We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big house, very close to Punta Uva but in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!
Garden path Giant Bromeliad garden vied from porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Welcome!
Garden path
Giant Bromeliad garden vied from porch
Red Eyed Green leaf by the frog pond
Kayak to the beach from the property
Three toed sloth out the bedroom window
White Faced Capuchin Monkey
Female Howler in the garden
Spider Monkeys
Visiting the baby howler monkeys at nearby Jaguar Animal Rescue
Toucan in The garden
Two Toed Sloth and baby
Gorgeous giant Blue Morpho Butterflies
Exotic Flora
Green and Black Dart Frog
Punta Uva Beach
Upstairs deck, great for bird and monkey watching!
Downstairs deck.
Front of Casa Tres Monos
Nightly frog walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
kchavesr
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big house, very close to Punta Uva but in a private location”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I loved the house, it was big enough for us not to feel crowded (we're a group of 7 adults). The location was exactly what we were looking for, walking distance from Punta Uva beach. Which is, for me, the best beach near Puerto Viejo. It was exactly at the middle of both entries, which makes it great when you decide to take the car.

We were looking for something private, because 7 young adults can make a lot of noise. I had bad experience with other places that require a minimum volume after 10 pm. It was too early for us. In this house we felt in the middle of the jungle, which it was great!

The owners are the best hosts, they are very kind and comprehensive. We arrive there very late at night and Tracy was always available through emails for all the questions we had about the location. She also gave us the official welcome even though we arrived there around 10:30 pm.
She also was very kind to let us stay late on the last day, there was no check out time.

Now, the reason I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5. There are two main things that can be improved in the house. The first is that the beds in the lowers floor of the house smells a little funky, probably like humidity. Now, I know in a place like Limón removed that smell is hard. But it was interesting that the beds in the second floor didn't have the smell. Probably because other guests tend to seat on the beds even when they come from the beach wet.

The second reason is the bathroom, it lacks a little... privacy. When you're in the second floor and go down the stairs, you need to be very careful not to see the person in the toilet. That created several awkward conversations.
Regarding the bathroom is also the problem with the shower, when the sand goes to plummer it get stuck. The shower gets clogged because of that.
According to Tracy and her husband, that is expected if you not remove the sand from your body before taking a bath. The problem is that they do not have a shower outside to remove ALL the sand from your body, only a small faucet to remove it from your feet.
I would recommend to create a shower outside to be able to remove the sand better before taking the shower.

Other than that, I would definitely recommend the house to my friends and come back myself to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of the house
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you very much for the review, and for the suggestions. We have had sooooo much rain this year that it has been difficult to get the lower level air out properly, or to put the bed in the sun. We will work extra hard to get the funk out of the place.

I like the suggestion about the out door shower and better privacy for the bathroom.

Thanks again,

Tracy & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanguru20...
Cuzcurrita de Rio Tiron, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice place with some flaws”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We were two families with four children (3 under 4 years) staying at casa tres monos in february 2015 for 2 weeks.
We really enjoyed the location (in the middle of the jungle, close to the beach, the little supermarket, which really has EVERYTHING, around the corner etc. )We saw lots of wildlife (2 species of monkeys, sloths, frogs, birds, tons of spiders , turtles and more) from the decks of the house.Tracy and David are kind-hearted hosts and had willingly answered all our questions before our arrival. However, there were quite a few things that went wrong from the beginning. We are not sure if it was just bad luck or something else.
We had a pretty bad start when the driver, Tracy had organized to bring us form San José to Casa TresMonos (quite a journey!), did not show up. With such a large group and little children it is not easy and very stressful to organize something quickly. Not to mention the price. Tracy had offered to make us Pizza the first night which sounded wonderful (arriving with tired children at a new place and dinner will be served!), but in the end did not work out as Tracy was not feeling well. They promised to bring Pizza twice before it finally worked out (– but then the pizza was delicious! ;-)). As thepizza as well as homemade bread David brought over sometimes in the morning were free, we guess you cannot say anything.
Already when we arrived we noticed a distinct smell of dog by the entrance, but also, and even stronger upstairs in one of the bedrooms and the sofas on the deck. We asked Tracy about it and she said first she did not smell anything and that there were absolutely no dogs ever in the house. After a while she mentioned that the people staying at the house before us may have let a dog sleep in the house…Tracy came and mopped the floor of the one bedroom again, which did not help a great deal. During the time we stayed there we observed different dogs entering the house, even through closed gates, eating things from the table on the deck even when we were in the house, but inside etc. Stray dogs?
The time we were there the weather was wet and cool, unusual for this time of the year. When we arrived the hot water did not work. After the sun went down it was hard to warm up again after a cold shower, especially for the children. So the 3 days until they fixed the hot water element seemed like a long time to us…
Unfortunately in the first few days we did not see very much of our hosts, even though we had many questions. With only cold water, internet not working, water tank empty for showering and drinking water…They do not have phones (?), but after a while we found out that the easiest way to reach them is to email. Even when the house does not have internet, the grocery store at the end of the road does!
Also because of the humidity a lot of our stuff started to mold. Clothes, backpacks, the strollers of the children, toilet bags. Mostly things that somehow touched the walls of the house. It would have been great to be warned about that. Coming from drier countries (as most tourists I would guess) we did not expect that. Tracy brought over a bottle of bleach to clean off the mold and helped cleaning one backpack and the stroller.
There is also almost no storing space in the house for clothes etc, three shelves in one bedroom downstairs and the same in one of the bedrooms upstairs. Never enough to accommodate 2 families and all their stuff.We had specifically asked about the internet beforehand, because some of us had to do some work. It turned out to be very unreliable, which was not Tracy and David’s fault, but it would have been good to know about it.
There were some broken bikes lying around the house and our guys fixed two of them so they could be ridden. Only one was really more or less in good shape though. The next day it was gone. David told us that he really was not very good at fixing bikes. Haha. He must have been happy, that someone fixed it for him.(In the Tripadvisor description it says: As a guests of Casa TresMonos, you will find bikes, surfboards, boogie boards and kayaks on site to enjoy. In fact, you can kayak right to Punta Uva beach from the property!”). We used the boogie boards and asked about the surfboards, but never saw surfboards and more than these broken bikes that disappeared after we fixed them.
Most of the mosquito nets had holes. Also in the Tripadvisor description it says that the house has a washing machine and a drier, but unfortunately, the house doesn’t. Tracy does and washes and dries clothes for you. But with little children for us it makes a difference if YOU can wash whenever it’s necessary or if you have to contact her to do it for you. Tracy kindly did all the laundry we ask her to though.
Our personal low-point was still to come: after a few days we started having bites, which did not look like mosquito bites, and after a few days more it was obvious that the house had been invaded by fleas. It was horrible. Our legs, arms and faces were covered in bites. Tracy assured us that something like that had never happened here before, that it must be the climate changing and it being so wet all the time even during dry season. Tracy and David came everyday to spray and clean, but for us it really wasn’t very comfortable and the fleas never really left either. We had new bites every day and saw them jumping around in our beds, on the decks, on our children. We tried to find another accommodation, but in February this seemed impossible. Tracy went looking too and found only a hostal with dormitories and bunkbeds, which really wasn’t a solution for little children. She had also offered to refund the nights if we left early but we really could not find anything. In the end, we left one night early which was refunded to us as well as the entrance fee to a local rescue center Tracy sent us to in order to be able to clean the house.
The Taxi they organized for us to get back to San Jose arrived punctual and everything worked out fine, except that we had no idea that he was a “pirate”, an illegal Taxi driver. So we were a bit surprised when he stopped all of a sudden at the side of the road and told us one of us had to drive through the next few kilometers because there were often police controls there.
Altogether we still had a good time at Tres Monos, with some difficulties that could have been prevented (by more accurate descriptions and better communication and planning maybe?) and some that one might have to live with when staying in the jungle. Maybe it’s not the perfect house to stay in with little children (because one is less flexible), but it certainly does have a certain charm.
Thank you, Tracy and David!
ps: When we say we would recommend this place to a friend we recommend reading our review and then decide if the things that bothered us would bother you too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: location
Liked least: fleas and mold
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent B
Trent Hills, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must return....now!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a place! Paradise on earth. The decks were awesome. Loved the hammocks. So did the whole family. Beds were great. Easy walk to the beach....which was also awesome. Store at end of the lane was awesome. We saw monkeys everyday, toucans, frogs, spiders, baby sloth, lizards awesome flowers and trees all that in the homes yard! Restaurants in the area were great too awesome. I would have to say the hosts Dave and Tracy are the greatest hosts ever! They went above and beyond. Dave was even funny sometimes ( you know we love you Dave..lol) Tracy mothered us back to health when we werent feeling well..she's amazing. They piled us all in the jeep to go watch them play in their band..they are good. I could go on and on. Love you guys and would love to come back! Thanks for an amazing trip!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2014
And we would love to have you all back Brent! One of the best parts of doing this, is making new wonderful friends, you and Paula and your three great kids are all counted as friends of Tres Monos. We love you guys!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen F
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“My little bit of Heaven”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Casa Tres Monos is without a doubt the best of all worlds combined! I found such a Paradise with a fond mixture of privacy and local knowledge that was perfect! A beautiful sanctuary in its own right Casa Tres Monos is breathtaking, constantly interesting, and full of gorgeous flora and fauna that make Costa Rica the wonder that it is. I adore the Ocean and beaches and beach towns and the different cultures that abound there. As well, I was constantly being delighted by the jungle surrounding me. The "surprises" are endless! Tracy and David bring it all together to make it an exceptional experience as they are outstanding, helpful, caring and knowledgeable hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2013
Karen, we miss you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBC0624
Sudbury, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More magical than could have ever been imagined”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house, the property, the location, the wildlife, the owners - everything was out of this world perfect! We were traveling with a group of 6 women - and even all of our how loud laughter didn't scare away the amazing wildlife. It was the best of all worlds for us... we felt like we were in the middle of the rainforest, right near the ocean, and only a 10 min cab ride to town. We spent our days lounging in hammocks, eating fresh fruit, spying the trees for monkeys & sloths, and scanning the ground for every color frogs you can imagine. The house was very open and the best were very comfortable with mosquito nets. We loved the tree house feel, and it was truly the most relaxing location and atmosphere we could have imagined - as well as it was a pleasure getting to know Tracy & David, the owners - who were more than gracious hosts, and gave you the peace at mind to really live like it was your home for the stay. Highlights included the red eye tree frogs, sloths, troops of monkeys howling by, the sound of the ocean in the distance, gorgeous gardens & trees, and being surrounded by the noise of the jungle. We had a blast at the Jaguar refuge just down the road by car (where we got to hold baby monkeys!) but had the double pleasure of seeing most of the same animals & birds around our house in the wild.

Recommendations:
They are working in signs for the place - but as it is right now, it is hard to find on your own. Ask directions before arriving, although its super easy once you know which road to turn on.

Also, there is a little store at the end of the road that is good for all kinds of emergency needs, but to save money, best to buy most of what you need before arriving at Punta Uva. Might not be the same case for everyone, but everything seemed to have the tourist mark up cost for us at that store. But with that being said, it does seem to have just about anything you might need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Wildlife, Gardens
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing