We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Viva La Divaz!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casitas LazDivaz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casitas LazDivaz
Ranked #5 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Viva La Divaz!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I cannot say enough good things about Casitas LazDivaz and the owners, Sara and Berit. They are great hosts and their B&B is in the perfect location. They gave us great tips on where to go/what to do during out stay in Samara along with cooking us a Divatastic breakfast each morning. We will always cherish our time spent here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
141
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Casitas LazDivaz
Playa Sámara

We wanted to find a place that was away from town, on the beach and fit our budget. We exchanged a flurry of emails with the ladies/owners of Casitas LazDivaz that proved to be increasingly humorous, silly and tastefully entertaining (I mean, just look at the name of their place). We thought they were pretty cool, so we booked ‘The Tina Turner’, one of three accommodation offerings. It was the only one that had a kitchenette; we hoped to have the option of eating in instead of dining out. We figured if it was that much fun communicating by email with them, then it might be just the right place for us. It was.

There was not much glamour and glitter in Playa Sámara. There weren’t many eye-popping, cliffhanging condos, super high-end spa/resorts or sumptuous restaurants here. This was not Jacó, Tamarindo or Playa del Coco. Instead, Playa Sámara was rather laid back and not yet overrun—just the way we like it. This year, June offered an early start of the rainy season. And boy did it rain here. A lot. But then blue skies broke through to allow ample sun time, swim time, sea-kayaking and cocktails at sunset. Like a fairy tale.

Which brings me to our hosts, Sara and Berit. From the first moment we arrived until our final goodbye hugs, they were warm, charming and accommodating to all our requests. We even joined them in their custom of ending the day with sunset cocktails.

The casitas were stand-alone cottages. Inside and out were homey touches a la Berit sometimes culled from frequent beachcombing. A nice queen bed with mosquito netting (you will need it), was cooled by fans at night. There was a simple bath and shower area, a minimal kitchen and plenty of storage for our things. The ‘Tina Turner’ was structurally different in that it was raised from the ground, allowing us a front porch with chairs and a table. The sound and rhythm of the ocean was always present. The three casitas available for guests were situated behind the main house/reception area and sandy front lawn. Breakfast and cocktails were taken under a Tahitian-style, ocean-view Rancho near the handmade gate and fence. For the beach, deck chairs and hammocks were available. Old palm tree trunk stumps were used as side tables, side seats or ottomans. Casitas LazDivaz was a step away from the ocean. There were three dogs at Casitas LazDivaz. Within the first few minutes of our arrival, we were introduced to them as Kiri, Mimi, and Katya (or maybe Katja).

Okay. Other stuff. Lose your cares and daydream as you walk the long crescent playa: it’ll take you an hour or more in each direction depending on how many cares you have to lose and how many days you need to dream away. Go to Al Manglar for pizza or dinner. Yes, in Sámara, there are expat Italian owners who make delicious northern Italian food: order anything with ragù alla Bolognese and you will not be sorry. Rent a kayak from Pato, on the beach (very reasonable), and head for Isla Chora. Play find-the-howler-monkeys in the tree canopy above the casitas: don’t worry, they give themselves away. Play Intermission Opera Quiz with Sara and Berit: careful: they know a tessitura from a Turandot. Take a quick jaunt over to the charcoal sands of Playa Carillo, or if you have a day and the rivers are running low or not at all, try getting to Nosara and Ostional. We didn’t, much to our regret. With the recent rains, we didn’t have the courage to cross the waters of which we could not see the bottom. Ask Berit to build you something, she will. Ask Sara for almost anything, she’ll provide it.

As far as LazDivaz’ orientation, Sara and Berit gave us blow-by-blow directions to get to their secluded part of the playa--they were on the out-skirts of town. We entered the town on the road from Nicoya, turned left before we reached the center of Sámara, went as if to Playa Carillo past the built up part of town, then made a sharp, right-hand turn down a short dirt lane that paralleled a quebrada. then followed the beach a few dozen yards. In typical Tico parlance, it’s near the famous Matapalo tree that is no longer there.

Room Tip: Email LazDivaz directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nypuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Sara and Berit have a lovely spot and they're fun, funny, engaging, and enjoyable hosts. My partner and I loved staying with them. We were comfortable and safe, Samara is beautiful, and we highly recommend Casitas LazDivaz.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cperrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Amazing location! This place is right on the beach with ocean views from our casita. I loved laying in the hammock and doing nothing! But if you want to do something the main town area is just a short walk away. I liked being so close to town but out of the commotion. The sunsets at night are beautiful to say the least.
Amazing breakfast! What a treat to wake up to fresh coffee and a delicious "home-cooked" breakfast. Sarah is an awesome chef.
Monkeys! The monkeys woke us up in the morning. This may not be your cup of tea, but I thought it was very cool. We could always catch up on some z's on the hammock. We saw monkeys all the time in the trees above our casitas.
Helpful Hostesses! Sarah and Berit are very helpful in planning things to do around Samara and elsewhere. They gave us a tip to go to a secluded beach. We had the whole beach to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WelshHydro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed with Sara and Berit last week and it was absolutely amazing. This is not your typical B&B or bungalow, they made us feel like we were part of their family. If you ever find yourself in Samara I would highly suggest that you stay with them.

For starters, we stayed in the Marlene Dietrich bungalow which was beautiful, cleaned daily and well-tended to. The bungalow is right on the beach, you can wake up plop into the ocean and roll into the shower all within about 1 minute. A fair warning is that these bungalows are not air conditioned and you sleep with a mosquito net, but if you're traveling all this way to Samara why not stay like a local for a few nights. It really wasn't that bad and we were staying during the rainy season. Every morning Sara and Berit prepare an amazing breakfast consisting of either an omelette, pancakes or French toast. Between my wife and I we tried every one and they were excellent. On top of that you're greeted every morning with a strong cup of Costa Rican coffee and a huge fruit plate cut up into different designs.

The reason you should stay here is the warmth and friendliness that Sara and Berit display. They were always willing to help suggest an activity or restaurant to us; we did not have a bad meal in Samara because of their suggestions. Some of those included El Lagarto BBQ (amazing wood-grilled food), and Al Manglar (some of the best pizza I've ever had). On top of that they recommended great activities, like Wingnuts canopy tour (which was also really, really awesome). The coolest thing that Sara and Berit do is that every night they have a "sunset ceremony" where they invite you to share a beer/drink with them on the beach in front of the bungalow. One of the nights we saw a local Tico bringing his boat back in and Sara knew that we wanted to go out on the water and attempt to fish. She had him come over and we negotiated a really great deal and had a wonderful couple of hours out on the boat (minus me getting sea sick).

Sara and Berit are also adamant dog lovers and they have adopted three great dogs, so be sure you like four legged friends. Their dogs, Mimi, Kati, and Kiri were all great. Berit also cares for local dogs that have been abandoned. My wife found a super-skinny dog next door that looked like it was abandoned and Berit took it upon herself to feed and care for the dog, who probably had some puppies. T

We would have liked to have stayed longer but we had to cut our trip short due to a family emergency, but if we ever went back to Costa Rica we would go out of our way just to see Sara and Berit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Marlene Dietrich bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank triciasullivan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.3 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 15 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.5 km away
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach
#4 of 15 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.5 km away
Villas Kalimba
Villas Kalimba
#1 of 32 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casitas LazDivaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casitas LazDivaz

Property: Casitas LazDivaz
Address: 600 meters east of Samara center | entrance from the beach, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price range (per night): $88 - $108
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stand-alone cottages in an intimate beachfront compound, for adults only. Each bright, breezy casita, shaded by many trees, has a queen-size bed, hot shower, ceiling fan, refrigerator, free WiFi, and safe; one, "Tina Turner," has full kitchen. Coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice served each morning. We practice sound ecological management. Share our excitement and concern for the environment and resident wildlife, from the armadillos to the zompopas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casitas Lazdivaz Hotel Playa Samara
Casitas Lazdivaz Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing