We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Loved our stay in the rainforest at this hillside retreat- great staff, natural setting, views and trails, but dinner at hotel was pricey. Staff was helpful and friendly. Quiet and peaceful with lots of bird and nature sounds and chirping. Nice warm bar pool. The lower level pool is nice but cold.

Room Tip: beautiful setting and views in natural hillside of rainforest near Arenal volcano, stunning setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberttoronto595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

We moved to Arenal from Torteguero. The journey took around 5 hours in total, including stop for lunch at Guapiles. From Guapiles, Lost Iguana was around 3.5 hours drive. The Lost Iguana is a beautiful resort, set deep in the woods and our room (Room 44) very comfortable slept the 5 of us, and had fantastic views of the volcano.
The food is excellent, the service is very friendly, it is spotlessly clean, has a couple of nice pools and a Spa offering a variety of massages and a small gym. August is a bit off season being right at the start of Rainy Season so the resort is quite quiet, as are all the tours.
Our first full day was fantastic, it started with an Arenal Volcano Park tour, our Arenal Adventures Guide was Gustavo - he was brilliant, knew all about the geology, geography and wildlife. We did a 4k walk and took around 2 hours or so. We then went up to La Fortuna waterfall and after a 500 step descent (you have to ascend the same way, it's tiring) we arrived at the foot of the waterfall where you can bathe freely, an exhilarating experience. We then went for lunch at a local farm (delicious food) where Gustavo left and we went to the hanging bridges tour. We were unlucky as the heavens opened just as we started so while the forest was fascinating, despite having waterproofs we were soaked. From there we went to a nearby hotel to bathe in hot springs.
On day 2 - as I'm writing this, we have just come back from Balsa River rafting. We did a 10Km run down level II and III rapids. Our guide from Wave Rafting was Mario - he was brilliant - a great laugh and pointed out some really interesting wildlife.
Tomorrow we are Sky Tram and Trekking (Canopy zip line) before we go on to Monte Verde.

Room Tip: Room 44 has stunning views of sunrise and the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, offers plenty of activities with views to the volcano and private seating outside your room. However the only downside is the location is too far away from any restaurants and shops. You have to travel 20 or 30 minutes to get to town. But if you are looking for a secluded destination in itself then this is for you

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jtee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Hotel 15 ,minutes out of town, La Fortuna , near the dam. Hillside setting in rain forest. Noisy with animals and stream but beautiful. 5 star prices but 3 star food and rooms, but decent and clean. Near for activities like hanging bridges and sky trail fantastic view of volcano from all rooms. Great place to relax and enjoy the changing character of the volcano.

Room Tip: Ask for a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

A nice little hotel outside La Fortuna. Staff was very nice & went out of their way anytime you asked for anything. The only reason I wouldn't give it higher is that it's a little too far from town & on,y the taxis come out that far with a high price--Uber doesn't come that far.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank hapaz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lost-iguana-Resort, Owner at Lost Iguana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear guest, I realize it is expensive to take a taxi to town. We tried taking guests to town in our van when we drove the workers home, but the La Fortuna police would not allow it and confiscated our van. Being away from town allowed us to build on 120 acres giving guests the experience of living in a rainforest. The hotels closer to town are on very small parcels of land.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay while at the hotel.
Sincerely, Elaine Knight

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
8.3 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,494 reviews
8.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
7.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,378 reviews
8.2 km away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
888 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#12 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $134 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Hotel Lost Iguana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing