We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (739)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
316
263
94
51
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
263
94
51
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslangosta beach clubinfinity poolshuttle servicefree shuttleshuttle that runsin townesplendor hotelminute shuttleswim up baropen lobbybeautiful hotelhotel shuttlerooms are cleanocean viewbottled waterdirt roadhotel management
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 739 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Beautiful hotel, clean, tidy, fabulous views, excellent staff, superb pool, bus shuttle to town and beach now the down side: Shops close at 9pm hotel don't serve food after 8:30pm pool bar closes at 9:00pm and at 2:00pm at staff change over Mr. Bloody Reggae man comes on and if you don't like Reggae music that's tough, breakfast is good too

Room Tip: All rooms are excellently facing towards the beach
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0hnsim0ns492016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear John Simon,

Thank you for staying with us here at Wyndham tamarindo We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Wyndham tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Room:
A very positive thing about this hotel is that all rooms have ocean view. They gave us a room for people with disabilities without even asking, and it resulted in having a room that is different from the average a little bit more "posh" rooms.

Location:
This is as good as it gets in Tamarindo, you're high up in a hill with an amazing view of the ocean. The infinity pool is to die for!

Service:
There was an extremely rude young man at the front desk, we were a group of 6 and we all had at least one uncomfortable moment with this guy. At Check In he didn't give us tickets for beach towels and he told us he did, never admitting his mistake but rather pointing us -the paying guests- as liars. I saw another family having the exact same discussion with him. It's a shame that a beautiful hotel ruins a whole experience with such a stupid detail as beach towels...

With the service issue solved, this can become a top hotel in the Tamarindo area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManuelG1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Manuel ,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham tamarindo. We are sorry that you could not enjoy your stay the most. We are constantly working to improve our service in order to offer a better experience to our guests.
We expect you to give us another chance so you can see the improvements.

Kind regards,
Wyndham tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The hotel is very nice and great views. The hotel staff is fine but we had a VERY bad experience our first day with the restaurant staff. One large woman named Mareley (sp). in particular was extremely rude and considered it a challenge to make our experience a bad one. She is arrogant in the extreme and the rest of the staff kept apologizing for her. I spoke to the hotel manager about her and he said that mine was not the first complaint. It seem that the restaurant is contracted by a separate company than the Wydam chain and that they are getting changing, which can't come soon enough. The food is mediocre at best. The staff apologized with a nice fruit plate and bottle of wine to our room but the woman is still here. Don't eat that this restaurant....

Room Tip: get a room on either end to avoid the noise
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacktaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear jack,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed we fell short of your expectations. We aim to ensure all our guests leave the hotel having an amazing experience.

I have taken your feedback and will address the appropriate departments so as we can improve our services.

I would love for you to return and stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Wyndham tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Good hotel on hill overlooking the town and ocean.
Too hot to walk into town, although there is a shortcut there, so the hourly shuttle was much appreciated; as was the lovely nature of the driver.
Hotel is linked with a delightful beach club, which we visited most days.
Breakfasts were excellent buffet style. I particularly loved the fried plantain.
Evening meals were good but it was disappointing that meals and drink service ended at 2100h. There are no bars within about 15 minutes walk and the last shuttle runs at 2000h.
Watch out for the unlit ramp in the outside bar - I fell over it (before I had a drink!) and landing on the tiled floor hurt.
Views from the hotel are glorious, especially the sunsets.
A lovely place to relax.

Room Tip: The rooms are identical but the best views are from the upper storeys.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda-baynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear linda,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham tamarindo for your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay during your trip.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Wyndham tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The Wyndham is a good option to stay in Tamarindo.
The location is privileged so it has spectacular views of the beach. All the rooms have a view. The pool is very nice and also has good view.
The service did not seem excellent, the attitude is not very good in some people and the breakfast is not very good either.
In several places you can see that they need some maintenance to some facilities.
They gave us a room for people with special abilities, which we are not, and this made it a bit uncomfortable, since everything in the room, especially in the bathroom, is designed for this need.
In general, I liked the hotel; They have to improve some aspects, but I think it's a good option to stay in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santiagogaleros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear santiago,

Thank you for staying with us here at Wyndham tamarindo We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Wyndham tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews