We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alby Lodge
Nearby Hotels
USD 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
3 Bamboo(Cahuita)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
123
39
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
39
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenhowler monkeysthe busnational parkbeautiful gardencosta ricamosquito netwifi worksnice common areahonesty barother guestswater pressurefalling asleepspent nights heretwo double bedsthe ownerrental car
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 176 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

The Alby Lodge was one of the best accommodations we’ve had in Costa Rica - We even prolonged our stay to 4 nights, because it was so nice! The huts are beautiful and clean and authentic with the palm tree roof. They are located in a beautiful big Tropical garden with monkeys, bananas, star fruits and animals, even a small crocodile. Yvonne is very caring and has many good recommendations - just ask her. We can definitely recommend Alby Lodge to everyone!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Alby Lodge and it was amazing! The lodge is located at 2 mins by walk from the entree of Cahuita National park and from the village. Perfect location.

Our cabin was the number 4, we were surrounded by a beautiful garden and forest with howler monkeys! Be prepared to be woke up during the night by the monkeys! ;-)

The cabin had everything we need and very clean. A queen bed with mosquito net, fan, hammock and table on the porch. The bathroom was clean and had a shower. Please note that sometimes we didn't have hot water or a lot of water pressure. It didn't bother us, but I just wanted to mention it.

Moreover, there is a rancho (main cabin) with kitchen and tables. You can stock your stuff in the fridge, make coffee in the morning, cook some meals, etc. We really liked the rancho and used it everyday.

We asked Yvonne to stay one more night but unfortunately no cabin was available, we would like to stay more time. I totally recommend this place, it s a little paradise in Cahuita!

Thank you Yvonne! :-)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We arrived in Cahuita after booking a nearby hotel and went for a walk and came across Alby Lodge. We immediately fell in love with the place and booked in initially for only a couple of nights as we planned to move on. We ended up staying 11 nights it was amazing. All kinds of wildlife in the gardens including Agouti, Sloth and Howler Monkeys. The Hostess was just fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for her.
Chris & Kay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

If you are family who wants to reconnect with your teenage children the weak wifi is a massive bonus Beautiful gardens, oodles of animals, lovely fresh organic fruit from the garden, helpful conversation on everything with Yvonne (from how to fix a fridge to advice on the best trips and how to get there). Somewhere you should go to forget about your everyday stresses and truly relax. We planned 4 nights and ended up staying a week. Lots to do, good restaurants in town or cook yourself a meal onsite in a very clean and organised kitchen. Definitely would visit again. Thanks Yvonne

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank johncaslake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We arrived at this place 2 1/2 hours later than when we said we would after the bus from San Jose was delayed (which made a 4hr trip a more gruelling 6 1/2 hours).

The accommodation is well located, only 5 mins from the bus terminal (although we took a long circular trip round upon arriving). Turn/keep right coming out of the bus station!

The accommodation is individual log cabins /bungalows. We had one with two double beds, which was fine for two people but might have been a bit of a squeeze if there were 4. At first I thought the accommodation was pretty basic, but having relaxed the next day I realised it's all you need. At night you can hear a whole cacophony of wildlife, which is pretty cool & makes you feel like you're sleeping outdoors!

In addition to the cabins themselves there's a dining area with cooking equipment, fridge and honesty bar.

There is wifi in the dining area, but it was pretty much unusable when we visited which was a shame as it's extremely helpful when planning what to do!

The national park is only a 5 min walk away, complete with wonderful beach.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank edarnold2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews