We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IMG 1638 Poolside Lounging
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
IMG 1638
Poolside Lounging
Outdoor shower
Terrace lounging
Dual hood BBQ
Terrace dining
Living room
Kitchen
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Spare bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmartin20...
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with two kids under 10 for five days and loved it. The house is beautiful, private, comfortable and safe. It is literally just two blocks from the beach. There are two little grocery stores a block away. It was great to be able to cook. The pool is small but my boys loved it! Perfect to spend the morning at the beach,come home and they could swim while we made lunch, go back to the beach, then back to swim in the pool and make dinner. Big mango tree over the pool meant we could float and watch monkeys play and eat above us on two days! (including a mama and baby) I loved drinking my coffee on the patio in the morning. Samara is a wonderful beach, safe, calm, pretty. Everyone very friendly. We loved Samara and this house. The beach is a great one for kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kubina
Valdez, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Helpful, Friendly Owner; Some Repairs Needed”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Monika, the owner of La Villa Blanca, was really personable and helpful during our stay. The Wi-Fi was not working the afternoon that we checked in, but she came back the next morning and spent a lot of time getting it up and running again. The villa is well-equipped and spacious, and the location near the beach and restaurants is excellent. We felt very safe in the area. Considering the rental fee, we were surprised and disappointed by some of the minor repairs that needed to be done to the place. The BBQ grill was not working properly, so we didn't use it, plus two cupboard doors were hanging loose in the kitchen area. There was also a broken window pane in the patio door that was covered by cardboard. The water pressure in the shower was very weak, but Monika plans to replace the shower head, which may help. None of these really affected our stay too much, and we pointed them out to the owner who seemed concerned about addressing the repairs needed. We enjoyed the patio out by the pool, and we spotted a huge iguana hanging out there on the wall. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the villa, and we enjoyed getting to know Monika.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Owner, Monika.
Liked least: Need of minor repairs and weak water pressure in shower
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property two seconds from heaven”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

La Villa Blanca is a spectacular property at playa samara. The property is beautiful and the pool is really awesome after a long day at the beach. My wife and I loved the outside patio - the lounge chairs, grill and table make dining and chilling a treat. The house had modern appliances and is perfect for two couples (two bedrooms). There is a safe, AC, washer/dryer and everything is really well maintained. I stayed here for 5 days and by the end, wished I extended my stay another 5. I regularly rent houses all around the world and was pleased with the quality, price point and location of this gem.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
habibtij
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This is our second stay at the Villa Blanca, and I still cannot say enough about it. I wondered if it would have become a little 'tired' after a couple of years, but so not the case. The owners clearly keep up with their property, and surely the fact that they live in town makes all the difference!

Incredibly comfortable outdoor furniture with options of lounging in the sun or shade. The beds are delicious, and the proximity to the beach cannot be beat! So many great restaurants and bars within a stone's throw, and Monika (owner) is incredibly helpful with regards to information within the area. The pool is so cute, and we had to drag the kids out of it every night. Nice to be able to see the pool from the kitchen when you have little ones. Even better if you leave the little ones at home and come with friends!

If you want a villa in a fantastic town that gives you direct access to the beach, come to Villa Blanca. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBhr...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kick back and relax”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A couple of buddies and I went down to Costa Rica to do a 'little work'. Through word of mouth we were told to go to Samara and stay at La Villa Blanca. Our two days in Samara ended up being five and if it weren't for us having to return back home, we would have stayed much longer. To begin, getting to Samara was super easy from Liberia airport a quick two hours on paved roads....in North America we tend to take paved roads for granted....it was an easy ride. Once at La Villa Blanca it was a two minute walk to the sandy beach, and plenty of relaxed spots to enjoy a cold beer . La Villa Blanca itself was clean and beautiful. Full kitchen, outdoor seating area, pool and bbq....all in downtown Samara. The town of Samara itself was easy to navigate and very affordable. I kept saying to my friends that it felt like there were visitors there rather than tourists......you really felt like you a part of the fabric of this little town. Anyways, i can't thank Quinn enough for his hospitality down there. He is a great resource to have full of recommendations.....
Quinn, hope to see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing