We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Getaway”
other traveller has booked this property
Your Private Pool at Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Private Pool at Night
Great Room Master Bedroom Suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Your Private Pool at Night
Great Room
Master Bedroom Suite
Master Bath
Great Room Looking Out to Pool
Indoor Dining
Covered Outdoor Dining and Lounging
Kitchen
Guest Suite 1
Guest Suite Writing Desk
Casita Guest Suite
Casita Kitchenette
Casita Suite Bath
Bunk Guest Suite
Your Pool
Your Waterfall
Your Backyard Jungle
Relax in Your Jungle
Laundry Room
Outdoor Dining, Pool and Gas Grill
Casa Colorado
Friends in the Backyard
Tamarindo Beach
Langosta Beach at Sunset
Langosta Beach
Estuary Mangrove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
charler22
Evergreen, CO
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My wife and I wanted a large home with a pool and close to the ocean. This is it!!! Great location, cool pool and great staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zach M
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection!! Stop looking, this is the place you want to stay!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our party of 9, four adults and five kids, stayed at Casa Colorado for two weeks in April and it was the vacation of a lifetime! The shuttle ride from LIberia was smooth as silk, and we were all blown away when we arrived at Casa Colorado. When the gate opened, we could not believe the oasis that awaited us...the pictures did not do it justice! The house is beautiful, with all the comforts of home. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need, and there is an outdoor dining area that easily seats 10. The bedrooms are all spacious with comfy beds, and the separate "casita" is really an added bonus. My family typically rents vacation homes instead of hotels, and we really like having a little separate place to escape to! We spent countless hours in backyard and pool area . The kids (OK, me) loved the rope swings, and there was plenty of space to spread out, lounge in a hammock, or strum the guitar. The howler monkeys often spend time in the trees right around the house...they were super fun to have around. The owner hooked us up with a great babysitter, who all the kids loved, as well as a personal chef who cooked for us one night. I never knew marlin ceviche could be so delicious! The location of Casa Colorado is perfect. A short walk into town or to the beach for a surf couldn't be easier. Even with small kids, surfboards and a cooler full of Imperial Light, the walk was no problem. The owners gave us plenty of recommendations for places to surf and restaurants to eat...every meal was delicious but you have to try Bamboo Sushi and take a boat ride up the river to Bula Bula. Finally, while we never felt unsafe in Costa Rica, the security features at Casa Colorado were an added bonus. My wife is a bit a worrier, and sometimes doesn't sleep well on vacation. Casa Colorado is safe and secure, with a top of the line security system, so we all slept like babies on this trip! Overall, Casa Colorado was the perfect house for us and a huge part of a memorable vacation...we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jillloves...
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
“Our "Dream Home" away from home!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in March 2012

My family has spent two extended vacations at the beautiful Casa Colorado in Tamarindo. In looking through these pictures, I am reminded of the hundreds of reasons that this is truly our dream vacation. * The house is clean, spacious, and safe. I love this beautiful home! The pictures and descriptions accurately depict this amazing property. My husband and I stayed in the Casita which was truly our own retreat. The rest of our group stayed in the roomy and immaculate main house. The great room and kitchen are wonderful for entertaining and for large groups. My favorite area is the pool and patio. We spent many nights sitting at the beautiful patio table while our kids enjoyed the pool rope swing. The rope swings hangs from a huge tree above the pool that is also home to several howler monkey's. * The staff does a wonderful job of keeping this property very clean and well maintained. Jeffrey and Ingris both work at the home on various days. They are friendly, helpful, and do a great job for the owners of this home. We were always so thankful to come home to a clean kitchen, clean towels, and lights on around the pool. * Casa Colorado is walking distance from everything. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach, to the store or to any of the dozens of amazing Tamarindo restaurants. One of our favorite restaurants, Kahiki's, is just down the street. The beach is amazing and the restaurants and surfing are unbeatable. Even with children and older friends, we were able to take a short walk day or night for entertainment, surf, food, and fun. Here is a quick list of things that make this property and our vacations so amazing: * the house is so nice and perfect for our whole group * breakfast at Kahiki's, dinners on the beach (Langosta & Bambu Sushi etc.) * dinners at home (full kitchen and outdoor table holds 10) * surfing with Dilbert (local guy) or with Kurt (Bob can get you surf institute information) * trip to Ricon - horseback riding, tubing, and zip-lining (Bob organizes everything and what an amazing day!!!) * a day on Blue Dolphin or Marina DelRay - amazing boat trips with music, food, and snorkeling * river boat trip to Bula Bula * Enjoying the luxury of Casa Colorado with the comfort of home, the excitement of monkeys in the backyard tree and the gracious people of Tamarindo! We will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIANE R
LONDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT RENT THIS HOUSE”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of seven rented this house from January 31 to February 14, 2013.
Bob, our property manager quoted price of $70 each way for shuttle. Before we left he said price would be $110. each way. Said it was more because there was seven people. He already knew this because we signed contract. The shuttle was so small we had to cram in and sit on our luggage.
While we stayed at the house, we were robbed two times in the first 4 days. The first time, there was $350 cash taken while we left for supper. The second time, was in the middle of the night while we were sleeping. A backpack that contained $140 cash, $350 camera and binoculars was taken from END TABLE. The robber obviously had a key in both robberies. There was no forced entry. We were scared the rest of our holiday. Every night, we baracaded the doors with chairs and heavy planters.We also left all the lights on.
Bob informed us that we should not set the alarm because there was too many of us. He made up story that the 2 smokers need to smoke in the middle of the night. They do not smoke at night. He said we would be safe. If skilled robbers do not need a key, why were we not shown how to set the alarm and informed of the danger in this area If there was six robberies in that neighborhood, I would not stay there again knowing this.
We asked for propane on Tuesday and had to call again on Thursday to have it replaced.
On the review from the other Vacation Rental site we wrote the wonderful comments in the book because we did not want the robberies to affect our holiday. We thought we would have a better chance of getting our money back. All of us were given the advise that Bob would look after refunding us the $740 of stolen property. We were to E-Mail him when we arrived home with an itemized list of our loss. We also dropped the price of the camera from $350 to $200 because it was 4 years old.
After six weeks of waiting, we dropped price again to $600. They offered $300 and who would want to rent another place from him after this incident.
Also, Ingris our maid was excellent.
We did love Costa Rica but will stay at an all inclusive next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The weather in Costa Rica
Liked least: Two robberies and not being compensated for our loss
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2013
We are sorry that this group had some unfortunate experiences but take exception to their overall comments. The pool was not cleaned to our standards for the first 2 days. After that, we assigned an employee to clean it daily which was done. Propane was replaced as soon as they notified us. A water heater burst in the master bath at night. We responded within minutes and cleaned up the water. There was no damage and we installed a new water heater the next morning. The home is alarmed. This group elected not to use it as there were smokers in the group who went outside during the night. That would have required that the alarm be reset for each exit and entrance. The security company that provides the system for this and other homes in the neighborhood advised us that there were 6 robberies attempted during the night in question. All of them involved cutting a hole in the fence as outlined by the guest. All entries that were attempted showed no sign of force. Skilled robbers don't need a key. The owners, and I agree, feel that leaving money spread out to dry on a table facing all glass did not exhibit good judgement. We feel sorry that the backpack and contents were stolen and did offer them $300 in cash or a $500 credit toward a future visit to any of our properties. Al of this would have been prevented if the alarm had been used. This is what this guest wrote in the guest book prior to departing: "January 31 to February 14 - We loved your home. In leiu of the problems, we had a wonderful vacation. Costa Rica is a beautiful country. We are returning home to earn more money so we can return. Ingris was amazing. Bob was very helpful. He booked us three trips which we enjoyed. He was always available. Thank you." - Diane & Jim, Randi & Bruce, Shirley & Ronnie, Maxine" Sincerely, Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesinHo...
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Property and Great Manager”
Reviewed 28 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We stayed in this unit in mid-July for several days. It was very nice, clean, and matched the description on VRBO. Bob who is the property manager is great to deal with on the rental. Additionally he was a great help on ideas/reservations for several activities, dining suggestions, etc., but it never felt like he was selling us something. We looked around at other units while on our trip and definitely would chose this unit again for future trips. Have fun if you go!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing