We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,697)
Filter reviews
2,697 results
Traveller rating
2,232
339
84
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,232
339
84
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club rio horseback riding day pass sushi bar hot springs the river animal sanctuary las ventanas monkey slide spring pools rock climbing arenal volcano costa rica sister property zip lining varying temperatures main building
Filter
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 2,697 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

1. The place it self- no question about it- it is a beautiful hotel, the room, the view, facilities- all are great.
2. Prices are over priced-
no way a cup of cappuccino coffee here should cost 4-5$, even in New York City coffee is cheaper.
Every thing here is priced with US dollars.
3. Far away- take into consideration that if you wish to travel in and out- it takes time- A long time. So be ready for it.
4. If you just here for the view and spend some time in a quite place- facing the volcano- maybe have a day track- that is a good one for you.
Cleaning & staff are extremely nice here! Which is nice too

Stayed: August 2016
Thank deniperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Deniperi,

Thank you for your feedback. Costa Rica can be an expensive country to vacation in, one of many reasons being the 23% food and beverage tax. We do our best to offer the highest quality while maintaining reasonable menu prices. As you can imagine it can become quite complicated, but we endeavor to uphold fairness with our prices. All the same, we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

John Picart
Operations Manager
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Had a great family vacation here with no end of possible activities at the resort. Beautiful location with rooms facing the volcano in the distance. Rooms spacious, clean, great view, jacuzzi pool on balcony looking out at the volcano in the distance. Great for romance but also super family friendly. Our 80 year old parents were with us, and although the location with all its levels might not be ideal for elderly, the staff could not have been friendlier or more patient and accomodating and were happy to convey them around on golf cart if necessary. Our kids had a blast on the ATV tours, did family tour as well as Extreme tour. Recommend the Club Rio cat feeding and horseback riding. Local tour of organic coffee plantation very interesting and was worth doing. Pools beautiful and loved the swim up bar at the main one. Food very good. Ran out of time and didn't get to all the activities but would come back. Is a bit of a ride from the airport but worth the trip.

Room Tip: Make sure you look out at the volcano but it is possible they all do.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Katie S

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope to one day boast of full accommodation for people of all ages and abilities.

John Picart
Operations Manager
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Our family of 6, with kids ranging from 21 to 11, had an amazing time at The Springs Resort and Spa! Our condo was very spacious and had a beautiful view of the volcano. We heard howler monkeys and saw many different types of birds, frogs, hummingbirds and butterflies, too. The 6am bird watching tour with Jonathan was incredible and something to not miss! We absolutely loved the hot springs, the water slide, pool/pool bar, and the wonderful spa!! The wait staff, bartenders and girls at the spa were so attentive, kind and very gracious! We went tubing, rock climbing, and participated in the cat feeding at Club Rio, which was well worth the money! All the guys working at Club Rio were so happy!!! They made sure we all had a super fun time and they kept safe on all of our adventures! We highly recommend The Springs Resort and Spa and know that one day we'll also be back for another family visit!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mamafish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Mamafish5

Our staff is very passionate about genuine and attentive service; we are elated to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us, and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the furute.

John Picart
Operations Manager
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I live in Costa Rica and have visited many hotels here. This is one of the best as far as views and the natural Springs pools.....but Please be advised: certain months we get a lot of rain and the river runs very fast....my fiance hit a rock and tipped out of the tube got banged up quite a bit today....luckily no broken bones. It took the guides over 10 minutes to grab her.... So please be advised of the Danger of any River activities....... there is a reason you sign a waiver before you go on these River expeditions

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jason e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Thank you for your review., Did you experience this accident here on our Club Rio property, or had you ventured on one of our off site activities? Safety is of the utmost importance to us, and though I am glad to hear that your fiancé sustained no substantive damage, we hope to avoid all accidents in the future.

John Picart
Operations Manager
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

My husband, 18 yr old daughter and 16 yr old son stayed here and we cannot say enough about this place! The service is warm and welcoming. Basically you are on a mountain with incredible views of the Arenal Volcano. You are in the rainforest with natural hot springs scattered throughout the property. There is so much to do, including white water rafting, zip lining tubing, fishing, just tons of activities on the property or one of the many adventure companies in the immediate area. The resort is laid back luxury! Rooms are spacious, well thought out, comfortable and spotless. It is a perfect haven to come back to after a busy day of outdoor activity. The staff could not be friendlier or more accommodating. Cannot say enough good things. If you are coming to the Arenal area, especially with family, this is the place to be.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Travelmommabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Travelmommal,

Your kind words are very appreciated. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

John Picart
Operations Manager
john@thespringscostarica.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews