We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarindo Travel -Tours
Save
Review Highlights
A great day!

Our family was picked up from our hotel, by Jose Fernandez, who spent the day with us. He... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2018
Heather H
via mobile
Exceptional!!!

Vehicles are very clean and smoke free! The drivers are very professional, and kind. Herman picked... read more

Reviewed 29 June 2018
Deidre H
via mobile
Read all 135 reviews
  
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
124
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews airport shuttle costa rica great hike coffee plantation round trip transportation wonderful country hot springs made us feel great driver the buena vista tour these guys sea turtles pura vida food was great highlight of our trip harold heriberto
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were booked with Tamarindo Travel Tours through our concierge at Villa Diosa del Mar. Transfers to and from the airport were good. They were unaware of the size of our party arriving and our suitcases were placed on the roof of the van. This slowed our arrival to the villa as we needed to go even slower on the roads.
Our first excursion was to the river boat cruise and waterfall. Harold, our tour guide was terrific. He was very knowledgeable and pointed out various species of birds and reptiles. Our only issue was the length of time spent on the van. The trip to the boat tour was over 1 1/2 hours, then another 1 1/2 hours to a waterfall. The waterfall was pretty but the wading area was disgusting and crowded. It was extremely disappointing and we wanted to leave and soon as we saw the area. Our second excursions was to Rinchon de la veija. That was a wonderful trip and again Harold was terrific. He pointed out numerous species of trees. We saw monkeys, frogs, bugs. It was fun. The hot springs were extremely rustic and not at all spa-like but an interesting experience. Our last excursion was to the Diria coffee plantation and pottery town. It's a skip. Long trip and not worth the ride.
The guides and drivers are great but the actually arrangement of the trips leave a little to be desired. The lunches that are included are mediocre at best. Way to authentic for a tourist from the U.S.

Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I worked with Tamarindo Travel to book my roundtrip shuttle to/from Airport for 6. Once in Tamarindo, I used the WhatsApp communication to book the Catamaran Tour as well as a round trip transportation to Playa Avellanas.

The Catamaran Tour was such a great experience for my friends and I. We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the beach where we were taken out the Catamaran. The staff on the boat were awesome - open bar all day, we saw sea turtles and a whale(!!!). The food was great and the views/experience all around was a highlight of our trip.

The communication, drivers etc were all great. I would highly recommend to other travelers.

Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heriberto V, Gerente at Tamarindo Travel -Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment

We really appreciate.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We arranged our visit to swim at the base of a waterfall with TamTravel located on-site at the Occidental Tamarindo. Segio, our driver, took us past Liberia to a place the locals go to swim. All you need is a bathing suit, towel and camera. Bring decent walking shoes as there is a 25 minute walk to the waterfall; it's nice that no vehicles are allowed near the waterfall. We swam for about an hour, then Sergio asked what we wanted to do. We said local pub, lunch and a souvenir shop. Sergio was amazing. He took us to a local pub for a Michelada, then to a "soda" (small eatery where the locals go) for the most amazing food imaginable; and very inexpensive. Sergio then took us to a small art shop where we could get some local art and souvenirs for about a third of the price we would have paid in town or at the resort. Sergio schooled us on Costa Rica and made sure we saw some Howler monkeys. The cost of the trip is the same whether you go alone or with others so book your tour with another couple or two to save some money. It is a great experience. The travel agent was super accommodating and Sergio was amazing. Can't wait to go back. John abd Gisele

Thank JBGLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful tour of the Rincon de la Vieja National Park and volcano with Harold (Duck) and Jorge. They were both friendly, helpful and a lot of fun. They made the day, by showing us exactly where to go and when to do so. Duck took us on a great hike and pointed out the many unique fauna and flora of Costa Rica, including monkeys and a boa constrictor. Two beautiful waterfalls, one we swam in, a natural mud bath and hot springs. All of this was followed by a tasty lunch. I wouldn't do this tour without these two great guys.

Thank LookingForSun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Very polite staff and they were excellent at setting everything up as well as a reminder phone call the day before. Wonderful staff !

Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews