We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, Even Better Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lost Iguana Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2009

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights in November and had an amazing time. We had an upstairs room with a hot tub on the balcony and the most amazing view. It's as if you are looking out on the dawn of time, where everything is so pristine- vibrant colors, humingbirds flitting by- wow! We were welcomed into our room with a card accompanying a bottle of wine and notebook for our honeymoon stay. The room itself is amazingly spacious, with unique decor. I have so many positive things to say about Lost Iguana that I'm not sure where to start, so I'll just list them.

- Great gift shop. The best of all the hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica.

-Wonderful food- we ate almost all of our meals here- yes, we did have a car, but we were so exhausted from all of the "adventure" activities we did on the previous part of our honeymoon that we just wanted to hang out and relax. And, even if we didn't have a car, we still could have eaten all of our meals here with no problem. My favorites- the specialty soup, guacamole, hearts of palm salad, ceviche

- The most beautiful spa I've ever seen. There is a large spa building near the gift shop with saunas ( & tubs in the saunas) available for all guests. Even if you don't want any services, you should just go and check out the building for it's gorgeous design. You can also order spa services which you receive in a hut overlooking the river. It was phenomenal receiving a couples massage, listening to the actual sounds of the rainforest with a fire roaring next to us.

- Great service- We had some pretty rank laundry from our rafting trip- all damp clothes that had been closed up in a plastic bag for over 4 days. They laundered it and had everything fresh, clean, and folded back in our room in just a few hours. Also, at about half the price of some other hotels' laundry service we stayed at (the good prices go for the mini bar too!). Room service also went smoothly. And, in the middle of the night, we heard some loud thuds on our roof. We called down & someone was up in 5-10 minutes (never discovered what it was).

- Great pool. Nice happy hour scene here. They have some 2 for 1 specials you can enjoy in a heated swim up pool bar. Very nice.

- On the lava flow side of Arenal. We were able to see the glowing cone of the volcano at night and a little bit of lava flow.

My only complaint at all about the Lost Iguana was that the room smelled a little musty, and sheets were a little damp due to humidity. My only suggestion would be to improve the AC to block out more humidity to the rooms. We brought a scented travel candle and that helped.

Perfect for a honeymoon. We had a car, but actually didn't use it that much. Went to the hanging bridges & saw a monkey, lots of birds, and great views. Also went to Eco Termales hot springs- I would recommend going at night- very romantic. Overall, very nice place to stay, with the best view we had in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treeseve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,221 - 1,225 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2009

This review is very late in the coming, but the quality of my stay has stuck with me, so I wanted to contribute my thoughts. My husband and I were married here in October of 2005. The location was beautiful, the rooms spacious and well appointed (including outdoor bathtub with volcano views) and the staff was wonderful. We will be back for our 5th Anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRJahns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

My family and I had a fantastic time at the Lost Iguana. The property is beautiful, the staff is friendly and the views are amazing. We enjoyed the pool, the sites such as "hanging bridges' near by and the hiking trails. The food and the amenities on the property exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay at this property again when we visit Costa Rica again!

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank wanderlust131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We visited Lost Iguana Resort for 3 nights beginning December 21, 2008. We stayed on a Luxury Suite and could not have been happier with the accommodations. Our room was very spacious with a large king size bed. The bathroom was roomy as well, with a very vigorous shower which we enjoyed after a day full of activities. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The spa was very nice and the location of the spa rooms next to the river made the experience that much better. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the service was very nice. Please note that the hotel is in a secluded location. You will need a car to move around the area or to go to dinner in town on your own. Since we had a car, this was not an issue for us – we actually enjoyed the remoteness of the hotel. In all, we enjoyed this hotel so much that we are planning to visit it again next Christmas holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

This hotel provides luxury accomodations with a great wilderness feel! The best part about this location and hotel is that it truely perserves the natural beauty of the rainforest and nature! You lay down in your bed at night and hear the animals outside while gazing through the beautiful oversized glass windows and french doors overlooking the volcano and rainforest!
Close to many attractions; hanging bridges, La Fortuna, Tabacon & other hot springs, volcano ect.
The accomodations include a breakfast which is very laid back and just enough to get you started, at night the food is EXCELLENT with a very romantic atmosphere.
If you are traveling in the "rainy season" expect it to POUR! It's still a great experience, after all you are in the RAINFOREST!!

We'd go back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where2next05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
8.7 km away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
8.3 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,489 reviews
7.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,374 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Iguana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Iguana Resort & Spa

Address: 1.5 km North of Arenal dam, Arenal Volcano National Park A2004, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#9 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#10 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#12 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: $139 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Iguana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Iguana Resort is Arenal's newest hotel, offering luxury accommodations in the rain forest The resort's 100 acre property overlooks the world's most active volcano, Arenal Volcano located near La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A premiere, upscale retreat nestled gently in the jungle, the Lost Iguana Resort only offers rooms with large private balconies overlooking the Arenal Volcano and Arenal River Gorge. All rooms are spacious and well appointed with first-class furnishings, artwork and full amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lost Iguana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Iguana Resort And Spa
Lost Iguana Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Lost Iguana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing