We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
El Rodeo Estancia Boutique Hotel & Steakhouse(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
USD 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 94
USD 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 103
USD 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Riviera(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Express San Jose Costa Rica(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Oro(San Antonio De Belen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Obelisco(San Antonio De Belen)
Book now, pay at stay
USD 177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
USD 98
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose(San Antonio De Belen)
USD 256
USD 227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,505)
Filter reviews
1,505 results
Traveller rating
660
563
180
62
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
563
180
62
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treecosta ricasan joseclose to the airportwarm cookiespool areanice hotela small grocery storesmall casinoopen airswim up barexecutive roombreakfast buffetrestaurant staffnice staytour deskrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,505 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Pros:
It’s clean

Cons:
Room stays hot- thermostat will not cool room below 25 Celsius
Room very noisy- corridor outside caught every conversation, door slam, and service cart and reverberated the noise into my room
Room very dark- room has one window that looks into corridor, just a few feet from walkway, so curtains must be shut or your room becomes a fish tank and everyone can see you

Bottom line: This is not the place for a good night’s rest.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank RPH365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Eugene_Z, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear RPH365,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, since we work hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience. We see that noise was an issue during your stay. While we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods, we also encourage guests to contact the front office so that we can address noise issues to ensure comfort and safety. We are sorry that other guests or noises interrupted your comfort and we’ve shared your review with our security team.

We hope that the next time you return to Costa Rica, you’ll stay with us again.

Thanks,

Miguel Eugene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Great hotel, close to the airport. They have a wonderful breakfast every morning. The hotel itself is very well maintained. All of the staff were most helpful. I’ve stayed at this hotel before and will continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank ashleydavis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeCR, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear ashleydavis09,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose.

Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels.......

Miguel Eugene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I checked in for an 1 night stay before flying home. I booked a van to the airport and paid cash the night I checked in. The next morning they had no record of my van reservation.
I ended up paying twice. I complained to management and they said a third party handles the transportation reservations and they could not help me.
This hotel also does NOT participate in the Hilton Honors program.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve94901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeCR, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Steve94901,

We sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience during your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Cariari San Jose.

Thank you for posting your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies about the situation with your booked transportation, unfortunately as you mention, this service is provided to the hotel by an external company, but despite that, we are going to follow up with them to help us avoid this situation in the future.

Also, our property offers the Hilton Honors loyalty program benefits to all of our guest or the option to subscribe in case that you are not a member, but it is important to mention that only if you booked your reservation directly with us (by phone, frontdesk, website or app) you will receive the program benefits during your stay, reservations made by third party sites (such as: Expedia, Booking,etc) do not apply to our Hilton Honors program.

Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. If we can help in any way, please feel free to contact us.

Thank you.

Miguel Eugene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Our stay at the Doubletree was fantastic. As a diamond member, I was told upon checking in that my room would be upgraded, that we would get free breakfast, and free wifi in the room. The room was spacious and clean, and the customer service was excellent. The breakfast buffet was delicious with many choices. The hotel restaurant's dinner was good, but a bit overpriced. There is a small market across the street where you can buy food items, etc. The restaurants in the area didn't seem appeasing, so we opted not to try them. San Juan was about a 20 minute drive, and only costs about $7 to get there with a Uber. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking to visit Costa Rica. Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Street noise with a room facing the street
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank PayM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeCR, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear PayM90,

Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay with us.

We appreciate the opportunity to welcome you and appreciate your business. If there is anything we can do to enhance our services please let us know. We are always listening to our Guests.

Thanks again for choosing Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose.

Miguel Eugene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Very good location in San Jose. Pool and bar are easily accessible from the rooms. We were able to easily walk to restaurants near the hotel and there was a small grocery store close by. The restaurant at the hotel was not that expensive and the food is good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeCR, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear David S,

Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay here at Doubletree by Hilton Cariari San Jose!

So glad you were able to experience our authentic hospitality. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,

Miguel Eugene
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews