We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dreaming of returning...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IMG 1638 Poolside Lounging
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
IMG 1638
Poolside Lounging
Outdoor shower
Terrace lounging
Dual hood BBQ
Terrace dining
Living room
Kitchen
Dining room
Master Bedroom
Spare bedroom
Upstairs bathroom
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
habibtij
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreaming of returning...”
Reviewed 29 March 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, 2 young children (4+1) and I came down for a week in January and I'm not sure I can express how taken we were with our surroundings.

The villa was beyond lovely. Upon arrival, our small kids were immediately in the pool which provides a a shallow shelf of about 5x8 for the kids to splash about safely. The outdoor area was beautiful. The foliage was gorgeous and the outdoor furniture comfortable. The walls around the property are high, providing great privacy and security.

We didn't last long at the villa the first day before taking a stroll to the beach. So often you can't buy the '5 minute walk to the beach' description. We were so pleasantly surprised that the walk truly was 3 minutes, and an easy stroll for our 1 year old son. The pair of sedate horses around the corner had my 4 year old squealing with delight.

The beds were of top quality and we had wonderful sleeps. We did use the a/c at night in our room, but the kids were fine without it. While it was on offer in the living room, we never used it as the breeze through the open doors + ample ceiling fans were sufficient.

Walks to the super were a pleasure, and cooking in the kitchen and eating on the patio was a joy. Rancho de la Playa directly across the street offered fantastic breakfasts for those early mornings with the kids. Don't miss out on picking up a burrito enroute home from the beach in the afternoon~ delicious!

Overall, we can't say enough. The owners were gracious hosts, and we look forward to visiting The Logan (sister property) in the future with friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalia D
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place for a family vacation”
Reviewed 19 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived in Liberia with our 3 boys (10, 8 and 5) and as we drove the 2 hours to Samara, we wondered if what we had signed up for - it was dry season, really hot and all the lush vegetation we were expecting was brown and seemingly dead...

When we suddenly came upon Samara, everything changed - the atmosphere was infectious, the shops were quaint, the restaurants and bars had exceptional food and the beach was the most incredible beach we've ever seen. And La Villa Blanca was absolutely perfect. It truly is a gem in this wonderful town - clean, modern and steps to the beach. The owners - Monika & Quinn - are friendly and responsive and truly pride themselves on making sure your stay is exceptional.

For our kids, we couldn't ask for a better villa and better town. The villa is enclosed so totally safe; the beach was big and wide and shallow for hundreds of feet so my five year old was able to jump in the waves without any concerns of strong currents - he even went surfing (care of C&C Surf School) and all three were boogie boarding easily every days for hours on end. No rocks, hard sand, safe tides - truly perfect. Kids also enjoyed zip-lining and nature hikes and restaurants were amazing with foods that catered to all our kids particular tastes - there was even a geniune Italian restaurant where the owners made their own pasta and pizza - so good!

I highly recommend La Villa Blanca and Samara to any families looking for not just a beach vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location close to beach and amenities
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renaissan...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Hanging out by the pool was completely awesome”
Reviewed 20 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this villa, it was beautiful and private in a low-key neighborhood. The gardens are lush, you wake up to the sounds of tropical birds, and we even saw Monkeys in the trees beside the villa one afternoon. We spent a lot of time unwinding by the pool in the covered lounge area - there's even outdoor ceiling fans which are perfect in the mid-day heat.

The beach is about a block and a half away, which is where the surf school and all the beach-side restaurants are. We cooked BBQ dinner a few times during our stay, and eating al fresco on the villas outdoor terrace was perfect. There are plenty of markets within a 3-10 minute walk, where you can get fresh fish and local produce to take home and grill. The restaurant across the street was super convenient to pop out to if we didn't feel like cooking.

The owners met us at the villa on arrival and gave us a tour, and were very helpful and responsive to our needs. We would definitely recommend the Villa Blanca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaymanJ
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, Property Maintenance Needs Improvement”
Reviewed 15 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Excellent location, beautiful place, but a proactive maintenance approach could make this place suburb. Upon our departure the dishwasher was not washing dishes well, no door bell (it is locked and gated place...my wife and kid's left there key and were left rattling the fence for 45 mins...we requested the door bell batteries to be replaced at the start of our trip...it was just taken down), the upper shower was slow to drain/backs up.

Property cleaning was originally scheduled for just 1 time during our 2 week stay...thankfully a 2nd visit was provided upon request. Our personal feeling is that a visit every 3 days would be great - ie. 2x per week.

Please note: There is no A/C in the 2nd bedroom. (main floor yes, Master bedroom yes)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The kitchen and outdoor dinning area.
Liked least: Property maintenance.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraFenwi...
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Private and comfortable but falls short of luxury.”
Reviewed 4 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

La Villa Blanca offers travelers modern private lodging, which is difficult to find in Samara, Costa Rica. The best this accommodation provides are the small private pool, comfortable outdoor living space, large working kitchen, filtered water/ice, on-site laundry and adequate bathrooms.

However, the overall condition of the property falls short of its advertised luxury status and is in need of owner attention (ceiling cob webs, dirty ceiling fan blades, walls/floors, outdoor walkways, and the front gate lock needs fixing). Additionally, guests should expect to communicate frequently with property owners about excessive interruptions in necessary utilities (power, water, internet and air conditioning).

Finally, positioned in the heart of Samara, across the street from a larger Hotel which boasts an active outdoor bar/restaurant (loud music), will disappoint travelers looking for tropical peace and quiet.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2011
Thank you for your feedback about La Villa Blanca.
We pride ourselves on being easily accessible to all of our guests, in fact we moved to Samara to be more available for our guests.
Had we been informed of the cobwebs and dust which can pop up overnight, we would have happily had the Villa cleaned free of charge.
Unfortunately, we were not informed of any issues other than an internet outage, which we had fixed within an hour of notification. The "excessive" interruptions in other essential services are out of our control, just as they would be anywhere else, as is the hotel across the street (which has a strict policy of shutting down their bar/restaurant at 11pm) and again we were not notified of any of this until after the guests left.
Based on our 13 previous 5 star reviews, we believe that the luxury La Villa Blanca provides is unique in Samara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing