We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nirvana by the Sea(Cahuita)(Great Value!)
USD 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
USD 168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
3 Bamboo(Cahuita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
88
68
39
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
68
39
18
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanswim lapsthe ownercosta ricano air contwo double bedswalk in showernational parkbooked this hotelminute walk into townthe black sand beachtree frogsrecommend this place to anyoneenjoyed our stayswimming pooldirt roadsloth sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Beautiful pool and very nice grounds. There is a jungle feel and plenty of pretty plants. Little tables and chairs outside the rooms. The guests were all nice. It was New Year's Eve and the hotel offered a BBQ for the guests. The staff was very helpful and nice. The only suggestion would be more insulation between rooms to keep the noise down. Enjoyed my time there.

Room Tip: I was in the standard rooms so I don't know what the others were like.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I have been visiting Costa Rica since 1990 and on many trips I stay at Atlantida Lodge because it is inexpensive, quiet, has an in house restaurant,and pool side bar...all just across the dirt road from the Gulf of Mexico. The rooms leave a "little to be desired"...they could use updating and wall treatments...there is no ac and it was humid...but the room did have a ceiling fan. There was a shortage of electrical outlets.,,and we had no towels our first night there....the mgr. explained that they had upgraded our reservation and because we arrived late did not have the room ready..it was ok....we used the drapes to dry off with !!! The place is charming but it has changed somewhat since the owner is no longer on site...the manager was very helpful in giving us directions and he did upgraded our rooms at no additional cost. Atlantida is centrally located...we walked to a nearby REGGE BAR for a Dance one night, and walked to the National Park one day...there is also a RESCUE CENTER that you can walk to and see all kinds of local wildlife that are in rehab...good to do on a rainy day...they have free umbrellas..Weather the end of Nov. was windy and rain all day , so we only stayed two nights and left for La Fortuna and the Pacific Coast.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are too dark and we did not see any with ac...we stayed in the upgraded room but it was nothing special except it did have a whirlpool fiberglass tub to relax in and there was plenty of hot water.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBXEASYRIDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Cahuita was the final leg of our Costa Rica tour. The standard rooms we were given did not really meet 'the standard' and we were facing an unpleasant end of our journey. For a start they were not clean and the bathroom was really in need for renovation...Fortunately we were able to upgrade to the superior rooms for an extra 20 Dollars per night. These rooms are spacious and with a decent bathroom including a walk-in shower. However as far as I understand there are only 4 superior rooms available, so make sure to book these in advance. The swimming pool is big but degraded, lots of tiles are missing and apart from 4 concrete pool chairs, none of the others were in good condition...Location however is fine, just outside of Cahuita and near an excellent Italian restaurant. We were advised though to take a taxi when returning at night for safety...Finally staff is friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is good!

Room Tip: ask for the superior rooms!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deperre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed one night here at the end of our C2C trip with Coast to Coast adventures. There are different standards of room I think.....I hope ours weren't at the higher end, because the rooms were a bit dark and dismal. There was no air-con either...just a fan....and it was HOT. We had a major disaster with the shower which came to bits and flooded the room....not great when you only have a few items of dry & clean clothes. Breakfast was pretty good. The pool was OK, if a bit grubby. The main attraction was the Howler monkeys in the tree overhanging the hotel driveway. The grounds were nice enough too....lots of HIbiscus.
Not somewhere we'd go back to in a hurry though....certainly not for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a rather small lodge with lots of potential. It is located at the black beach area. Sure the place needs a lot of maintenance. Especially in and around the (huge) pool (lots of tiles were missing, not a single chair or pool bed was in order) and the rooms (shower). However the ambiance is truly charming: lots of flowers and plants, black spotted frogs in the morning, a lot of red eyed frogs after sunset and a friendly sloth using the power lines for freeway. The staff is friendly although a bit Caribbean tempered and the majority didn’t speak English. The water is scarcely heated by an electrical device in the shower. Making a clumsy move even caused a small shock! The reception is primitive and lacks a real cash register, so you should calculate in some time to check out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bastiaan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews