We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy Thankgiving”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool # 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool # 1
Villas Casa Loma - Entering paradise - Villa 1 Flamingo Beach from Villa  terrace ...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Pool # 1
Villas Casa Loma - Entering paradise - Villa 1
Flamingo Beach from Villa  terrace ...
View of Flamingo Beach from Villa terrace
Another view of pool # 1
Relaxing atmosphere...
Bon apetite...
One of the kitchens...
One of the bedrooms...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Outdoor terrace...
Another spacious bedroom ...
A second pool & gazebo ...
Gardens...
Villas Casa Loma - Lower entrance to Paradise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Explorati...
1 review
“Happy Thankgiving”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Spectacular, could not have asked for more. Tom was a great host & all the guys & gals working there were great. Ask you you had it. This is our place for Thanksgiving from now on, excellent.

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
We're so glad that you had a memorable visit! We take pride in our ability to offer a comfortable environment in which to relax and enjoy nature....
Your Thanksgiving stay this year was all too brief. Shortly after your departure, we experienced whales and dolphins in the bay... Very exciting! The howler monkeys remain a staple of our natural zoo.
Several new restaurants have opened in the area, too.( Our area is fast becoming known as a "foodie destination".)
Come on back for the special experiences. We'd love to see you all again here in our little corner of Paradise.
PURA VIDA! Tom, Igor and the Villas Casa Loma staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton B
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is what life should be all about ...”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is what life should be all about ...

Getting a family of 5 teens plus parents to agree on anything is just about impossible! However, we all came to the same conclusion after spending our vacation at Villas Casa Loma. The solution to our vacation dilemma was
to rent a 3 bedroom, 3 1/2 bath villa in Flamingo Beach overlooking the marina area. The villa was just about perfectly suited for our needs. The massive upper level - with huge kitchen, living/dining room, master bedroom and very spacious covered L-shaped and open terraces opening off of the bedroom and living room were just the ticket for family meals and get-togethers. The well appointed terrace became our preferred 'family room' overlooking the marina area! Downstairs, there were two separate bedrooms with walk-in closets, private bathrooms and lovely views of the gardens, ocean and swimming pool. One of the bedrooms also had a well-equipped kitchen with pass-through to a poolside breakfast bar - very convenient.
Proximity to Flamingo, Brasilito, Tamarindo, Surfside, etc. is a big plus. There are such a wide variety of restaurants featuring foods from just about everywhere in the world, making the location perfect for a hungry family of 7. A supermarket is just around the corner. As well, there are quite a few medical clinics, pharmacies and dental clinics in the area. Our needs were well served.
Close to the Villas are a variety of fishing charters, surfing shops, dive shops, three world class golf courses, tennis courts and excellent tour companies.Never a dull moment for us! Thanks to our hosts Tom and Igor for the many excellent suggestions and for providing us with a perfect set-up for a memorable vacation.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Hola Ana Maria ~
Well! You sure covered a lot of territory in a relatively short period of time... Congratulations!! All the activities you managed to accomplish in Costa Rica, plus a few days spent visiting Granada and Managua, Nicaragua. (A major planning coup for you with so many varied family interests to deal with! )
From offshore fishing to surfing lessons and sunset cruises, you managed to cover a lot of territory. Next time, bring your tennis equipment along with golf clubs and your obviously keen senses of adventure. As you have discovered, there is a myriad of things to see and do here - just moments away from our secure property!
Wonderful and varied food. Great facilities and services, too! Endless, fun, activities for all ages!
Next time you must plan a day trip to the Nicoya region and beaches. It is a real eye-opener! (Educational - and stunningly beautiful, too!) We'll be happy to help you plan this - and other - fascinating tours.
We are looking forward to hosting you all again soon here in our little corner of Paradise!
PURA VIDA!!
Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmachfx
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Little R & R”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My wife and I spent the months of February and March 2017, at Villas Casa Loma, and loved the place.
This was our third trip to this part of Costa Rica, but the first time we had stayed at this location. The owners, Igor and Tom, have created their own little paradise, in an area where the sun sun shines everyday during the first months of the year, and the temperatures are certainly nice and warm.
The location of the property offers stunning views of the sunsets over the water of Flamingo Bay, and the owners have planted much vegetation around the property, giving it a lush feel, even in the dry season, and a haven for many birds. The two pools are perfect to lounge around, or take a nice dip after a day at the beach.
Our unit had lots of space with wonderful views, a comfortable bed, large bathroom, and a kitchen that was equipped with everything you needed to prepare meals. The furniture, both inside and out, was perfect for this part of the world, and the large art works added a splash of color to the interior.
The owners were helpful when we needed information, and assisted us in locating both a dentist and medical assistance during our stay. When we needed the medical assistance, we didn't have a car, so Igor ran us over to the Pharmacy in his truck, which was greatly appreciated.
The housekeeping and grounds staff did a great job keeping the place neat and tidy.
We only had a car for part of our stay, but as we like to walk, didn't find it a problem getting to the beaches, bank, grocery store or restaurants in the area. You can also use the local bus service, or local taxis if you want to go farther afield.
Overall, we were very happy we chose Villas Casa Loma, and would certainly recommend it

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Wow! Thanks, Inez and Bill for your kind words and observations! You are both obviously observant and seasoned Costa Rica travelers. It was a great joy to share our little corner of Paradise with you and we look forward to seeing you again here in the future!
As you discovered, each of the area beaches here offers unique and special "character" - from Las Catalinas to Flamingo, Conchal, Tamarindo, Playa Grande and on down to Playa Negra and Aviannas Beach. For the more enterprising, a super visit is to go to "the Blue Zone" where people live the longest and have the happiest lives. It is just a short distance from the communities of Nosara and Nicoya and is truly a gorgeous and fascinating area to visit...Just minutes from us!

Our property here is designed for peaceful pursuit:. A day at the beach justifies a refreshing dip in one of our 2 large swimming pools. A great place to lay back and read a good book or just doze in the shade of a welcoming palm tree. Wander through meandering trails and steps leading through our tropical gardens and spread throughout our gently rolling property.
Dine very well in a wide variety of interesting, special restaurants.
Watch the Pacific ocean, occasional whales, sailboats, and fishermen while relaxing on your own private, covered terrace.
Fish from shore or hire a boat and crew for some exciting activities! Horseback trail rides, waterfall excursions, zip lining, white water rafting, birding and so much more!
Do it all, or do nothing at all! The choice is always yours here in our little corner fo Paradise.
Come back for the adventure. Come back for the peace. We look forward to seeing you again here soon in our little corner of Paradise!
PURA VIDA ! Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond F
1 review
“Beautiful Ocean Views and Sunset!”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017

For our tenth visit to Costa Rica (CR), my wife and I decided to try the Flamingo Beech area again because of its access to a wide variety of beautiful beaches, recreation activities and proximity to the Liberia Airport where we could easily pick up and deliver family members who visited us during our planned one month stay.

For this visit we were looking for a house to rent again and discovered Villas Casa Loma on-line while researching our travel plans. We decided to stay there and rented a Villa suite. It offered comfortable accommodation and 180 degree views of the mountains and ocean coast where dramatic sunsets are guaranteed every evening.

The property is well situated on a hillside and maintained by a courteous staff. The pool areas are perfect for just relaxing and enjoying the sunshine. Owners Igor and Tom are always responsive to answer any accommodation questions you may have or guide you through any recreation, restaurant or adventure planning you have in mind.

House/Villa renting in CR may not be for everyone as it often assumes you have access to transportation, are familiar with the region you choose to live and for the most part, prepared move in and take care of yourself. We chose Flamingo because we stayed in hotels and also rented there before. We also decided to rent a car for our stay so we could easily explore the sights whenever we wanted. Alternatively there’s a local taxi service that can also deliver you whenever needed.

The kitchen in our suite was fully equipped with everything needed to prepare meals. Grocery shopping is available at a variety of stores ranging from the small local ones that are a five minute drive away to the larger main grocery stores approximately a twenty minute drive away. Air conditioning is available at an extra cost, buy we never needed it due to the cool hillside breezes every evening.

Staying in homes/villas vs. hotels in a tropical country like Costa Rica means you are likely to be exposed to various ants and spiders so it’s advisable to have the appropriate spray handy to defend against them. However, other local wild life such as geckos, iguanas and Howler Monkeys were always fascinating to see when they arrived for a visit.

We have some great memories of our 2017 Costa Rica vacation and would recommend the Villas Casa Loma to anyone planning either a short or long term rental stay.

Ray & Mary Lou Fisher
Ottawa, Canada

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2017
Hola Ray and Mary Lou~ We're so glad that you had a wonderful stay here at Villas Casa Loma. Thank you for your visit. We certainly enjoyed your company and are missing your presence!
As you noted, the cool evening breezes here are a real plus! Our hillside oasis overlooking the Pacific is tranquil and secure, yet close to all the important amenities of the area.... Having a car at your disposal was certainly an advantage so that you could more fully enjoy the wide variety of restaurants, interesting places to visit and choices of activities - both land and water - that the area offers.
We apologize for the intrusion of jungle critters such as ants and the occasional spider. We try to keep them under control using non-toxic sprays, etc., recognizing that we have an obligation to nature - as well as to our guests. For this reason, we have sprays available in all of our accommodations but sometimes must resort to mildly toxic spraying when conditions demand it.The upside is that we are respecting nature in all of her majesties.
Thank you for sharing your experiences here in out adopted, gentle tropical corner of Paradise. We look forward to your returning again soon. PURA VIDA!! Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steph s
Rifle, Colorado
1 review
“Breath taking”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Villa was beautiful and immaculately maintained! Our view was breathtaking. The pool and the grounds were even more beautiful than the pictures showed. Tom and Igor were extremely helpful and full of information. They even purchased drink and snack items for us to have on hand because we were arriving after the stores were closed.
We brought 5 of our teen aged children with us. They loved the beaches; great surfing and body boarding.We also enjoyed a sunset horse ride on the beach with George! There were so many fun things to do in the area. There is an amazing bakery just down the road within walking distance. There are monkeys all over the trees around the bakery. All of the local establishments take american dollars, so no need to exchange money at the airport. The area felt very safe and we did not feel concerned for our safety. On another note if you plan on renting a vehicle make sure you know the exact taxes and fees that Costa Rica charges. Our rental vehicle cost three hundred more dollars than our reserved rate.

Overall our experience was amazing and we plan on coming back again to stay in the warm hospitality of Villa Casa Loma!!
Thank you again Tom and Igor! We look forward to seeing you again!
Stephanie

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire Villa itself!
Liked least: The cost of the rental car
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Hola Stephanie & Paul ~
We thoroughly enjoyed your visit here to our little corner of Paradise, Stephanie ! It was really amazing to us that you managed to meet the various vacation requirements of 5 teenagers plus the husband with such seeming ease. It was a great pleasure to see you all having such a good time and we are really happy that we could act as a kind of catalyst for you ! ...Delighted that you were able to make use of the various activities - both land and sea - that are available in our area. Certainly beach activities, fishing, horseback treks, zip lining and exploring - not to mention running up and down the stairs leading to the top of our hill - are only a few of the possibilities for visitors here in this warm and gentle land... As you discovered, sometimes just laying back on a chaise by one of the pools or curling up with a good book in the shade of a pergola or palm, watching for whales and listening to the howler monkeys and the birds is a great way to unwind. ... Of course, safety and security of our guests are always foremost in our minds. We appreciate your comment about the area feeling secure.... We are looking forward to being able to host you again in the future and send warmest regards to you all. PURA VIDA. Tom and Igor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing