We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most unique location ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Topo's Tree House  in Cahuita, Costa Rica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Topo's Tree House  in Cahuita, Costa Rica
the house Bridge entrance to treehouse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Topo's Tree House  in Cahuita, Costa Rica
the house
Bridge entrance to treehouse
dining room with hammaock & terrace
tree trunks in living room
Giant tree roots inside
main bathroom with shower
kitchen & dining room
slot in living room
same slot
Master bedroom
second bedroom
Entrance to the treehouse
living room 1st floor
living room second floor
second floor
balcony
living room 1 st floor
bar
hammock & dining room
Kitchen and bar
Kitchen
desk with internet
poisen dart frogs Dendrobates pumillio
turtles in fish pond
howler monkey in front of the balcony
green iguana in fish pond
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cahuita, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Bartverho...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most unique location ever”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Cahuita is a Nice relaxing place, treehouse is an amazing experience which gives you the feeling to live in the jungle. Very conveniënt and extraordinary, close to the Nice reggae bar and beach. National park cahuita is beautifull with lots of wildlife. Topo is realy friendly, i Will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Inlike anything else
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foudni
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mother Sloth cradeling her baby in the Treehouse!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

My wife and I loved staying in the Treehouse for our honeymoon! I would venture to say that this experience is not for everyone. If your looking for luxury, look elsewhere. If you want an experience unlike others, than look no further.
We were greeted by our wonderfully kind host, Topo, at the Reggae Bar located within a short walk of the Tree-house. Topo is a groovy, happily relocated German who was very helpful and welcoming. His dogs, a unique blend of large breeds, were very friendly as well.
The Tree itself was massive and ancient, a home to many animals and you are their guest. The first floor has a dining table, kitchen, 1/2 bathroom, hammock, and an outdoor shower coming off the tree to wash off the beach/jungle. The woodwork and carvings are incredible so do take notice. This is completely open air so don't be surprised if a bird flies through the dining room while cooking. The mosquitoes never bothered us and were perhaps due to the large number of awesome frogs on the property, including little black and green poison dart frogs (not actually poisonous). The second floor contained two bedrooms and a full bath plus another hammock and living area (where we encountered the sloth). There was also a small deck with a table where we enjoyed a few of our lunches. The bedroom had a fan and a mosquitoes nets. The mattress, sheets, and pillows could use an upgrade considering the cost of the rental, but we were always tired after adventuring and didn't lose any sleep.
It rained at night time the first few nights. The sounds of the rain hitting the leaves and the tin roof, and running down the tree were so relaxing. It was a surreal feeling and I missed it on the nights when it didn't rain.
We stayed for a week, and wished and wished for a sloth sighting at the tree-house. We had visited the Sloth Sanctuary located a few miles north of Cahuita, and had sightings in Cahuita National Park, but really wanted to spot one in the tree-house. The final night of our stay, we came in late from drinking and dancing at the Reggae Bar to a great band from San Jose. We laid together in the upstairs hammock talking. After about 20 minutes of conversing, my wife stopped suddenly "Look a sloth!". Sure enough there was a mother in the the tree, and the baby was sleeping cradled on her chest. Amazing! The encounter lasted about 30 minutes before they found their way further up the tree. We felt so blessed to have seen this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open air enviorment: the sounds and smells, the rain, the animals. The feeling of being a part of the jungle.
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beau_Pall...
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Topo's tree house is a perfect location to appreciate the paradise that is Costa Rica. The house is artfully constructed around a living tree, which is home to some of the most charming fauna and flora in the world!

Topo went out of his way to make us feel at home and ensure we had everything we needed to achieve the most enjoyable experience possible. His relaxed attitude and obvious care fro the local environment was as impressive as it was endearing.

As the house is open to the environment, insects were an initial concern. Though it was quickly apparent that it was not an issue. The tree house stays relatively cool under the jungle canopy and was comfortable in every regard.

This location is perfect for a family vacation, or a romantic get away. If you are planning on staying in this part of Costa Rica, do yourself a favor and do not miss this accommodation!!

Thanks Topo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iris323
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an Experience!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Topo's Treehouse for 4 nights in August 2013 and we had a wonderful time. The treehouse is absolutely amazing - the wood is beautiful and there are exceptional details in the design of the treehouse everywhere. It's a great cross between the beautiful outdoors and the convenience of staying indoors. Topo was fantastic and he welcomed us and helped us with anything we needed while we were there. I would recommend staying at Topo's Treehouse to anyone who wants a once in a lifetime experience - a definite MUST!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire treehouse
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2013
Thank you for your visit, and am so happy that it turned out as wonderful as you had dreamed of! Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing