We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, secure property in Costa Rica.”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens The Gardens are Magical at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
164 reviews
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens
The Gardens are Magical at Night
Elevated walkway through the Gardens
Sunset and The Gardens Light up. Magical
Living and Dinning room Table for 6 Overlooking the Gardens
Living Room with AC, TV, Walk out to Gardens
Living Room
Living Room Open to the Gardens
Living Room Open to Front Terrace
Kitchen with Walkout to Dining and Seating Area
Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops and Laundry Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Granite Counter Top
Breakfast Counter
Spiral Staircase to 2nd Floor
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom AC, TV Walkout To Day Bed & Seating Area
Deck off Master Overlooking the Gardens
Master Bedroom with Vaulted Ceiling AC, TV and Walkout
Ensuite Bath with Rain Shower
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV and Walkout
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV, Walkout to Deck with Day Bed
2nd Bedroom Deck With Day Bed
Private Side Yard
Private Side Yard with Dining, Seating, BBQ
Stef Surf one of two Pool Decks
Spa, Pool, Sun Deck
Sunset and the Gardens lighting up
Fishing on the Beach
Playa Flamingo
Playa Flamingo
Playa Danta
Our Neighbors
Our Neighbors
One Of The Many Beautiful Flowers found on the Property
Guest Photo: We Love, One Minute Walk to our Beautiful Beach
Sunset Just out Side our Door.
Rum in Coconuts Picked from the Gardens at the Stef Surf Pool
Stef Surf Guests walking the Hanging Bridges at the Congo Trail Canopy Tour
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf
Stef Surf Guest Success First Try Surf Lessons
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf and Celebrating Success
Stef Surf Guests at Mardi Gras
Stef Surf Guests on a Sunset Cruise
Stef Surf Guest Just Having Too Much Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 164 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kyle C
Cambridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secure property in Costa Rica.”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Family of 4 (2 teenagers) had a great week at Stef Surf. The owners Greg and Gladys had us well prepared for our visit with a very detailed welcome package that included tips for everything from arranging shuttles to and from the airport (we used Ecotrans) to grocery, activity, and restaurant recommendations. The location was great - less than 5 minute walk to the beautiful and very quiet beach "Playa Potrero". There was a small grocery store with the essentials "Super Wendy" within a 5 minute walk (milk, juice, bread, eggs, alcohol, snacks, coffee, even fresh tamales one day). Many restaurants in walking distance. We enjoyed Smokin' Pig, Perlas, The Shack, The Sailing Centre, Plaemar, Sol Y Mar (our favourite), El Estero Azul, Soda Marcell, a'lo Nico, Soda Brasilito, Coco Loco. We rented a golf cart for the week which allowed us to see even more of the area including Brasilito, Flamingo, and Conchal. The property itself is absolutely beautiful and well-maintained by the very friendly Francisco and his wife Marling. They made us feel very welcome and safe during our stay. The property is like a jungle with lots of much-needed shade and a beautiful pool for cooling off in the afternoon. The master bedroom is huge with wonderful floor-to-ceiling sliding doors which we would open up each morning at dawn to hear the sounds of the ocean and the birds. The house has multiple air-conditioning units and fans to keep things comfortable. The kitchen is large and had great drinking water from the fridge. We cooked some breakfasts in the house and had everything we needed utensil-wise in the kitchen. Wi-fi was great throughout the property. Lis the concierge came to see us and gave us some great tips about the area and was available to us if we needed any help or wanted to book any excursions. Thanks to everyone at Stef Surf for a great week in the sun!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyla M
1 review
“Hate to leave, I only have two days left.”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I really do not want to share, for fear you will not have room for the next vist. What a wonderful property you have. Thank you for the most wonderful holiday.

As you know I am not a great traveler but the time I have spent at your home and on your property has changed my mind.

I loved everything from the lovely grounds to my perfect accommodations. Everything was at my fingertips. Francisco and Marling, your care takers were amazing they made every day special.
When I needed to reach back home you even provide a free phone.

Your welcome package that arrived prior to my arrival was complete, I was never lost for a restaurant, grocery store or pharmacy or beach to visit.

Lis the property concierge was perfect arranging car rentals at rates I could not find my self and her suggestions for activities and local knowledge was invaluable.

I loved the pasta at the monkey bar, the margarita at las Brisas, the sunset and appetizers at the sailing centre, the dinners and entertainment at Perlas.

Thank you. Lyla ( Toronto )

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afischer2...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful property, very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Location is perfect, quick walk to the beach and local restaurants, and short drive to other beaches and activities. The groundskeepers and concierge were incredibly nice and helpful and the property is absolutely beautiful. Inside of the units is very nice, all appliances work great. Would recommend to anybody staying in the area.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richkniss
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations in Playa Protrero!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four of our nine nights in Costa Rica at Stef Surf. They were among the most enjoyable. We stayed in the La Gaviota unit. The layout of the four units was great for our extended family. Having a pool was nice to have a break from all of the wonderful beaches in the vicinity. The kitchen had everything you would need, including spices (which our rental in Arenal did not have). This place was very well landscaped and felt as if you were in your own oasis. The balconies are very nice to sit on and enjoy an evening.

Compared to our stay in Arenal, Playa Protrero has many restaurants to choose from and more beaches than you can count in a 5 to 20 minute drive. you spend more time enjoying your vacation rather than time in the car. Be sure to check out Hibiscus, El Castillo and the Surf Box restaurants.

If you are planning to go to this area, it is much more peaceful than the other adjacent areas such as Las Brisas or Tamarindo The other benefit is you really get a chance to know the local people and culture, which was actually one of the best memories on our trip. Be sure to listen to Liz, the concierge. She arranged a chef to come cook for us one night with a true Costa Rican spread. We also did a half day catamaran sail that she told us about.

I want to mention how helpful Francisco was. From the moment we arrived he took care of us (helping us with our bags), taking care of the grounds, etc. to the day of departure. An example of this is on the day left. I wanted to get the sand our of our rental car and asked for a wisk broom. He ended up vacuuming our car completely. Knowing some Spanish helps with communication, but he does know some English.

I'd highly recommend this place. It was a great value for the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the units and outdoor pool.
Liked least: Some other units in our group experienced an AC issue and leaky washer and dryer. If the hot tub was actually hot, rather than the same temperature as the pool, it woudl be better.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecv60
Dowell, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet,Relaxing”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great place for a family vacation! Lots of beaches and parks nearby to visit and explore. Francisco and the rest of the staff at Stef Surf were extremely helpful. We had a wonderful week there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing