. I'm not really sure why. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Anything we asked for, they were quick to provide. There was one staff member who had a bit of an attitude, which was off-putting. Perhaps she was just having a rough couple of days, but it was the only time I ran into something like that in our 22 days in the country. All in all, the staff and property were very nice and I would definitely recommend it.

The beach across the street was beautiful. Be careful crossing the street. The beach is not really safe for swimming. Pay attention to the flags and kids are ok to go in a little way. There are surfing lessons offered there. My 13 year old took lessons given by one of the life guards, for a very reasonable price. We felt safe with him and my son really enjoyed it. If you are adventurous, just take a taxi to another beach nearby. Like Punta Uva, or even the beach in the town of Puerto Viejo. They are a bit safer for swimming.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our group of eight ladies stayed here for three nights and found our individual casas superb. It was a little slow checking in for some of us but the attention and hospitality made up for it all. Each place was in a separate quiet location. The breakfasts were great, the masseuse wonderful, and, the pool welcoming!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a very nice, simple room at the tip end of the property, almost in the trees.
Very efficient AC, we missed a fridge, though.
Huge and excellent breakfast buffet (the best of our two-week journey). Pretty close to the beach (amazing white sand beach !!). The room closing system (sliding door) is a bit strange and not excellent for intimacy, but efficient.
Very nice and quiet swimming pool
Safe property (fences and guarded gate at entrance). Only the spiders (huge !) can get through.
Huge and comfortable bed (although a bit noisy)
Warning : if you plan to have dinner at the in-house restaurant, check the prices before. We had a pretty good dinner, but more than twice the price we had ever paid before in Costa Rica (35 USD + tax + service each). We were trapped once, but only once.
Besides, I do think the room is a good value for the price, especially in the area.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEROSTEPH_PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here last year, and had a wonderful experience. The grounds and rooms are beautiful. Its very natural - while sitting in the pool, I looked way up into the trees and could see monkeys! The Rooms are little two story cabanas. We were on the second floor and felt like we were staying in a tree house in the middle of the rain forest. We had a veranda with a comfortable hammock, TV (few English channels) and nice bathroom. The free breakfast was plentiful. We ate at the on-site restaurant one night and the food was very nice. This hotel is about a 1 km walk from the town. The road you walk on runs along the beach and we often saw monkeys up in the trees! Now, if you walk along that same road in the other direction, you will eventually come to the Jaguar Animal Sanctuary... Go there! It is an amazing sanctuary where you can actually go in the baby monkey enclosure! Amazing! All and all, I would recommend this hotel, it a little away from the main town - but be sure that you can walk fair distances or afford cabs :)

Room tip: If you don't mind walking up a flight of stairs, take a second floor room!
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews