We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we wanted, exactly what we expected...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens The Gardens are Magical at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
164 reviews
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens
The Gardens are Magical at Night
Elevated walkway through the Gardens
Sunset and The Gardens Light up. Magical
Living and Dinning room Table for 6 Overlooking the Gardens
Living Room with AC, TV, Walk out to Gardens
Living Room
Living Room Open to the Gardens
Living Room Open to Front Terrace
Kitchen with Walkout to Dining and Seating Area
Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops and Laundry Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Granite Counter Top
Breakfast Counter
Spiral Staircase to 2nd Floor
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom AC, TV Walkout To Day Bed & Seating Area
Deck off Master Overlooking the Gardens
Master Bedroom with Vaulted Ceiling AC, TV and Walkout
Ensuite Bath with Rain Shower
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV and Walkout
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV, Walkout to Deck with Day Bed
2nd Bedroom Deck With Day Bed
Private Side Yard
Private Side Yard with Dining, Seating, BBQ
Stef Surf one of two Pool Decks
Spa, Pool, Sun Deck
Sunset and the Gardens lighting up
Fishing on the Beach
Playa Flamingo
Playa Flamingo
Playa Danta
Our Neighbors
Our Neighbors
One Of The Many Beautiful Flowers found on the Property
Guest Photo: We Love, One Minute Walk to our Beautiful Beach
Sunset Just out Side our Door.
Rum in Coconuts Picked from the Gardens at the Stef Surf Pool
Stef Surf Guests walking the Hanging Bridges at the Congo Trail Canopy Tour
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf
Stef Surf Guest Success First Try Surf Lessons
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf and Celebrating Success
Stef Surf Guests at Mardi Gras
Stef Surf Guests on a Sunset Cruise
Stef Surf Guest Just Having Too Much Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 164 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
loveBandB...
South Mountain Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted, exactly what we expected and exactly what we like!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It is always difficult to recommend a property because everyone's tastes are so different. If you looking for a resort style location, this may not be it...however, if you are looking for 5 star accommodations, peace and quiet and great local flavor, this might be exactly it!

The grounds of this rental are absolutely stunning, lush, the pool and hot tub exactly as shown, with your balconies overlooking the pool area. Really perfect.
The condos/villas (not sure how to classify them) are extremely well kept and have everything you could ask for. Lots of privacy if you want it. Chance to visit at the pool if you want to too.
Much thanks to Marling and Francisco for their attentiveness and kindness.
Thanks also to Gladys and Greg for all of the information about where to go and where to eat...they're recommendations are bang on. They are a wealth of information...
We tend to avoid crowds while on vacation but do enjoy eating suppers out and exploring the neighborhood. We were at Stef Surf for almost two weeks and enjoyed eating out at different local restaurants every night except one, when we ate in and barbecued shrimp. Every meal was good, some excellent, and all reasonably priced. We spent far less than budgeted and didn't scrimp on wine and drinks...and never for a minute missed having a car.
We bought breakfast supplies and snacks at the local "Supers'..including eggs, fresh bread, cheeses, fruits and vegetables. (avocados, bananas... There is a great local fruit and vegetable stand just outside of town.) We were able to walk to several beaches where we were staying, if you wanted to drive, the options would be unlimited.
Margaritas and fish at La Brisas, burgers at Maxwell's, (custom made just for us...absolutely lovely....) chimmichangas at the Shack, Sunsets at the Beach house. We walked for hours everyday...
Came back feeling refreshed and relaxed.
A great place, great people, perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and walkability factor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tdmroz
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great vacation”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in El Delfin at Stef Surf with our two kids (11 & 14) along with friends (who stayed in a separate unit at the same complex). Stef Surf is wonderful! The units are more than what you need for a comfortable stay, the pool and surrounding lanscaping is beautiful, the location is ideal (with many beaches and restaurants nearby) and Greg & Gladys are great hosts. We felt like we had personal vacation consultants onsite to provide recommendations as to where to go, what to see, where to eat, etc. We couldn't have asked for a better trip! On top of that, the staff at Stef Surf are super nice people. Francisco and Marling were an added bonus that we had not expected. We highly recommend staying there and hope to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNR001
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to come back”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I weren't planning on going on vacation this winter but the cold weather finally got to us and we started shopping around.
A friend of mine recommended Stef Surf and once we saw the pictures we wanted in.
The condo's are fantastic and each have their own theme. We stayed in El Pelicano which like the others has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with full kitchen. Each bedroom has their own balcony which we used every morning for coffee and breakfast. Leave the screen doors open in the bedrooms at night and get a great cross breeze - no need for AC while sleeping and you get to hear the ocean all night.
As great as the condo and balconies were we found ourselves sitting pool side enjoying a swim, Gin and Tonic and some great conversation with Greg and Gladys.
The pool and surrounding gardens are beautiful. The gardens are so lush and something is always in bloom. The gardens also lend themselves to providing privacy between units and the pool. If Greg or Gladys are there ask for a tour of the different plants.
Once we were booked in at the Stef Surf we started looking into a car rental and were pleasantly surprised to find that the roads are in great shape between Liberia and Surf Side (community where Stef Surf is located). The roads are all newly paved with the exception of the short laneway to the condo which is a gravel road and in good shape. We were happy to have a small sedan to travel around with the only hiccup being when the cattlemen ran their cows across the road.
The condo itself is only a block away from the sandy beach with great swimming. Its also central to lots of great places to eat and site see.
Take a drive to Hotel Sugar Beach to access their shore line but to also enjoy a meal and a few pina coladas or walk up the beach from Stef Surf to Las Brisas for their ceviche. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals at Perlas Bar which you can walk to or drive to from the condo. If visiting try the Tuna Poke and blackened tuna.
Please visit Playa Flamingo and stop in at Coco Loco Restaurant just before sunset. Its amazing to watch the sun disappear behind the ocean.
If you want to cook your meals there is a great fruit and veggie stand about 8 minutes from the condo by drive with a huge selection. The limes were huge and had so much juice but the pine apple was the best. There are a few grocery stores nearby which have all the essentials so you definitely won't starve. We also tried some mahi mahi on the units BBQ. Frank delivered right to our door.
Last couple items - the Wi-Fi was great. We never had any problems with it and could even get it poolside. Greg and Gladys provided a welcome package prior to us arriving which gave us lots of recommendations. We used it for the whole week.
My husband is an avid birder and managed to keep himself busy walking around the neighborhood. He saw around 80 species within a kilometer of the condo. Highlights included, Collared Aracari, Long-tailed Mannikin, Black-headed Trogons, Spectacled Owl, Ferruginous Pygmy Owl, 5 species of Hummingbirds, 3 types of parrots and 100s of Scissor-tailed Flycatchers. The mangroves down the beach proved productive for Herons and Kingfishers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shh123456
1 review
“This was one of the most effortless vacations!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stef Surf's location could not be more fitting for those looking for a community atmosphere and a low-key vacation. Greg and Gladys went beyond our expectations in helping set up tours and finding restaurants. While we stayed pretty busy and on the go, Stef Surf also offers a secret oasis for those wishing to just relax and enjoy the Costa Rican sun. Lovely place!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
170bernie
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
“Pura Vida”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We loved this property! The location was excellent near a nice beach, lots of good restaurants and a grocery store within walking distance. The condo was beautiful, spacious, airy and well maintained. Absolutely loved the gorgeous landscaped gardens, pool and ambience of this tropical paradise. Greg and Gladys who manage the condo rentals were so helpful and friendly. Francisco and Marling who maintain the properties also made us feel very welcome and did a superb job keeping everything in tip top form.They arranged for fresh fish to be delivered to our condo which was delicious ( each condo has a private garden with a grill and dining area). We rented a car for 4 days and visited some great beaches. Went on the Congo trail zip lining tour which Greg and Gladys booked for us - it was awesome zip lining near wild monkeys hanging from the trees! Overall a great vacation and the condo was perfecto!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condo itself was beautiful especially the gardens and the fabulous pool
Liked least: Many of the roads are not paved and driving can be a bit hairy but at least we could walk to local beaches, restaurants and the local grocery store so not a huge issue
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing