We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware, we were stolen.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Candiac, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beware, we were stolen.....”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Beware; we were stolen in the restaurant….

Regarding our trip to Costa Rica, and Hotel Rio Perlas, we have to say it is definitely not a 5 stars.
The location was splendid, but we were disappointed with the food (canned vegetables), difficulties to have hot water in both rooms we tried, moisture in the shower and on the tiles around the bath….none of the pools were open, what else…

We went late for dinner, because we had problems finding the hotel at night… So we decided to go for a quick snack at the resto. There was 2 waitress and ourselves inside the restaurant. We had a wine glass both and a, to say the least, cafeteria dinner. Very ordinary food for a 5 stars, even some small canteens in San Jose served better food. Anyway, as soon as we finished dinner, we left the restaurant, and as we were outside the dining room, my spouse told me: Honey, I forgot my red purse on the chair.

Quickly went back where we were seated, and pouf, magic, the purse was gone.. 30 seconds, that’s it, that’s all. 200$ dollars, credit card, bank card, driver licence and some medicine… vanished.
She quickly explained to the waitresses inside the dinning room in English if they had seen any small bag with who we came in and they both declined. We went to look in the kitchen of the restaurant, garbage cans and all around, but both declined seeing the bag.. One even said to us: A bolsita rojo? (Red bag).. Proof that we came in with the bag… Strange isn’t it?


We decide to file a complaint to the front desk, no phone or public phone to call collect to Canada to VISA to deactivate the cards. Phoned with my own credit card . Total: 65$ US for 10 minutes. What a rip off from a private telephone company.

After a very bad night of sleep, the morning after we were invited to have a small chit-chat with the hotel manager who told us he had a lot if trust in his employees, many tourists from all over the world were coming to Costa Rica and his hotel, and he told us to have freebies to compensate for disappearance of the purse…

We decided otherwise and instead went in Orosi for all our other meals…

So eventually, even if the Orosi valley is magic and has a lot of scenery, or do not go to that hotels, you have some other choices you can make for a lot less. And do not do the same mistake we did, leave all your valuables in the safe in your hotel room…Be very careful…Even if you feel secure.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GUYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    53
    54
    41
    20
See reviews for
60
97
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

We stayed at Rio Perlas in July hoping to have a romantic gateaway at the “hot spring”. I really hope they have cleaned up their act by now. I live in Costa Rica and have travelled extensively throughout the country, staying in many of the top and not-so-top hotels so I am very familiar with the scene around here. When we paid $100 for our room, I had no illusion that despite their 5 star claim, it wasn’t going to be 5 star. However, even with lower expectations I was badly disappointed.

The location of the hotel is a nice one, at one point this could have been a good place, but it has not been maintained at all.

There are 3 pools at the hotel which is what they define as “hot springs”. Only 1 was working and the other 2 looked pretty beat up. Unfortunately the one working pool was the family pool, so no swim up bar, just a ton of kids. There are also a number of Jacuzzis located throughout the property - I saw at least 6 and NONE were working- all empty. They had 2 restaurants- only one was open.

Now for our room. Again paying $100 bucks I didn’t expect much. It was a good size but very old and plain. When I went to have a bath, I discovered there was no hot water.

We also had a terrace out front of our room but it no chairs so we could not even sit outside.

On the bright side, the staff was super friendly and the food was pretty good (not outstanding, but pretty good).

Rio Perlas could be a decent place, but when you get there to find that nearly none of the facilities work, it is depressing at best. I would neither recommend Rio Perlas or think of staying there again unless I knew it had undergone major renovations.

WARNING: before booking here, call and find out exactly in what shape the resort is in (ie. if anything is working or not).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — facilities out of order
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CR-Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cartago hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We have been there for a romantic gateway. Landscape was great. Staff was nice. Breakfast and meals were Ok. We loved the pool however it was raining all day long and water was not hot enough. Rooms were ok, not luxury as they advertise. We rent the special condo but we did not know each condo was separated in 2 little condos. The walls were so thin that we could hear our noisy neighbours....We expected to hear environment noises, not other people´s TV!!!
Anyway, the worst part was the SPA services. We asked for 2 hours beauty treatments for both of us. We had the turkish bath and a cold shower , and the therapist never showed up!!!!! She said "wait for me and I will be back" ....We waited for her during an hour and then we left. when we went to the reception for check out, the receptionist said she was doing another massage and that they were understaffed!!! They cannot do that!!! Another thing, the waiter who served us dinner was the same one who served us breakfast. Aren´t they working so much? I mean, when an employee works at graveyard then isnot suppose to return early in the morning...

  • Liked — Location and views. Landscape
  • Disliked — Spa services
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mumucienta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

Hotel Rio Perlas is set in the beautiful mountain area that is incredible, secluded, mystical, and peaceful but alive. The grounds have a beauty, and cared for life of their own. Take a hike an see unusual fauna and flora, or a take a swim in the healing relaxing natural hot spring pool. Soak up the sun, then go for a lovely lunch or terrific dinner at the onsite restaurant. If you happen to be there on a weekend enjoy the live band and dancing. The staff are very caring in there attention. They are lovely people here, which makes the stay personal. There are an assortment of styles of rooms, and comfortable beds. Everything is clean, fresh, and cozy at the same time. It was a lovely stay, I'm sure to return.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliapsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irving, texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2008

The resort is in beautiful Orosi Valley and has a friendly staff. We (my wife and I) enjoyed our stay and walks around the beautiful property. The resort is at a distance from San Jose (about 1.5 hrs in taxi) and be ready to plan your tours/trips with this in mind. We used the taxi to get to Orosi and used both taxis and public transport (bus) to get to San Jose (and around)..buses are a very cost effective way to travel (we found it safe and bus drivers very helpful..it helps immensely to know a little spanish!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The towels had a bad odour
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vbhasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartago
12.9 km away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
262 reviews
4.9 km away
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
Paraiso Orocay Lodge
#5 of 5 in Cartago
39 reviews
9.0 km away
Hotel Las Brumas
Hotel Las Brumas
#4 of 5 in Cartago
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Hotel y Restaurante El Guarco
3.6 km away
Hotel Reventazon
Hotel Reventazon
#2 of 3 in Orosi
58 reviews
29.0 km away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cartago

Been to Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort

Property: Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort
Address: Valle de Orosi, Cartago 95-7100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Cartago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cartago
Price range (per night): $80 - $241
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 65 rooms ravishing property, Among the finest five star hotels in Costa Rica is set in the beautiful and legendary Orosi Valley 39 Km./ 24 Mls. from San José represents the only Mountain & Spa destination in the area. the exclusive Hotel Río Perlas Spa & Resort is surrounded by tropical gardens of the rain and cloud forest with many natural attractions as: Tapantí National Park (15 Km./ 9 Mls.), the Irazú Volcano (57 Km./ 35 Mls.), the Turrialba Volcano (30 Km./ 19 Mls.), the Arqueological Reserve of Guayabo ( 30Km. / 19 Mls.), the Pacuare and Reventazón Rivers normally used for white water rafting, the Lankaster Gardens (9 Km./ 6 Mls.), the Ujarrás Valley and also the Cathedral of Nuestra Señora de los Angeles located in the center of the old Costa Rica metropole: Cartago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rio Perlas Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Perlas Cartago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing