We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Place in Paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens The Gardens are Magical at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
164 reviews
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens
The Gardens are Magical at Night
Elevated walkway through the Gardens
Sunset and The Gardens Light up. Magical
Living and Dinning room Table for 6 Overlooking the Gardens
Living Room with AC, TV, Walk out to Gardens
Living Room
Living Room Open to the Gardens
Living Room Open to Front Terrace
Kitchen with Walkout to Dining and Seating Area
Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops and Laundry Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Granite Counter Top
Breakfast Counter
Spiral Staircase to 2nd Floor
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom AC, TV Walkout To Day Bed & Seating Area
Deck off Master Overlooking the Gardens
Master Bedroom with Vaulted Ceiling AC, TV and Walkout
Ensuite Bath with Rain Shower
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV and Walkout
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV, Walkout to Deck with Day Bed
2nd Bedroom Deck With Day Bed
Private Side Yard
Private Side Yard with Dining, Seating, BBQ
Stef Surf one of two Pool Decks
Spa, Pool, Sun Deck
Sunset and the Gardens lighting up
Fishing on the Beach
Playa Flamingo
Playa Flamingo
Playa Danta
Our Neighbors
Our Neighbors
One Of The Many Beautiful Flowers found on the Property
Guest Photo: We Love, One Minute Walk to our Beautiful Beach
Sunset Just out Side our Door.
Rum in Coconuts Picked from the Gardens at the Stef Surf Pool
Stef Surf Guests walking the Hanging Bridges at the Congo Trail Canopy Tour
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf
Stef Surf Guest Success First Try Surf Lessons
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf and Celebrating Success
Stef Surf Guests at Mardi Gras
Stef Surf Guests on a Sunset Cruise
Stef Surf Guest Just Having Too Much Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 164 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lynne_Bal...
Katikati, New Zealand
1 review
“A Place in Paradise”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

After a long summer season in the Canadian North, my husband Alan and I decided to take advice from good friends in the Yukon and escape the winter by heading to Costa Rica. We found Stef Surf online and immediately set up a conversation with Greg Myers. Greg was very easy to communicate with and was gracious when we explained that plans for an idyllic holiday for two had turned into a full blown family holiday with three generations from three different countries. Dates were happily changed and Greg ensured that we would have everything that a family of five would require.
Entering Stef Surf is like entering a secluded tropical paradise. Francisco the grounds man, met us at the gate and helped us carry our bags into an exotic garden bordering a secluded swimming pool; the centre piece of this beautifully architected haven. Stef Surf is so well designed that each of the four apartments are uniquely different and secluded. Once we had entered into our own gated courtyard surrounded by palm trees the outside world disappeared, although we were only two minutes’ walk away from Portrero Beach and another five to a well-stocked store
Our apartment was beautifully designed with outlooks to the pool, a well equipped kitchen, large living room, two spacious bedrooms and a covered deck which the granddaughter delighted in sleeping on.
Prior to our arrival Greg had sent us an extensive documentation listing all the highlights of the area, the beaches, the best restaurants and the experiences that shouldn’t be missed. This certainly enriched our holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stef Surf is unique in design and beautifully maintained. The atmosphere was very friendly but allowed privacy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
“All smiles at Stef Surf”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

From the moment of our arrival, it became quickly evident that our stay would be fantastic. Stef Surf has immaculately maintained grounds and lodgings which leaves one wanting for nothing but another cold beverage by the pool. All basic amenities are close and there are a number of restaurants that serve delicious food and have nightly attractions such as Karaoke and Open Mic. What a brilliant way to escape!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc T
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great place to stay - We had a wonderful time”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stef Surf is a wonderful place to stay in Costa Rica. This is the 4th time we have been back. We love the accommodations. It is so close to the ocean and lot of great places to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RitkaJuli...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Architectural Paradise Amid Rain Forest In Backyard”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

When we arrived, we realized the photos did not do this property justice.
Wow.
The villa is an incredible architectural vision with all comforts one could ask. Hugely tall ceilings, wall wide windows, super stylish furniture.
ALL amenities one could ask for.
We often opted to grill and stay inside because the property was such a pleasure to hang out at.
Private hammocks, private lounge chairs and deck area.
Lush greenery everywhere even when the rest of the area is in the middle of the dry season.

And the caretakers on the property could not have been more wonderful.
Francisco and Marlyne are incredibly hardworking and accommodating people, going out of their way to ensure that they can help and answer any questions.

We went with a 10 months old and could not have asked for a better stay.

Also the tap water on the property was so clean I gave it to the baby and my stomach is very sensitive.
Within 10 min drive, you can get all the incredible fresh fruit, fresh fish and whatever else you man need.
The supermarkets have everything.
Plenty of restaurants to choose from though not much local fare and the prices definitely cater to the Canadians who mostly live in the area.

I was also so happy to have come to Potrero and not Flamingo Beach, which is overly developed my resort type of construction that is kitschy and caters to 65+ American traveler.
Potrero is a bit sleepy but super close to many other towns.
It was perfect for us since we had a small baby but we still drove everywhere.

All the nightmare I had with roads and driving on my prior trips to Costa Rica No longer applies to Potrero. Everything is beautifully and newly paved and super easy to get everywhere.

Not much hiking though in the 2 hour vicinity though at least at the end of February it would have been too hot to hike regardless.

The beach 5 minute from the Villa is super and perfect for swimming unlike many other surfer-type beaches.

We just absolutely loved it and hope to be back.

This property is definitely a dream vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous architecture of the house
Liked least: The village where the property is does not have much for local restaurant and presence
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing