We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveller rating
1,085
387
104
46
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
387
104
46
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury suite hanging bridges heated pool swim up bar outdoor shower la fortuna happy hour arenal volcano costa rica golf cart hiking trails rocking chairs tabacon hot springs gift shop steep hill standard room rental car
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The resort feels immersed in the jungle with beautiful vegetations and spectacular views of the Arenal volcano. My room opened to a veranda with straight views to the volcano (not sure if it was a special room or every room does) and I loved to sit on the chairs outside enjoying the view and the sounds of the forest. Quite spectacular.
My room nicely decorated with wood accents and wood floor to fit a jungle theme. They are not as luxurious as they look on the website pictures but they are definitely nice and comfortable.
The included breakfast was good and served in a really nice al fresco restaurant.
The location is pretty but it is at the far edge of the hotel and tourist area that stretches underneath the volcano for around 20KM from the town of La Fortuna to Lake Arenal. This is actually the last hotel of the stretch. If you have a car it is no big deal to drive 10 mins to a restaurant or a sight. If you don’t have a car, you may feel a bit isolated but most tourist activities and the hotel can arrange transportation for you.
October being low season I got a good deal just over $100. The stated normal rate on the site said around $300. It felt a good deal for $100 or maybe even $200 a night, but not sure I would have paid the $300 level as it was very nice but not luxurious enough to warrant that price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea_Man_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This place was amazing. A wonderful location; rooms surrounded by the rain forest, with a perfect view of the volcano. One thing to note is the resort is situated on the side of a hill. There is golf cart which will transport you to and from your room but if you have mobility issues this may not be the best place.
The restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast with lots of options and fresh juices to choose from. There are two pools, one cold and one warm. The room is decorated to correspond with surrounding rain forest. The front of the room is mostly glass to take advantaged of the amazing view of the volcano. There are rocking chairs and a hot tub on the balcony so you can take in that view as much as you want.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the luxury room. Well, worth the few extra $$.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBiker43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

So, I've been holding off on this review for a few weeks as it's a hard one. Would I go back: definitely not while the hotel is in this shape. But on the other hand, it's one of those places that has true potential and given the chance, I would buy it in a heart beat.

First of all: we loved the location. Very, very nice to be in the middle of the rainforest, sitting out on your private porch looking at hummingbirds right in front of you and listening to the sounds of nature while seeing the Arenal volcano in the distance. Yes, you will need a car to get anywhere from this hotel, but isn't that true for any location around here?

The hotel is a short drive from Arenal. You're about a mile from the dam (on an improved road) and then another 10 miles to Arenal on the 142 (perfect asphalt). It takes about 15 minutes to get there.

The pool and especially in-pool bar were nice. However, getting some attention from the bar staff was hard, they were usually more interested in talking to each other than looking after the guests. Both pools (top one heated with bar, bottom one unheated) are very small though. Nice to soak in, but not suited for actual swimming. In our opinion, the top one is too warm, the bottom one too cold. Maybe average it out a bit?

The little hiking trail around the property through the jungle was a nice stroll and was well maintained.

Breakfast was just ok. No fresh bread. No fresh juices. Very hard to get attention from the staff, they seem to just do their job and don't really pay attention to or interact with the customers. They do make made-to-order omelettes, but there was never any staff behind the cooking station. We were there two days and had to wait and ask multiple times on both days before they got someone out to make our omelettes. And even though the (very young) guy that did the cooking meant well, it seemed like this was the first time he was ever holding a pan. It took forever, making one omelette (more like an egg-crepe) at a time (even though he had two burners and pans), would only take the next order after he finished the first, etc.

There is some walking to do in this resort. The room buildings are scattered on the property and there are some hills to climb. While the buildings on the right of the property all have walkways and stairs to connect them, the buildings on the left side (where we were) do not. You have to climb the hill on the road, which is not the easiest thing to do on flip-flops. Yes, you can call and be taken there in a golf cart, but we just prefer to walk. I would sugggest that a walkway and stairs up the hill to the buildings on the left side of the property might be a good idea.

Then, finally, our room.. It was of a good size. The interior design: well, not our style, and not really a 4* luxury feel to it, but that could be a matter of taste. The amenities: well, there really were none. A small fridge stocked with a few minibar items but most the items on the list were crossed out. The coffee maker had a broken pot which we called about on the first day, but it never got replaced. So no morning coffee. Instead of an apology for that, they tried to charge us for a broken pot. Really?

But the main problem with our room was the smell, ouch, the smell. So extremely moldy. When we came in, the room was moist and smelled like hell. They had a small absorption-style dehumidifier running in the room which was just not up to the job. The airconditioning though - which of course is a perfect, energy efficient and much more capable dehumidifier than any absorption unit can ever be - was turned off. Everything in the room was damp and everything smelled moldy: the mattress, the pillows, the couch, just everything. For the next two days, we kept the (perfect and quiet split unit) aircon running. It did a good job on actually getting some moisture out of the room, and even though the smell improved, it never went away. I'm wondering how those dry walls look on the inside..

We actually had to air out and wash all our luggage the next day as everything we kept in the room smelled moldy after our stay here. Everything smelled, including our trolleys.

The standard response from this property to others that have complained about the smell seemed to be: "hey, we're in the rainforest and can't help it". But that's too easy in my opinion. We've been in more places in the rain forest in Costa Rica, and everyone seems to be able to manage the moisture. And it's not that hard with modern construction, simply seal and insulate your buildings and keep them airconditioned inside. Unfortunately, it seems the room buildings in this hotel were not constructed with that in mind: it's all very cheap construction, not insulated at all, thin wooden and single-glazed interior doors used in the outside shell of the building, large gaps between and under closed doors, etc. While that may feel to the owner as "back to nature", I would say it's more like going back to the previous century and just cheap (and super energy inefficient) construction.

Also, there were no screens whatsover, except over the open shower (but even that had huge gaps between the screen and the walls for bugs to get in).

As far as the open shower is concerned: it looks nice, on photo's. But again, the way it is executed leaves a lot to be desired. The floor is made of a rough uneven stone, laid in cement. So how do they actually clean that? Yeah, that's something you just don't want to think about while you are showering.. The roof is an insect screen, but there are huge gaps all around it. So forget about showering at night with the lights on.

This place could be so much better if they get the rooms up to spec: Insulation, moisture control, a more "luxury" feeling interior and amities, a nice bathroom and most of all: an insect screen in front of the terrace so you can actually use that (and the outside whirlpool) after dark.

Room Tip: The buildings on the right side of the property (lower numbers) have walkways and stairs leading to them from the restaurant and pool area.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

I'm so sorry your room had a musty odor. Our dehumidifiers normally work fine and keep the room fresh. Regarding your concern over the walls, our buildings are double block construction made to withstand earthquakes as required by Costa Rica. Our shower floors are laja stone and disinfected every time the room is cleaned.
There are items like screens that are upgraded annually. The hotel closes for several weeks during Low season to remodel each room.
I'm glad you did enjoy the jungle location.
Sincerely, Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We went here with my parents (60's), my husband and kiddos (3 and 5 years old) and brother/sis in law and their three kids (7, 11, and 15). This place is gorgeous. We had so much fun exploring the grounds. The restaurant is good, maybe not mind blowing, but we enjoyed it. The hotel was able to get our 4 rooms pretty close together which was handy. We had a king room on the bottom floor with that stunning view of Arenal and a pond. Sitting out there at night was incredible with all of the outdoor noises. The bonus of being on the bottom floor was the outdoor stone shower! A highlight for sure! We mostly walked to and from the pool/restaurant area, but it's a hike up/down hill, so you can summon a golf cart, But if the cart is not immediately available it can be a long wait; I would not advise this hotel for people who are really out of shape or have mobility limitations. We loved hiking all over the grounds, including some crazy bridges. the trails were on par with some state parks, it's pretty amazing. Especially keep an eye out for the leaf cutter ants, they're fascinating!
We stayed here at the end of a ten day vacation in CR and luckily the laundry service prices were very reasonable, esp compared to the Marriott where we stayed at the beginning of the week. I think it was around $1/item. The in room sinks were very small so doing laundry that way is not really possible.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank mollydaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Arrived here after a long journey and were breath-taken by the grounds, facilities and room with a view - truly stunning vistas of Arenal Volcano and well worth the extra $$ to get a room with a view.

The communal swimming pools (one heated one not) allowed swim up to the bar and the restaurants served great breakfast and dinner (really friendly and helpful restaurant staff).

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to go for a Villa Superior Suite - amazing
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank keynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews