We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
128
40
9
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
40
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen howler monkeys the bus national park costa rica beautiful garden mosquito net wifi works nice common area honesty bar other guests water pressure falling asleep two double beds the owner spent nights here rental car
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

For sure best option in Cahuita! Great parkgarden -close to the NP and beach! Only 4 Bungalows so most of the time noise only by the monkys crossing the garden and different birds! Nice rancho where you can cook your own meals and breakfast with shared fridge!! Not the first time to cahuita and I don't know a better place!Very affordable!!

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We went to Costa Rica for two weeks with no other plan than to spend four nights at Alby Lodge in Cahuita. We figured that we'd play it by ear and probably would move on, but we ended up staying eleven nights. We fell in love with our casita and the grounds at Alby, as well as with Cahuita, its park and beach, and the Talamanca Mountains. The property is meticulously kept, and Yvonne, Thomas, and their dogs are wonderful stewards of this incredible property. As habitat gardeners ourselves, we particularly enjoyed the grounds -- they've got 20,000 square meters, filled with trees and plants, and with the plants come animals. We spent entire days lolling around watching the howler monkeys do the same. Cahuita in the low season is a relaxed, mellow place, and the most welcoming place I've ever been in 53 years of many moves and travels.

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Yvonne and Thomas, thank you for letting us spend the end of our honeymoon in your beautiful tropical garden! The awesome cabins, fascinating monkeys and proximity to the breath-takingly beautiful beach at Cahuita National Park are exactly what we expected.
Although the town of Cahuita had no public water due to a punctured supply line, the well on the property supplied ample water with fantastic pressure. The common kitchen with open seating area, WIFI, and fruit trees surrounding was great! Waking up to the sounds of Howler monkeys was unlike any other sound we've heard, and watching them lounge and play in the trees overhead was unbelievable!
We enjoyed the short walk into town with exceptional dining options, including an Italian place with movies in english at night! The beach at Cahuita Nat'l Park is so beautiful; the walk out to the point is well worth the investment in time, where Capuchin monkeys cruise through the treetops and wait on the point for handouts (Don't feed the monkeys!) If you like snorkeling, it is the place to go! Warm clear water and wide open beaches!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giggatygiggaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We arrived in the evening and the next morning awoke to visits from the neighbouring National Park from Capuchin and Howler monkeys, a vast array of birdlife and to top it all off, there was a Sloth in the tree next to our bungalow. This is well run, the simple cabins are just right and comfortable, welcoming communal kitchen and the nearby town has enough tasty restaurants to keep you happy. Being right next to the National Park was the big winner. All in all, we had a great 3 night stay here and could have stayed heaps longer.

Date of stay: November 2010
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Bean_Dare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here three nights. We loved waking up to Howlers every morning! We saw lots of wildlife on the grounds and in Cahuita Park. Great shared kitchen area with nice opportunities to interact with other guests.
The location is a good spot with quick access to good restaurants and the national park.
Stay here - you'll love it!

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews