We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Los Tucanes

Los Tucanes
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cuisine: Specializes in a la carte dining international fare Location: Hotel grounds Serves: Breakfast and dinner Dress Code: for evening dining we recommend that gentlemen refrain from wearing sleeveless shirts. Swimwear and flip flops are frowned upon for gentlemen and ladies. Reservations for dinner are highly recommended.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Amazing food! Great service! A beautiful environment. Just perfect! Everything at Tabacon is first class and this restaurant is 5 star.

Thank bobdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Los Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our beautiful environment. At the same time, it's great to know you had a first class visit. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again soon.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Starting with an empty restaurant, the hostess wanted to sit us by the drink stand instead of in romantic parts of the restaurants... not great start!

Waiter was nice though and we loved him.

Then, we had wine/ Malbec, good bread and a decent free soup.

We ordered the scallops appetizer (strange sauce, not bad, but not as a normal cheese sauce would be). My husband had the pork belly which was half fat/ had good pork with sub par green beans. I ordered the pollo a diovala which was very dry chicken on the bone and 2 asparagus with some creamy mashed potatoes that tasted like the 2 min microwave potatoes back home. I asked for a Sauce for the chicken but even tabasco didn’t help so I ordered the tortellini... which was a bland tomato sauce and cold pasta tortellini. When getting a $125 bill, we felt horrible. Worst experience.

Tierra MIA (whole in the wall) and restaurante Los Nene’s in la fortuna were both 5 star in comparison! Go there instead!!

Thank cortnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Los Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detail review with us. We are sorry to read about the experience you had when visiting our restaurant. it is certainly not the level of service that we have characterized for delivering We apologize for the service you received and we appreciate you have shared your experience with us. We will follow up the situation you mention to prevent it from happening again and we will share this incident with our Food and Beverage department. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Tabacon and went here for dinner our last night. We weren’t sure what to expect... it was amazing! Every entree was delicious and highly recommend the sashimi rubix cube for an app. The service was unparalleled (ask for Royland!!) and we felt like royalty. The tables by the water are extremely romantic and there was even a saxophone player playing while we dined. The experience was overall one the best of our entire trip and we highly recommend this place not just for the incredible food but for the service and experience as well.

1  Thank Trina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Los Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our services which made you feel like royalty. We appreciate your detail review and hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We stayed at Tabacon Thermal Resort at the suggestion of our tour guide as we wanted to be certain that one of our party was able to eat wonderful food despite a complex allergy. By alerting the chef ahead of time this person had the choice of 3 different 3 course 5 star gourmet menus. The food and atmosphere were amazing and the service incredible. The person in our party said it was the best meal they had ever eaten and it was beautifully presented. We ate there 2 nights and all we can say is thank you for your incredible hospitality. In addition, the ambience was delightful-one night a saxophone player serenaded us with popular downtempo music background and the other night a wonderful flute player-both technically brilliant and a joy to listen to in the open air feel of a fine dining establishment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Los Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed of a wonderful dinner despite of a complex allergy with variations to your dish according to your needs.At the same time, it's great to read that the person of your party told you that it was the best meal they had ever eaten. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We had all of our dinners here. All the food was great - pasta, meat, fish. The helpings are big. My kids favorite was the steak cooked on the stone.

Thank WernerJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Los Tucanes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Hello Werner,

Thank you for tkaing the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We glad to read we had the opportunity of hosting you and your kids and that your kids favorite was the steak cooked on the Stone. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Tucanes also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Los Tucanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing