We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveller rating
1,148
249
42
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,148
249
42
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capitan suizo howler monkeys costa rica in town superior room boogie boards outdoor shower walk along the beach our honeymoon tamarindo beach grounds are beautiful wonderful hotel sitting area air conditioning great beach private beach lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

My wife and I spent 3 days here 2 weeks ago and loved every moment of our stay. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our upstairs suite #75. Raul at the front desk should be titled VP of first impressions. There staff, in addition to Raul; Erik front desk, Naty and Ingrid in the restaurant for the morning breakfast buffet and cook to order selections, Max at dinner, the two ladies in the kitchen who know how to exquisitely prepare dorado and Gustavo the bartender all contributed in completing a most wonderful stay. Plus there are other whose names I forgot or don't know who keep the property spotless and always passed you with a smile and pura vida on their lips.

On Sept 9 they surprised me with a birthday cake at breakfast and sang Happy Birthday as well.

After staying here I don't think we'll ever stay anywhere else when we travel to Tamarindo.

Room Tip: There are some great oceanview rooms but any room there would be great with the pool and beach access.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avacados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

The staff were great and very friendly. The property is well kept and the rooms are great. The beachfront was uncrowded in September. The walk to town was not bad. Perhaps a shuttle or bicycles would be good.

Room Tip: The shower water was not hot
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ScottW210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Myself and my husband spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at Capitan Suizo in Tamarindo in the Beachfront suite.

This hotel is incredible! Our room was on the second floor, looking out onto the private beach area dedicated to guests and a separate entrance to the beach from the resort grounds.

Our room was large, very clean and the air conditioning and fans kept the temperature at a comfortable level. The bathroom was very clean, with a 2 person tub and a nice stand up shower. The balcony was massive, with lounge chairs, a dinner table and a hammock, which we used everyday. It was very comforting listening to the waves crash on the beach throughout our stay. The wifi worked great in certain areas of the room, but low signals were experienced in some places around the room and balcony (due to the size).

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating during our entire stay. The concierge, bartenders, waiters and front desk staff all spoke perfect english and made sure we were enjoying our time there.

The howler monkeys at this resort were very active, climbing the trees near the restaurant every morning. It made for a spectacular breakfast show! There were also iguanas and lizards around the pool side, but kept their distance from guests.

The resort grounds were very clean, and there were always workers cleaning the pool and restaurant areas. The incredible trees and fauna at this hotel made this a difficult task for the cleaners, but they did a great job. The private beach area was also cleaned multiple times a day, and had a stationed security guard at all times, so we did not have to worry about our bags while we went for a swim in the shockingly warm ocean.

This hotel well exceeded our expectations and made our honeymoon! We would definitely recommend it for couples or families, and we would 100% return.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

The hotel is beautiful, right on the edge of one of the most relaxing beaches I've been at my whole life. Small waves attract beginner to mid level surfers. Built around the natural trees, the hotel preserved most of the original natural landscape and as such, you'll see racoons, iguanas, a lot of different birds and you will most likely wake up to howler monkeys which you can spot every day on the trees and rooftops.Although almost perfect, this hotel has drawbacks. The first is that there is no room service and you'll have to go to the little souvenir store for snacks or the restaurant for a meal. The second, is that even though their restaurant has some superb flavors and an excellent price for the area of Tamarindo, it's almost sad that very little Costa Rican cuisine is incorporated into the menu and it's mostly italian/international food with a little local flare. The meal portions are fine for a regular person, but even small persons could find them a bit too small after being active all day swimming or laying out in the sun.With all that said, I would highly recommend you stay at Capitan Suizo.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Paoccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Okay, I wrote this review out and forgot to post it. Our stay was 3 months ago, but it was so great I'd rather post it crazy late than not acknowledge the staff that mad out stay so great. We stayed at the Capitan Suizo 30 May to 5 June 2018. We stayed almost a week and got married at the hotel. Out entire experience was great. While we were planning our event, for months before we arrived, Jorge stayed in touch with us to make sure our ceremony would turn out the way we wanted. We had a very small weddibg party, but he made sure we had everything we needed, even made suggestions for services in the area. He even came in to meet us when we arrived to go over everything and plan alternate sites for the ceremony in case of inclement weather. All of the hotel staff were always kind and courteous, and they tried hard to grant any request we gave. We went to the concierge desk several times every day to ask questions or call for taxis. Our rooms were clean and had great views with the awesome porches for each room. We had the beach front garden suite. Our friend had the suite next door, and the patio was so large we were able to get married there when it looked as though it might rain. The restaurant staff was so nice and the breakfast buffet was delicious! We looked forward to it every morning. Rachel worked with us on out wedding dinner, and it was so beautiful. The staff decorated the table and we were able to get a menu we really enjoyed. Everyone had a great time! Thank you Capitan Suizo! And sorry it took so long to post this.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank bhnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews