We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,321)
Filter reviews
2,321 results
Traveller rating
1,113
803
267
87
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,113
803
267
87
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar across the street all inclusive plan all inclusive package costa rica breakfast plan ping pong sunset lounge pool view arenas restaurant water aerobics pura vida night life lounge chairs small casino destination wedding large pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,284 - 1,289 of 2,321 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at this resort in May of 2011. Weather was beautiful considering it was rainy season. The resort is very nice for. 3 star. It is no luxury but very clean with great views. There is one restaurant only but it serves amazing food for all meals of the day. The pool is nice with a swim up bar and there is also another bar. Both serve excellent drinks. Rooms are average but are cleaned well daily and the mini fridge is always stocked. There is also a safe in the room. Staff at the resort are extra friendly and do everything they can to make your stay amazing. The only complaint we had was travellers paying local girls to come stay with them for a few days. We didnt enjoy seeing around the pool but as far as i know that has been changed and they are not allowed on resort grounds anymore. Overall excellent resort and worth going to. Costa Rica is amazing and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Your review from your stay at Flamingo Beach Resort in May 2011, posted recently, was very much appreciated, and I guess it's a testament to "better late than never!" We are constantly trying to improve and upgrade our facilities, but we hope that our helpful, friendly staff is always a constant. Also, you are correct in reporting that we do our very best to keep it a "family friendly" resort, and avoid the scenes that you unfortunately had to witness last year, when a fishing group got a little out of hand. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

It is on the beach but across a small thoroughfare. Is clean and offers amenities like a large pool ,restaurant, casino, spa, activities, and gym. I wouldnt go for the all-inclusive. It's $75 pp and for that price you can explore so many nearby restaurants on foot or they will come get you. Get a studio room with kitchenette. Just go to one of the mini super stores and grab your breakfast and a loaf of local bread, lunch meat, and fresh avocado for lunch. Save your money for a delectable dinner.
The Serenity spa was reasonable. My
Daughter and I did the volcanic wrap that included a full body massage for 80 minutes. Both of us was $80 pp. Very good deal for the amount of time.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shemolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We cater to a clientele with a variety of budgets, and we're glad that you found ways to accommodate yours and find good value at our beach resort. So glad you tried the Serenity Spa and found out how great their treatments are at such a reasonable price! I just cannot understand the travelers who go for the fly-by-night massages offered on the beach, with people who don't have facilities to wash their hands and don't change the sheets after each client....yuk! Meanwhile, the Serenity Spa therapists undergo constant training in a variety of techniques and therapies, and allb have health department licenses and work in a beautiful air-conditioned facility in our resort, with his & her Jacuzzi's and steam rooms...in my book, well worth paying a few extra bucks for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was a good way to finish a week that had been spent driving, checking out volcanoes and crazy ziplining.. The rooms in this hotel were a bit shabby in the details.. bathrooms needed painting/updating etc. but good for what it is. Comfortable enough although our A/C had a musty smell. Lots of kids in the pool but it was a good size, so room for everyone. The swim-up bar was awesome and the bartenders were very speedy. The hotel staff were extremely accomodating and the restaurant was also good but a bit pricey. If I was interested in a sun & beach only vacation, I would probably have picked something with a few more stars but this was fine for two days. **THE BEST THING** we discovered here is the beach massages! If you walk out onto Playa Flamingo right in front of the hotel you will find a group of ladies in full therapist uniform. The company is called ORFA. Fully licensed and very professional. An hour massage in a private area beach side listening to waves and sea - for $40. They do couples too. I'd have gone every day for a week if I could have!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 673tishac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at our resort. Just so you know, we are currently planning to completely renovate our guest bathrooms next year. We are a small family-owned operation, so each year we reinvest whatever we earn to continue to improve the hotel, but there are no deep pockets here, unfortunately! I definitely have my reservations about the beach massages, because in my opinion, the cleanliness factor is totally lacking and the therapists' training is completely unknown....but glad you enjoyed it, anyway. Wish you could have tried our beautiful spa; maybe next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in one of the family rooms without balcony. Being 5, we needed the extra space and were happy to see that this hotel could accommodate us without charging us a fortune. The breakfast was good to great, the tamales and fresh tropical fruit were the highlights! My only complaint was that the rooms could have been much cleaner and were showing signs of age. When we pointed out the areas that needed to be cleaned, they did try, but I think they just didn't have the standard that other hotels in Costa Rica had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay at the resort. You have our sincere apologies that the cleanliness was not up to your expectations, this is completely unacceptable and we vow to do better. We are in the process of many upgrades to the hotel; in fact we are currently planning a complete renovations of guest bathrooms for next year. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and felt that you received good value for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was our first hotel stay in Costa Rica. The pool, swim up bar, lobby and grounds are all nice. Breakfast was included and quite good. Restaurant also servers lunch and dinner equally well The rooms were functional and clean but nothing more. Walks along the beach are fantastic as are sunsets. All in all a nice easy entry into Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Margaritaville Beach Resort Playa Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort late last year. Thank you for your comments....For your information, we are currently upgrading some features of the guest rooms and are planning acomplete guest bathroom renovations for next year. Our interest is always in keeping our guests satisfied, comfortable and happy, so maybe you will consider coming back to see us in the future and see all we have done to upgrade our rooms. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews