We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
189
48
11
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
48
11
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit poas volcano san jose costa rica beautiful location great things gravel road typical breakfast the main house national park amazing views nice garden property cows animals mountains container
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Came in late in the afternoon just as it started to rain. It was foggy and chilly. Altitude is about 8200 feet. The property is beautiful. They have cows, donkeys and chickens. The hotel rooms are an out building, the main house is where they serve breakfast. The view is of towns below.They have a barn/reception which is very nice. This is right around the corner from Poas Volcano which is closed due to eruption last month. The internet was not working when I was there. Felt very remote and out of touch with the rest of the world! As a solo traveler connection was very important! The breakfast was 'typical' and it was the only place that had mango in their fruit salad! Delicious and I wondered why only here, as the country has tons of mango trees! The grounds are beautiful, and they have a fire pit...This was the most expensive hotel I stayed at and do not think it was warranted...

Room Tip: only a couple of rooms. All are good
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

The hotel is very close to Volcan Poas, so that it is very easy to be up there very early. The whole complex was made with a lot of love and everybody was really dedicated. The roomes were really big and nice. However, our impression was that they lost the interest or it was just getting to much for them to keep the whole ground up. Due through the climate everything was a little bit wet and smelly. We think that the price was to much compared to other locations in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Amazing place, amazing view, super friendly staff, great breakfast and and and - the most smazing and uniquely designed rooms.
Very close to the Poas volcano nature park and to the LaPaz falls.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank OferRazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

An unusual and beautiful hotel. A lovely setting up in the hills, with a lovely garden. Our room was modern chic and boutique.

We just didn't get to see the best of it, arriving in the middle of a fierce storm. So bad the national park was closed. Water off in the entire neighbourhood. The staff were very helpful and the hotel provided bottled water to make do for 24 hours. Even a discount to ease the disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Our room was nicely furnished, big and bright due to lots of windows. Everything was clean and we felt very comfortable staying here. The only downside was that we had pretty bad weather and is was a little chilly at night.

You have a beautiful look over the city and landscapes from this location. A big plus is the distance to Poas Volcano.

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was excellent (incl. fruits and a typical breakfast in CR). Would definitely stay at Altura hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews