We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cariblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cariblue Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Beautiful grounds, great location directly across from Playa Cocles and a short 2 minute drive into Puerto Viejo. Staff were not very helpful, (except one staff member at the front desk and the bar staff), every time we went to the front desk I had to wait for service (even though a staff member was right there and knew I was waiting for service) and then was greeted as if I was a nuisance. Many occasions I was being helped by the girl at the front desk and then another guest or staff member came up and was helped immediately while I was "put on hold". Very rude! The restaurant is much overpriced (compared to many other eating options). Even was charged US$4 for a small tin (4 oz) of tomatoe juice!! Ridiculous!
A/C in the upgraded rooms only. Enjoyed the hammocks outside the rooms.
Thought that renting bikes for the day would be nice, $US6/day, but the chain on my wife's wasn't working quite right and eventually came off, resulting in us having to walk back to the hotel. The bikes are completed rusted out, the baskets on the front are so badly rusted I was afraid the entire time that parts of it were going to fall off and into my front tire. Considering the condition of the bikes, they should be free. If they are going to charge for bike rental, then the hotel should maintain the bikes. They looked as if they were picked up off of the beach. When we returned to the hotel and informed the girl at the front desk that my wife's chain had come off and we had to walk back, I was expecting an apology on behalf of the hotel, perhaps even for her to say they were not going to charge us. But we were once again hardly given notice and were shrugged off.
Another specific incident happened with us and I thought the manager would accomodate us out of good will and for positive customer relations, but no such thing.
This place has the "big hotel" attitude but forgets it's a small fishing town of Puerto Viejo, and the service and amenities don't warrant the attitude.
We would never return.

Room Tip: If you want A/C, get upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironman2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    381
    149
    47
    42
See reviews for
223
477
41
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Let me start by saying my boyfriend and I are extensive travelers, so I write this with experience. If you are looking for luxury, you will not find it here - go to Papaguyo. If you are looking for a base to sleep and eat while you are enjoying beautiful Costa Rica, then you will love it. Yes, there are bugs, but you are in COSTA RICA! The staff was always friendly and helpful (at all hours by the way). The beach is right across the street, and the town is a short cab ride, bike, or walk away. (literally a two minute cab ride, maybe about a 1.3 mile walk). For the price and location, this is one of the best deals in Puerto Viejo. Also, if you are thinking of doing any excursions, book through Gecko Trail Adventures. They have an office at Banana Azul, and one in town. I can't say enough about how friendly, fun, and professional they are. You can also book your transportation to and from the airport with them as well. By the way, it will be a year ago in March that we stayed here, and I still think about this place all the time. One of the best vacations I've ever been on. The ONLY thing about the hotel I didn't like were the beds, they were really hard, but we didn't stay anywhere else in Costa Rica, so that may be the way they are everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lastroseofsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cormacbr2, Gerente at Cariblue Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thanks a lot for your support. it is very encouraging to receive your comments. About the beds, this year we are remodeling some rooms and the beds will be King Size made in concret... much better and very nice. You would have to come back and try new beds, ja ja ja. Actually, you will be welcome any time you want to come back at Totem.
Best regards,
Mariela Pérez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deinze, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel is situated about 2 km for the centre of Puerto Viejo. During the day you can do it by bike (they rent out bikes in the hotel), at night it's advisable to do it by taxi.

The rooms are nice and spacious. They're situated in the middle of the jungle, and still you hear the ocean. The pool with poolbar is really nice, warm and clean.

Reception staff are really helpfull.

We never ate in the hotel restaurant since it's a lot more expensive than the great restaurants in the neighbourhood. (Stashu's, Amimodo (on the beach), Koki beach, ....)

When leaving the hotel you just cross the road and are on playa cocles. You must know that the waves are huge and there are heavy rip currents, so you can't swim here... You should go up to puerto viejo to go swimming!

We would come back here next time we visit Costa Rica.

We booked a manzanillo - gandoca trip in our hotel, and that was really beautifull. We were picked up at the hotel, and went to Manzanillo, an extremely beautifull beach and piece of jungle only 15 km from Puerto Viejo. We got lucky and were the only ones taking the tour that day, so we had our personal guide, Carlos. If you go there, ask for Carlos... He explains and tells everything with so much love for nature that you want to buy a piece of jungle just to preserve it.... The hike was rather hard (high humidity and slippery) but really worth it... We saw sloths, parrots, a viper, howler monkeys, red frogs, ...

The day after we went to Cahuita by bike (22 km) and walked through the natural park. We saw lots and lots of animals... howler monkey, capucinmonkeys, racoons, iguanas, parrots, .... You don't need a guide for this park... It's a long stretch next to the beach... Make sure you bring a lot of water, your bathingsuit and a towel....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We are a group of 4 middle aged couples who travel together a lot, and just returned from Costa Rica and spent 5 days at Cariblue. Being our first trip to the Caribbean side, we were very pleased with the area overall, and exceptionally pleased with Cariblue. I reserved through their website, and when we arrived, our rooms were waiting, and were as we reserved. The resort is beautiful, well maintained,and had all that we wanted. Buffet breakfast was expansive and tasty.
Dinner was also very good. I recommend eating there, but you miss part of the experience by missing out on other restaurants in the area. We booked air-conditioned rooms, but turned it on only one night. Only negative is that our TV went out a couple of times, but you do not go there to watch TV. All in all, a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend Cariblue.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

(I was unable to select the correct dates of my visit, I stayed in July of 2009) I stayed at the Cariblue Hotel during my second visit to Puerto Viejo and loved it. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was very nice with a large shower.
The pool was a very nice addition to the property and the grounds were lovely. We had monkey up in the trees right by the pool which made for great pictures.
The restaurant was ok, breakfast was the normal eggs, fruit etc. I would suggest going into town for meals.
this was the only issue... I wouldn't recommend walking the road into or from town at night. A cab isn't very expensive at all and it definitely a must.
the beach is across from the entrance to the hotel.

Room Tip: I would pick a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
3.8 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
Hotel Shawandha Lodge
#6 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.8 km away
Yare Hotel
Yare Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cocles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cariblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cariblue Hotel

Property: Cariblue Hotel
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 7304, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price range (per night): $133 - $255
Hotel Class:3 star — Cariblue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Caribbean resort in Puerto Viejo, de Limon, Costa Rica.Hotel Cariblue is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the nature, the beaches and comfort.A leader among Costa Rica hotels and resorts, we offer luxurious hardwood bungalows nestled in exotic tropical gardens between the pristine white sand beach of Playa Cocles and lush natural jungle (more info about us). Enjoy our award-winning service and our full range of amenities and facilities in a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. A paradise is waiting for you."Cariblue Hotel” “Your Caribbean resort", is a 3 star hotel and 3 green leaves (CST), is the ideal place to enjoy your vacation, Its located just steps away from beautiful pristine white sand beach, Playa Cocles and just a mile from typical village of Puerto Viejo de Talamanca (Old Harbor), where the Afro Caribbean, Indian and all over the world cultures are mixed in harmony and peace.Cariblue has 23 private and comfortable bungalows nestled in a gorgeous tropical garden of almost 5 acres (20.000 sqm). All the bungalows feature a private balcony overlooking the resort's tropical gardens. Impressive Gourmet Restaurant "Soleluna" with a gorgeous bar and in the pool with our happy hour every day in our pool bar. Spend a lazy day by the beautiful pool area, kid's pool and relax in the Jacuzzi while enjoying one of our selection of fine tropical cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cariblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cariblue Hotel Puerto Viejo
Cariblue Hotel Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing