We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
88
69
40
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
69
40
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanvolcanic beachnice poolswimming poolenjoyed my staydirt roadhotel is locatedpata negracahuita townpuerto viejomin walklodgeslothsnaturegardentreesjungle
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This is real slice of jungle paradise. Beautifully seasoned jungle landscapes. The pool is large and clean. Room were updated and clean. The fan and large windows cooled the room nicely. Our breakfast was more that adequate. Fresh fruit with the eggs and rice and beans. Britt coffee. All in all...a nice experience.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear David thank you for your words and hope you can visit us in a near future

Kind regards

Mijail Alpízar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We loved the pool and the gorgeous tropical grounds...but that was about it! The rooms reminded us of a "strip motel" with noisy neighbors who let their kids run around shouting at 6:30 AM every morning. Then there was the "yappy" little dog who lived there and the green parrot who loved to "imitate" they yappy dog at 6:30 AM and frequently during the day. The lodge was built around 40 years ago according the the original owner whom we met. His son now owns it. I doubt there was very little updating to the rooms since then. However, they were spending their "updating money" on a "new and larger bar". There is one screened window in the rooms, so absolutely no airflow so it was stifling hot in the daytime even with the ceiling fan. We were there at the end of January, so I would hate to be there in the heat of summer. There was a window originally on the other side, but for some reason they boarded it up. If you want privacy, there is a wooden shutter that closes, but then there would be no air coming in. All the other lodges we stayed in Costa Rica had a light curtain which would allow airflow.

The rooms are dismally dark in there and they have no bedside lamps. It was like staying in a cave. They only gave us one frayed, raggedy and stained bath towel each and no hand towels or wash cloths. No soap dishes in the bathroom, so for 3 days I had a mushy soap mess on the VERY SMALL counter, as there is very little room around the sink. There are no towel racks or hooks in the bathroom to hang your towels or bathing suits on. There was one rack in the main room that was hung very crookedly and it was coming out of the wall. There was a huge gap under the door so I stuffed my raggedy wet towel under it to keep critters and spiders out so I wouldn't step on one in the middle of the night when I got up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom. From what we saw as lodging in Cahuita this might have been one of the better ones available...which isn't saying much. There is much nicer lodging available near Puerto Viejo which is a fairly close drive.

The service at the restaurant was horrible! They must of premade the lasagne and then attempted to reheat it because it was warm on the outside and cold on the inside. They brought my husband's out to him a half our after mine. I was done with mine before he even got his...which was also cold even after we complained about mine. They just plopped it down and left and never checked with us to see if we needed anything. The lasagna was tasty (all though cold) but it was not served with anything else. No bread, no salad, no vegetable and none was ever offered. No one ever bothered to see if we needed drink refills. After that experience, we found a wonderful seafood restaurant on the beach a short distance down the road. We ate there for 2 dinners with the best jumbo shrimp ever and wonderful, friendly service. We ate in town for all our other breakfasts and lunches. None of the staff was friendly or welcoming like in the other 4 lodges we stayed in. We enjoyed Cahuita National Park, the beach and the town. The pool at Atlantida is very nice and fairly large where you can swim laps. The "pool furniture" is very old and made of molded concrete. It is very uncomfortable to lay on.

Room Tip: Go to Puerto Viejo!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director Comercial at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Laurie

Thank you for taking time to send your comments to us.

What a shame, you didt express your doubts first hand at the lodge, Im sure, you gat the answer inmediataley. In fact, I told this comment with our chef, our manager and the owner and they said you never asked for help them your inputs. Next time, we really apreciated to help you in real time.

Reading your information, as you know, we are a 2 star rustic lodge in the midle of the Jungle in front of the beach, but we felt our category is not the range you like or the option you were seaching for.

Of course, we will check your inputs and fix details if is necessary.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is located in front of the beach and it's the best place to get in contact with nature. The worst thing was the menu at night (it didn't offer options lile hamburgers or the typical ceviche) and the breakfast: you were unable to repeat one more time and you could choose between four menus.
One of the breakfast options offered sausage with eggs and, instead of coming with sausage or saying that they didn't have any, the chef who, apparently, is "the best chef of the world" (according to him), served the dish with eggs and half a thin slice of ham.
As well I ordered Carpaccio of octopus (or something like that) and, thanks to all the mixture of vinegar mixed with mustard, I was unable to find the taste of the octopus.
They should fire the chef or tell him that he should chamge the menu, for a family with kids would have to go to the centre of Cahuita to have dinner.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantida Lodge C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Julia, thank you very much for your opinions, which we respect but do not share at all. In fact we have talked with the people in the hotel who attended them and they indicate to me that you were asked if everything was fine with your stay and food indicating that there was no problem
It's a pity that you did not express your displeasure directly with the Manager and with the Chef, we are sure that the food you did not like would have been corrected. Strange, then the other comments of all the other customers was excellent stay and food. Maybe it's good to ask if your family wants a more easy menu to make that we gladly provide it.

Hola Julia gusto de saludarle y muchas gracias por sus opiniones las cuales respetamos pero no compartimos en lo absoluto. De hecho hemos conversado con las personas en el hotel que les atendieron y me indican que se le preguntó a Usted si todo estaba bien con su estadía y comida indicando que no había problema por lo que lastima que no expresó su descontento directamente con el Gerente y con el Chef estamos seguros que se hubiera corregido la comida que no le gustó. Extraño, pues los demás comentarios de todos los otros clientes fue de excelente estadía y comida. Tal vez es bueno que pregunte si desea su familia un menu mas fácil de confeccionar que con gusto se lo proporcionamos.

Steve Harvey Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

My boyfriend and I came to the Caribbean side of Costa Rica for a quiet surf getaway. We rolled into Puerto Viejo in the early evening and were so turned off by all the crowds of people and noise. So we decided to turn back around and head North to Cahuita. Best decision ever!!!

Atlantida is on the outskirts of this quaint little beach town and literally sitting across the street of Playa Negra. We had such a relaxing, but fun time there! Amazing local breakfast with gallo pinto, eggs, homemade bread, coffee, tea, and juice. The owner and employees were all incredibly helpful and friendly (one even helped us find exotic frogs on the property!). Clean rooms and bathroom. Beautiful, relaxing pool. One night, they even threw a pool party with a private DJ.

Would gladly stay again and recommend this place to anyone looking to have a relaxing stay in Cahuita.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank izzylovessushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijail A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Izzy thank you for your words and kinds regards from your friends At Atlantida Lodge

Sincerely

Mijail Alpízar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I've taken a group of 16 students to Atlantida three times in the past 5 years, most recently in early May 2017. The owners are doing a great job in reviving this charming hotel with its beautiful gardens and attractive pool. The quality of food is very high- barbecued fish was a highlight, and the bread/pizza oven produces great results. You do need to be content with ceiling fans and happy without a TV in your room. But who needs a TV when you are beside the beach in Cahuita, with sloths in the trees?

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijail A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Atlantida Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Ralph

Thank you for your words and Hope we can see you again at Atlantida Lodge, your home in Cahuita.

Pura Vida!!!

Mijail Alpízar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews