We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida Playa Flamingo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We chose this hotel to spend a week at to celebrate our 1st anniversary at and we couldn’t have been happier. The resort is located 40 minutes from Liberia airport which is a brand new very nice terminal and the ride to the resort is very picturesque. We decided to take a private shuttle rather than the hotel shuttle bus which is cheaper. We used Flamingo Adventures (see separate review) for all our trips and shuttles although the hotel recommends to use their preferred vendor located in the hotel as some (but not all) vendors outside the hotel may be cheaper but may not be properly insured etc. etc., just make sure you check!
So first off I wanted to say that we LOVED this place and the main reasons are the gorgeous sunsets, amazing location but most of all the people! The staff here is amazing and all went out of their way to help us with anything at all, nothing was too much trouble. We want to put a special shout out to a few of the staff who went over and above for us as we genuinely felt they were awesome and deserve recognition for it. Oscar; the hospitality manager was amazingly friendly and had long conversations with us about Costa Rica giving advice, suggestions and just generally making our evenings enjoyable, a true gem. Sol; amazing lady that ran around the pool bar every day serving drinks left right and center. William; the guy we saw every morning at breakfast and kept us topped up with coffee and great bloody marys! Finally Elias the barman who makes amazing cocktails in the sunset lounge. Thank you to all the staff even though we may not have mentioned you by name you all made our stay special.
The entrance to the resort is stunning with a nicely designed and open lobby looking out past the pool area to the ocean. The check in process was seamless and we were in our room within 15 minutes of arriving. The room was a pool view and was spacious with two small double beds, 32” TV (with English TV channels), a shower bath combo, safe and plenty of storage. The room also had a mini bar with sodas, wines and beers which were not priced over the top. The room also had a balcony with views over the pool but also toward the ocean where we got a partial view of the amazing sunsets (obviously the two minute walk to the beach is better) the balcony also had a ceiling fan which was nice in the balmy nights to cool you down.
The hotel is built like a horseshoe around the pool which was nice, clean and with a swim up bar which offers a great selection of drinks and cocktails (try the green monster) as well as an extensive bar snacks menu during the day. We chose not to go with the all-inclusive package as we planned on spending quite a bit of time away from the hotel, the prices are reasonable though. The pool also has a kids/baby’s pool which is shaded which seemed like a great idea for young kids keeping out of the very hot sun. Next to the pool is the hotel’s restaurant where they serve a buffet breakfast, a bar menu for lunch and evening meals. Above the restaurant is the sunset bar which is open on three sides with great views of the sunset, the beach and the pool.
We ate at the hotel for breakfast and lunch but not for dinner as we enjoy eating out at different places on our vacations (check out my other reviews for these). The breakfast was included in our package and was a fairly extensive buffet affair with local, continental and American breakfast offerings. They will also make you pancakes, omelets etc. to order which they don’t tell you but are very nice. The lunch menu is the same as at the pool bar with lots of options. We never ate at the restaurant in the evening but heard some OK reviews on it; room service is served until 9pm.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel as we really enjoyed our time and Costa Rica is an amazing and friendly country!

Room Tip: Always ask for a pool or sea view with balcony, its a little noisier but the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJMoquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words about your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you were so happy with your vacation, and we feel very privileged that you chose our resort to celebrate such a special occasion--your first anniversary! May you have many happy more! Thanks also for the mentions of several of our staff members; they all work so hard to make our guests have a fantastic time. Not only the wonderful people you mentioned, who have a lot of customer contact, but also there are many other fine associates working behind the scenes to put it all together so that we can provide our guests with a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable stay. Please come back and visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,197 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at this resort in May of 2011. Weather was beautiful considering it was rainy season. The resort is very nice for. 3 star. It is no luxury but very clean with great views. There is one restaurant only but it serves amazing food for all meals of the day. The pool is nice with a swim up bar and there is also another bar. Both serve excellent drinks. Rooms are average but are cleaned well daily and the mini fridge is always stocked. There is also a safe in the room. Staff at the resort are extra friendly and do everything they can to make your stay amazing. The only complaint we had was travellers paying local girls to come stay with them for a few days. We didnt enjoy seeing around the pool but as far as i know that has been changed and they are not allowed on resort grounds anymore. Overall excellent resort and worth going to. Costa Rica is amazing and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Your review from your stay at Flamingo Beach Resort in May 2011, posted recently, was very much appreciated, and I guess it's a testament to "better late than never!" We are constantly trying to improve and upgrade our facilities, but we hope that our helpful, friendly staff is always a constant. Also, you are correct in reporting that we do our very best to keep it a "family friendly" resort, and avoid the scenes that you unfortunately had to witness last year, when a fishing group got a little out of hand. Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

It is on the beach but across a small thoroughfare. Is clean and offers amenities like a large pool ,restaurant, casino, spa, activities, and gym. I wouldnt go for the all-inclusive. It's $75 pp and for that price you can explore so many nearby restaurants on foot or they will come get you. Get a studio room with kitchenette. Just go to one of the mini super stores and grab your breakfast and a loaf of local bread, lunch meat, and fresh avocado for lunch. Save your money for a delectable dinner.
The Serenity spa was reasonable. My
Daughter and I did the volcanic wrap that included a full body massage for 80 minutes. Both of us was $80 pp. Very good deal for the amount of time.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shemolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We cater to a clientele with a variety of budgets, and we're glad that you found ways to accommodate yours and find good value at our beach resort. So glad you tried the Serenity Spa and found out how great their treatments are at such a reasonable price! I just cannot understand the travelers who go for the fly-by-night massages offered on the beach, with people who don't have facilities to wash their hands and don't change the sheets after each client....yuk! Meanwhile, the Serenity Spa therapists undergo constant training in a variety of techniques and therapies, and allb have health department licenses and work in a beautiful air-conditioned facility in our resort, with his & her Jacuzzi's and steam rooms...in my book, well worth paying a few extra bucks for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was a good way to finish a week that had been spent driving, checking out volcanoes and crazy ziplining.. The rooms in this hotel were a bit shabby in the details.. bathrooms needed painting/updating etc. but good for what it is. Comfortable enough although our A/C had a musty smell. Lots of kids in the pool but it was a good size, so room for everyone. The swim-up bar was awesome and the bartenders were very speedy. The hotel staff were extremely accomodating and the restaurant was also good but a bit pricey. If I was interested in a sun & beach only vacation, I would probably have picked something with a few more stars but this was fine for two days. **THE BEST THING** we discovered here is the beach massages! If you walk out onto Playa Flamingo right in front of the hotel you will find a group of ladies in full therapist uniform. The company is called ORFA. Fully licensed and very professional. An hour massage in a private area beach side listening to waves and sea - for $40. They do couples too. I'd have gone every day for a week if I could have!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 673tishac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience at our resort. Just so you know, we are currently planning to completely renovate our guest bathrooms next year. We are a small family-owned operation, so each year we reinvest whatever we earn to continue to improve the hotel, but there are no deep pockets here, unfortunately! I definitely have my reservations about the beach massages, because in my opinion, the cleanliness factor is totally lacking and the therapists' training is completely unknown....but glad you enjoyed it, anyway. Wish you could have tried our beautiful spa; maybe next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in one of the family rooms without balcony. Being 5, we needed the extra space and were happy to see that this hotel could accommodate us without charging us a fortune. The breakfast was good to great, the tamales and fresh tropical fruit were the highlights! My only complaint was that the rooms could have been much cleaner and were showing signs of age. When we pointed out the areas that needed to be cleaned, they did try, but I think they just didn't have the standard that other hotels in Costa Rica had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay at the resort. You have our sincere apologies that the cleanliness was not up to your expectations, this is completely unacceptable and we vow to do better. We are in the process of many upgrades to the hotel; in fact we are currently planning a complete renovations of guest bathrooms for next year. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and felt that you received good value for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
2.3 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
4.5 km away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
0.4 km away
Paradise Flamingo Beach
Paradise Flamingo Beach
#2 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,617 reviews
4.7 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
18 km away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo Santa Cruz | Guanacaste, Playa Flamingo 50308, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range: $162 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you've experienced a Pacific Ocean sunset from the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, you may never want to leave. Located in the vacation province of Guancaste, you’ll be perfectly-positioned to explore Costa Rica's natural beauty and limitless adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing