We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
40
4
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
4
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private porch standard room unagi bars and restaurants front desk staff costa rica marian luxury puerto pool accommodations town hostel
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The hotel is beautiful, conveniently located. Exactly as displayed in photos. I'm giving it a low review as a matter of principle. My husband and I traveled with my close female friend and her boyfriend. My female friend is a big, beautiful girl, and were swimming in the pool in the evening and we were all in our swimsuits afterwards, lounging around the hotel. She was approached by the hotel staff, and was asked to put clothes on because it's policy to "wear clothes in the dining area" - which is ALSO the bar. This was instructed by the hotel owner. When I went to discuss this ridiculous policy with him, he pretended not to understand a word of English and made me speak to his employee instead. I challenged the employee on this policy, expressing that I was still in my bathing suit, and all she could do was shrug.

There was NO mention of this policy anywhere, my husband and I were in swimsuits, and the pool is RIGHT beside the bar & dining room, as you can see in the photos, so it's a ridiculous "policy" to begin with, clearly they made it up on the spot.

This is the first time I've ever seen a hotel owner try to police what their guests wear. It's not like we're in the middle of a lobby in a New York hotel in swimsuits, we're in a tropical country, BESIDE A POOL....and are being told what to wear. This is clear discrimination, because again, I must reiterate: no one told my husband, or myself to put clothes on.

The only person I was impressed with at this pretentious hotel was an employee by the name of Rony, in my opinion they would be lost without him because they know nothing about customer service. He was there morning and night, making the stay an enjoyable one, he even came to the room to defuse the situation after I confronted his boss on their bull**it "policy."

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Shamiran Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umAmi Hotel C, Director de Recepción at Umami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hi from Umami Hotel.
First of all I want to tell you thanks for letting us know how do you feel.
The day wen you arrive we did Welcome you as every guest, we made the check in registration and give you your designated rooms.
We do have a restaurant, which is a very nice Mediterranean restaurant. We do also have a swimming pool apart from the restaurant area (with no food service to the swimming Pool)
After arriving with already some drinks in mind you guys (2 couples) were lounging in the swimming pool with drinks in glass bottles.
We in a friendly way explain to you that is not allowed to be at the swimming pool area with glass bottles or glass coups, and provided you with plastic glass.
That happen in the first 45 minutes after check in.
After this incident the 2 girls came to the restaurant in bikini all wet wetting the restaurant floor, went and came back again. So the Owner (he is from Spain and don't speak English) ask the receptionist to please tell them to cover up wen they come to the restaurant and also please be dry. At the same time we did have other guest having diner.
We do accept all kind of persons in our hotel. As long as they behave and respect the hotel rules.
I Lilian Mangel the menager, unfortunately was not at the hotel at that moment. We do have a very good team work at the hotel, and we are able to resolve and also translate all situations in German, French, Spanish and English.
I also do know that when people are Drunk it is better to don't argue with them because they are not with the five senses in the right place.
I do know that there are still some unfinished details, but our constructor is not done yet he es just stating to polish the detail, form example the inside doors and the front doors from the rooms.
Unfortunately with the keys, remotes for TV and AC it is common practice to charge it in case of lost or damage.
Thanks for good feedback on our Bartender Ronny.

Regards
Lilian Mangel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Room tip: Chambres à l'étage de préférence
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews