We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place!”
Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views
Terrace dining Terrace dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Views
Terrace dining
Terrace dining area
Colina outdoor dinning table
Outdoor lounge area
Pool
Colina Pool
Pool
Pool
Pool view
Colina Entrance gate
Pool View
Entrance with lush landscaping
Terrace lounge area
Colina Lower patio
Enjoy Amazing Sunsets
BBQ area
Deck
Stairs from pool deck to dining terrace
View
Garden
Colina Sunset
Outside dining area
Inside dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Apt.2 Bedroom 2
Apt.2 Bedroom
5th bedroom
Apt. 2 Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom
Apt. bedroom bath
Master Bathroom
Small bedroom/office
Apt. Living room
4th bedroom
5th bathroom
Apt. Living
Kitchen indoor dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zookeeper...
Haddonfield
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The perfect place!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

December 21st, my family and I arrived at Casa Colina del Mar. After the car made it to the top of steep dirt road, the gate opened and in front of us was paradise! We were quickly greeted by the home's caretakers, Andy and Cynthia. Our week at this amazing place was perfect for our family of 11. The view was amazing and we wouldn't have had the great experience without Cynthia and Andy. They live in an apartment over the garage and were available to answer questions and help with reservations. The house keeper (I know I am spelling this wrong) Elda, is a wonderful lady and keeps the house very clean. Two of the nights we paid her to cook dinner for us and she is amazing. This house became our home and Cynthia, Andy, and Elda are our friends. At the end of the week it was hard for us to leave this beautiful place and our new friends. We will be back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2013
Thanks for the great review. So glad you had a great time. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookside...
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Christmas Vacation”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We went to Tamarindo with my husbands's brother and his family to learn together how to surf. The house was within easy walking distance to the Witch's Rock where you rent your surf boards and a short drive to a major grocery store. The house had almost everything one could want or need. The only major glitch we encountered was a lack of a dishwasher which with a group of 10 was a downer, but all the other great aspects of our trip made it ok. Plenty of hot water, towels, beds, Lovely patio to rest on in the afternoon heat. If you are a large crowd and plan to eat in as we did, bring your own kitchen knife as their knives are dull. Other wise you will be able to cook up fabulous meals. We did not eat out but our young adult children found plenty of fun night life while us older ones, enjoyed our evenings by the pool. I would highly recommend this rental. It even had a full time security guard who was also a great asset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and layout of the property
Liked least: kitchen utensils (knives, no strainer, no large serving bowl,
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKLeather...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise. That is all.”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I have stayed at Casa Colina del Mar twice and will certainly be back again. The place is fantastic! Cynthia and Andy are super friendly and really went out of their way to make our stay that much more comfortable; ie, finding us a cab on a stormy night when a big soccer game was on and none of the cabbies wanted to come up the hill (thanks, Felix!).
Located high up a winding dirt road -- when you get inside the gates and drop your bags, there is a lush, tropical sitting area with plenty of lounging room for everyone, and a breathtaking panorama of the estuary all the way up to the beach where the surfers line up to catch waves. And best of all, you can take in this view from the edge of the infinity pool. For the less adventurous, you really couldn't find a finer place to wile away a few days of vacation. The hours relaxing in that pool were unforgettable. Seriously, the house is great, but stay here for the pool. I'm not kidding - it's dreamy.
The layout of the house is perfect for a large group. There is one master bedroom upstairs in the main house - the bathroom overlooks the pool and you can see the ocean from the shower. Down the hall from that is a room that has two single beds and we always just used this room as a dumping ground for our luggage, but if you had kids along, the master/twin room set up would be great for a family. The separate casita has two perfectly identical 'master' bedrooms- one upstairs and one downstairs - with queen bed and bathroom. The 'below ground' level of the main house is like it's own little two bedroom apartment - I think both bedrooms are full size beds, and the two bedrooms are down the hall from a shared bathroom and a living area. This downstairs house has plenty of space away from the main house and casita. The main floor of the house is the kitchen and dining room. Both are great, but we did not cook much since there is really no need to in Tamarindo - you can hire a chef (recommend Chef Jay) or eat out in one of the fabulous eateries that Tamarindo manages to attract.
The house does happen to be located close to a great beach and in a tourist/surf town with MORE than its fair share of tantalizing restaurants and unique cocktail bars. The surf is good for beginners (or for anyone, really - what's a 'bad' day of surfing?) - more furious surf isn't far away, if that's what you prefer. A short drive away you can go zip-lining through the jungle and do NOT miss the estuary tour --if you hit at high tide, you can see crocs - hurrah! if you get in at low tide, you will journey far into the depths of the serene and scary inner mangrove-land, very Tim Burton dreamscape.
Now, about "the hill". To my friends and I, getting to and from the house to the main street in town was a big part of the fun. You can count on a treacherous and bumpy ride along part of it (though I hear that some new sections are now paved/improved) - but there are quite a few amazing views along the way, and be sure scan the branches of the trees at the bottom of the hill for monkeys, unless you're the driver - in which case, you're having more fun than anyone else in the car. Absolute paradise awaits on either side, either at Colina del Mar or in the wonderful town of Tamarindo. Hang on - it's quite a ride - I enjoyed every minute of it.

Perfect vacation house. Go, stay, and you'll be back too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: the fact that I had to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2013
Thanks for the review and great information. We are so glad you had a great time! The house is truly amazing. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno California
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
phoenix
Reviewed 7 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jul 2011
Thanks for the nice comments. It is ture that the house is highly located on the hill and walking back to the house is a hard climb.... however the location is worth it with one of the most spectacular ocean views in the whole resort!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing