We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty okay overall..........”
Review of Atlantida Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantida Lodge
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cahuita
Certificate of Excellence
Orotina, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty okay overall..........”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Cahuita itself is an interesting and relaxed sort of place, where north-american ex-hippies play cards with locals and there is a faint smell of cannabis every now and then. Locals are friendly and welcoming and there isn't the slight edge of menace you might find in Limon or Puerto Viejo. The Atlantida Lodge is about 400 meters from the town and is just the other side of the road from the beach. We stayed in a 'superior' room and were pretty happy with it, very spacious and clean, beds comfortable. No A/C but the nights were unseasonably cool, so not needed. If you are easily disturbed at night avoid rooms 13 & 14 as the howler monkeys drop half-eaten fruit on the tin rooves with a deafening crash. This happens during the night as well, not sure if this was monkeys or just falling fruit. May not happen all year round. The pool is large and clean, a few missing tiles but nothing drastic. It was a touch chilly while we were there due to the shade of the trees around. However there are howler monkeys in the trees and they are great fun to watch. There is a poolside bar and a restaurant area with tables although while we were there the food service was in another area nearer the reception. Breakfast was not included in our room rate but was about $6 per head which is about the same as any of the other places down town and was pretty good quality. Had an evening meal in the restaurant and plates seemed to be between $8-$16 dollars and the quality was good. There is ample parking and security at night. Reception staff are very laid back and friendly. The general atmosphere is Caribbean rustic, certainly not luxurious, but that was fine. Enjoyed our stay and felt it was good value for money, paid $70 per night for the 'superior' room. I would happily go again (but would pick rooms 11 & 12 if possible - less noisy at night!)

Room Tip: Avoid Superior rooms 13 & 14 as the friut falling on the tin rooves is very noisy 24 hrs a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayacastle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    62
    35
    12
    13
See reviews for
32
87
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

grreat location next to beech hotel has a nice pool and gardens. In the storms we experienced all power went off leaving us in total darkness, wityh no emergency lighting. Accomodation was basic

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallsally2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent our Christmas break at Atlantida lodge and it was just as restful and relaxing as we had hoped.
The place is an awesome and ideal place for a honeymoon or for any couple who wants to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life! We stayed in the deluxe rooms which has a spacious bathroom surrounded of walls made of corals which I never seen.

The nature and the ambiance simply amazing.

Room Tip: deluxe or suites are the best to enjoy the full experience I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon in September of 2011. We enjoyed our stay, but unfortunately this place is starting to become a bit run down. The hot tub which sat by the pool 3 years ago when I stayed in this hotel now sat directly outside the window of our room- empty and on its side. The advertized outdoor gym no longer seems to exist either - the pavillion under which the equipment used to sit is now roped off with caution tape. The pool is kept clean, but in need of repair. There are many areas on the bottom where the tiles are gone. Weird little "things" a little bigger than a grain of sand rained down from our ceiling at night, not sure what they were. Maybe gecko poop like a previous reviewer mentioned? This issue was by far the most bothersome to me personally, and if it had not been for this one thing, I would have given a higher rating. I don't remember this being a problem the last time I stayed, so maybe this issue plagues only the "superior" rooms, as last time I stayed in a "standard."

Despite reviews to the contrary, I believe the restaurant here was very good, though a bit overpriced. The servers were friendly and accomadating to me as a vegetarian. Many times in the states people treat it as a hassle to accomadate dishes to me, but the staff here was more than happy.

We did visit in the green season, so maybe we caught the place during renovations. While probably not the best place to stay in Cahuita, I don't believe it was the worst either. We still enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelad428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

After a 10 mile hike in the park my wife and I were too tired to walk into town and this place is close to where we were staying so we stopped into the restaurant for dinner. What a mistake. We ordered a chicken salad, cocktail camerones for an appetizer, and for entrees I wanted the curry chicken and my wife had the garlic shrimp both which came with coconut rice and fried yuca (which we love). After waiting 20+ minutes our dinners come out. We both got a big scoop of plain white rice and underboiled yuca which hadn't been fried. About 10 minutes later our Cocktail Camerones and chicken salad came out. The cocktail had no sauce - zero. Very small dry shrimp on the rim of a cocktail glass which was filled with a lettuce leaf. The chicken salad had no cabbage, avocado or other advertised goodies and was basically chicken pieces with onion in a sauce thrown on a plate. Even after the removal of their "cocktail" camerones this was the single most expensive and the single worst meal we had during our week in CR. And to top that off I'd left my iPhone at the hotel and didn't have a calculator. They gave me the bill in Dollars, the credit card charge was in Colones and they overcharged my by a bunch. I'm going to have a chat with the manager in the am but this experience was horrible. AVOID THEM!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jomobco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.6 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.0 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.0 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
12.4 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
17.1 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantida Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantida Lodge

Property: Atlantida Lodge
Address: In front of Playa Negra, Next to the soccer Field, Cahuita 70403, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cahuita
Price range (per night): $106 - $160
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantida Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Located right next to the soccer field, in front of Playa Negra Cahuita and a few steps from the beach, and only 20 miles km south from Puerto Limon. Description: Perfect place to capture the atmosphere of peaceful that exists in the Costa Rican Caribbean. The Reception, Swimming Pool, The Brown Pelican Restaurant and Gardens are a "Tropical Adventure Center" where the forest over 30 years around the hotel, will immediately captures you. It features Massage room, restaurant for 70 people, Pizza oven, Kukula Bar with musical activities all months, Private Parking lot, Bike rent, wide pool and Frogs observation center among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantida Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantida Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing