We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
414
416
187
65
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
416
187
65
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar costa rica playa cocles standard room great pool water pressure howler monkeys air conditioning resident sloth surf lessons directly across the street small pool rice and beans reception area down the road walk into town beautiful property
Filter
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We had a very nice, simple room at the tip end of the property, almost in the trees.
Very efficient AC, we missed a fridge, though.
Huge and excellent breakfast buffet (the best of our two-week journey). Pretty close to the beach (amazing white sand beach !!). The room closing system (sliding door) is a bit strange and not excellent for intimacy, but efficient.
Very nice and quiet swimming pool
Safe property (fences and guarded gate at entrance). Only the spiders (huge !) can get through.
Huge and comfortable bed (although a bit noisy)
Warning : if you plan to have dinner at the in-house restaurant, check the prices before. We had a pretty good dinner, but more than twice the price we had ever paid before in Costa Rica (35 USD + tax + service each). We were trapped once, but only once.
Besides, I do think the room is a good value for the price, especially in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEROSTEPH_PARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here last year, and had a wonderful experience. The grounds and rooms are beautiful. Its very natural - while sitting in the pool, I looked way up into the trees and could see monkeys! The Rooms are little two story cabanas. We were on the second floor and felt like we were staying in a tree house in the middle of the rain forest. We had a veranda with a comfortable hammock, TV (few English channels) and nice bathroom. The free breakfast was plentiful. We ate at the on-site restaurant one night and the food was very nice. This hotel is about a 1 km walk from the town. The road you walk on runs along the beach and we often saw monkeys up in the trees! Now, if you walk along that same road in the other direction, you will eventually come to the Jaguar Animal Sanctuary... Go there! It is an amazing sanctuary where you can actually go in the baby monkey enclosure! Amazing! All and all, I would recommend this hotel, it a little away from the main town - but be sure that you can walk fair distances or afford cabs :)

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up a flight of stairs, take a second floor room!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Upon our arrival the staff welcomed us with a very pleasant tasting fresh fruit juice. We stayed in a bungalow with the Hotel amenities with a Carribean touch. The bungalow was well maintained. I especially enjoyed hearing the midnight rain. It added a very romantic feeling.
The food was good and the Breakfast buffet was exceptional. .
The town was within walking distance. Along the walk the beach was always present.
The beach water was warm, crystal clear and clean although, the water was very rough.
The place was comfortable with many seating areas.

Room Tip: Pick a bungalow. You will be more than happy with your choice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westcoastweirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed the hotel and it's relaxed atmosphere. The breakfast staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great location across from playa Cocles. Best beach in PV. Breakfast food was basic but the coffee was good and strong. The beds in the rooms are very hard, be prepared. Pillows are about as thick as two sheets on top other. Room cleaned really well every day from the sand from beach. Room had a safe which was appreciated. Our neighbours were very loud young surfers that after we mentioned that we could even hear them whisper, they tuned it down. Or either got so drunk they passed out. Friendly all the same. I will post photos later on. The pool is beautiful. Lots of loud kids when we were there.
Enjoy!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PeterBruceG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

So, the Totem hotel is being bought by Cariblue hotel and they are combining the two. Luckily they are right next to each other. We stayed in a family suite which was nice for what is was. We had ac, nice beds, plenty of room. My only complaint would be that it would have been nice to have had some privacy for the adults. Currently the suites are open and connected to each other. Maybe nice for some families, but I would have enjoy some more alone time. Anyway, the rest of the place was great. The grounds are quite natural and have lots of beautiful flowering plants and trailing vines, but nicely kept. I liked how much of nature they left on the grounds. It made it wonderful for looking for flowers, frogs, butterflies, anoles, birds, and we even saw a sloth in one of the trees. The totem portion of the hotel was nicely situated right across the street from the Playa Cocles beach which was good for surfing and playing in the waves. Not the best swimming beach though as the rip currents are noticeable. That being said, it is a gorgeous beach to enjoy. The food at the hotel was nice and we loved the breakfast buffet every morning. The Cariblue portion of the hotel was very beautifully done and had many wonderful details like thatched roofs and natural timbers used. The look of the place is top notch. Overall we had a great time and would be happy to return. I recommend this place to anyone traveling to the area looking to get out of the town and out of the business and relax. Also, we used avon skin so soft lotion and seemed t avoid any chiggers we had heard about in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews