We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe they were just having a bad night?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda Samara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Samara
Ranked #15 of 32 Playa Samara B&B and Inns
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maybe they were just having a bad night?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We dropped in to Locanda for dinner one evening (were staying elsewhere in Samara)- we were seated and had our drinks served, placed our order for two starters for the table and entrees. We had been in country for almost a week and were totally comfortable with the Costa Rican pace of service, but the fact that we didn't have contact with any server for over an hour from the time that we placed our food orders (not even offers for another cocktail or get refills on water) got pretty weird. They just kept seating people but no food seemed to come out of the kitchen and some people started to leave (we finally paid for our cocktails and left after a painful 1 1/2 hours into our visit - still with no starters, drink reorders or explanation for why there was no food.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieLynn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    31
    19
    8
    16
See reviews for
19
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel during our trip to Costa Rica. We wanted a place right on the beach, and were impressed by the inexpensive rates here.

The room was not air conditioned, but the heat was manageable with the fan in the room. The rooms were clean and quiet, but there were a few minor problems with the room. The hot water didn't work at all. Also, the sheets were very uncomfortable (felt more like a flag or tent than a sheet). The room was very dark, but it was clean.

We were a bit worried about the noise, as the place is located right between at least 2 bars, but had no problem sleeping.

Overall, for the cheap price, I would stay here again (for a short stay).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

beautiful, just on the beach. The new owner are very kind and Domenico is one of the best cook of Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crilino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were very happy with our stay here. Maurizio the Italian owner was very helpful, welcoming and always assured that all of our needs and questions were met. The rooms are newly remodeled and very very lovely and clean. We ate at the restaurant almost every day for lunch and dinner and the entire time we felt very welcomed. The location is fabulous as its steps from the beach and also from the town. Though it’s on the beach the rooms were reasonably priced and they even have hot water. We highly recommend this place to other travelers that are looking for reasonable hotel with private rooms, great staff, lovely restaurants and only steps from the beach. We will surely come back and will keep recommending to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirka5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Disregard the previous reviews of this place as it has been recently taken over by two Italians. Max speaks excellent English and is really helpful - he negotiated our taxi off to Mal Pais (well worth a visit if you get a chance).

The rooms are fairly basic and there isn't anywhere to hang clothes however they are clean and have been recently decorated. The location is amazing - right on the beach! There's a lively bar next door which serves good food although you may have to wait! Max was just starting his restaurant when we were there which has modern furniture looking onto the beach.

Worth going as Max is certainly quite a character.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
2.6 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rancho De La Playa
Rancho De La Playa
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#9 of 16 in Playa Samara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Samara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Samara

Property: Locanda Samara
Address: 300 mts oeste de el correo | on The Beach, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Samara
Price range (per night): $84 - $172
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Locanda is located in the heart of Samara, right on beautiful Samara Beach! 'Locanda' comes from the traditional Italian name for a Tavern, modest restaurant with annexed accommodation. In the past centuries, it had nobler significance corresponding to the modern hotel, and also indicated, in the eighteenth century, luxury hotel. Hotel Locanda proposes to you alternative solutions for your accommodation in relation to the various needs: 2 fully equipped apartments with a large terrace 2 two-bedroom apartment with patio 5 double rooms with patio or terrace 2 triple rooms with patio 2 luxury beachfront double rooms 6 luxury bungalows in a tropical garden All rooms and apartments have just been completely remodeled at the end of 2011. Bungalows are just recently built Private parking, 24/7 security, wi fi, cable tv, daily domestic cleaning, in-room dining, congierge services, pet friendly accommodation are available and free for our clients ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Samara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Playa Samara
Locanda Hotel Playa Samara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing