We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a beautiful place made even more perfect by the exceptional service. The entire family welcomed us. We felt like we were visiting friends.

Our treehouse was perfect. Oscar, Omar and Alejandro made us feel most welcome. The food is excellent. The accommodations perfect. The tours fascinating.

Perfect.

Room Tip: We loved our treehouse. Watch your head as you climb the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

A mixed experience at Heliconas. Firstly, the service was easily a 5. Reception booked trips for us, gave advice on puncture repairs, booked us a brilliant bird guide, did complementary laundry and much more. The atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly and I couldn't fault it. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, the juice was from a carton but otherwise it was excellent.
However, we stayed in a tree house which was set to be the highlight of our trip. The room was spacious, the bed was really comfy and it had everything we needed which was fab, but....It was overlooking the car park and restaurant which wasn't at all what I had in mind, I wanted to be surrounded by trees in a secluded spot, not listening to slightly drunk people laughing. Some of the deluxe bungalows are in a more peaceful area and my advice would be to stay in them.
Location wise, I'd say you need a car, it's a 20 minute drive from Arenal which we did every day and most evenings with no problems. Nearby I'd highly recommend Finca Luna Nueva for their chocolate tour and restaurant.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I can't say enough wonderful things about this Lodge. Family owned and well maintained. The owners are incredibly wonderful and fun. We really felt like part of the family. I highly recommend to families, couples, etc. My kids used the pool, the soccer field and the trampoline. Our room was great, with amazing views of the jungle and a front porch with rocking chairs. Oscar, Omar, Alejandro and Alex were very welcoming and wonderful people. I highly recommend this lodge and I would stay again. The homemade rum was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadmc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Words can't describe how lovely this place is. My flight into Costa Rica arrived late in the evening, and the Manager, Oscar, picked me up two hours away in San Jose. He was super friendly, as with all the staff, most notably, Alejandro! We stayed in the Sloth bungalow which had amazing jungle views. Had a wonderful terrace with two hammocks for relaxing. We went on a day tour which I highly recommend. It included; hiking through the jungle with hanging bridges, a volcano hike, Hike to Aranel Waterfall, and the Baldi Hot Springs. Our tour guide, Ischmael was so great. Super friendly and knowledgeable. I had mentioned that I loved sloths so he took us to a restaurant/market where he knew the owner. The owner had rescued a 6 month old sloth. We were able to hold her and feed her milk from the bottle! Definitely a highlight of the trip! The grounds were beautiful. It was peaceful with sounds of nature all around. The rooms were really nice as well. I would recommend this place to anyone going to Aranel/La Fortuna! It was a great trip!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I stayed here as part of a family vacation in Costa Rica in August, what a lovely, relaxing, refreshing and unique place. But first lets start off with what this place is not - because i think that is important and it will make sure that the right people go here. So this place is not The Springs Resort and Spa in La Fortuna which is home to The Bachalorette or some other reality tv show, this place is equally not The Tabacon in Fortuna which is a lovely place and would be a great honeymoon destination. This place is a unique and very private little resort which has been almost entirely built by Oscar and his father - who is a carpenter. THere are a series of lovely little cabinas on the property - some are called 'Glass houses' and have windows on all sides, some are delux cabins (we had one of these) and some are tree houses. I think the Delux cabins are great as they are nestled right next to the jungle with a balcony that you can sit on and watch the bird life (which is amazing), the squirrels and the monkeys, it truly is very relaxing. The buildings are made of lovely wood and are impeccably clean and prepared, there is a little fridge in each one which is nice to have, comfortable beds and good air conditioning. Oscar ad his family are cultivating the land to grow the food for the kitchen which is simple but traditional - rice and beans with chicken, great fresh fruit, simple, but not boring comida tipicas.

The location of the place is the only other thing that you need to consider - this lodge is about 25 minutes outside of La Fortuna which is where most of the Jungle activities happen - so you have to be prepared to make that trip, we had a hire car which made this very easy, but you will want to go into La Fortuna either through transport or driving yourself.

I liked Oscar and his family - all of whom are working hard to make this place into something very special. i also respect the fact that they are not trying to make it a place for everybody - some people will want much more razzmatazz than here, there are no rewards points or loyalty programs here, just nice people who are quietly enjoying a different type of lifestyle.

Room Tip: i think it is worth going for a delux bungalow to get the jungle solitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ElRatler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
13.5 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
17.9 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,000 reviews
16.2 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
17.5 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
17.8 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconias Nature Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconias Nature Lodge

Address: | 11 miles south of downtown La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Arenal Volcano National Park 20213, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $183 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconias Nature Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a luxurious cabin nestled atop a mango tree. Find yourself in serene thermal pool surrounded by a secluded jungle trails. Treat yourself to delicious Costa Rican cuisine and our family’s secret recipes. Welcome home, to our home. Welcome to Heliconias Nature Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Heliconias Nature Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing