We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Place not to miss !”
other travellers have booked this property
Main entrance & Desk to plan your adventure
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main entrance & Desk to plan your adventure
House arquitecture Art gallery
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Main entrance & Desk to plan your adventure
House arquitecture
Art gallery
Dinning room, get energy to the next tour!
TV Room
Sit & Relax in our beautiful terrace
Family enjoying the indoor pool
Family enjoying the indoor pool
House view from the garden
House arquitecture
Rest in our palm garden, just outside of the house
Art gallery
Dinning room, get energy to the next tour!
Fully equipped kitchen
Blue bathroom
Rest in our palm garden, just outside of the house
Confortable bedrooms to rest from your day adventure
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RashCAD
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Place not to miss !”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Julian's house was so clean and spacious for a family of 8. The beds were so comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. Julian was very prompt in his responses from the time we booked and was in contact with us through email and phone. He took us to town to get groceries and helped us to book all the activities. He is very knowledgeable about the place and always there to help. The house was very close to downtown and all activities. Quiet and peaceful and beautiful view from the backyard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Place and Bed
Liked least: No dryer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charciak
Grosse Ile, Michigan
1 review
“Pretty property but...”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Julian's property is quite attractive and the location is very good. That being said future renters should know that it is not completely as advertised. There is NO television or satellite TV. The hot tub is broken and the pool is quite cold, not really swimmable for us. There are no fans and several screens are missing or broken. One of the two air conditioners does not work leaving some bedrooms extremely warm. The Wi-Fi is weak and doesn't work throughout the house. The kitchen although attractive does not have basic utensils such as spatulas, stirring/serving spoons, drinking glasses for our 5 people ect... We would have liked to do laundry but did not have a drier and no way to adequately dry our clothes. We rented another property in Manuel Antonio for the second part of our stay and it was MUCH better equipped and maintained. This property is so pretty and could be a five star so easily if Julian would just put a little more effort into it. Costa Rica is a beautiful and amazing place. Go and enjoy your stay at Julian's house. Just know what to expect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
I have explained to my guests that the previos TV Was stolen and brought them tv,a smart tv,the same day,and let them stay half day longer without any charge,about other complains ,like I AM NOT PUTTING EFFORT,I prefer to ignor,if somebody enjoys criticizing,as far as I see it,can have the fun. And to my future customers; they can see other reviews and decide for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralph V
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Ended our Costa Rican vacation on a high note!!! Stayed here for our last three days and the house and location was amazing! Peaceful and quiet and centrally located to many activities in the fortuna area. Our host Julian, was very accommodating and extremely helpful! I would highly recommend this rental to any family who wish to have a hassle free experience in a beautiful place!!
Thank you Julian!!
Sincerely
The vigilantes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason7861...
Cedar Park, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, great hospitality”
Reviewed 8 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This beautiful home is in the perfect location for our family of 5. It’s just outside of town (walking distance) from La Fortuna where you will find everything you need from restaurants, grocery stores, shops, etc. The Arenal volcano is very close by as well as several natural hot springs and many other rain forest/jungle activities.

Julian and his wife are excellent hosts! Julian is an artist and he designed the home himself. It’s very unique and has a nice open feel to it. It has very tall ceilings, but note that the walls of the bedrooms do not go all the way up to the ceilings so the noise level can be loud, which may be a concern if you are traveling with small children who will be going to sleep before the adults. The beds were extremely comfortable (memory foam mattresses!) and the showers were great with plenty of hot water. The kitchen is fully stocked with all appliances including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and electric stovetop, but it does not have an oven. There is a flat screen TV in the living room, but there is no cable/antenna so you’ll need to bring your device to connect and watch streaming video only. There is wifi in the house but it is very week. There is a nice (small) pool and hot tub but we did not get to use it since we were in and out so much with other activities. There is a nice covered patio overlooking the beautiful grounds filled with trees and tropical plants. In the front there is a gate with a padlock making it very secure.

Julian lives in a second house on the property just down a hill so he was always available and quick to respond to any questions I had. For example, the washer was not working during our stay so Julian’s wife offered and did our laundry for us in their home! Julian also recommended a travel agent in town and we ended up booking a zip lining tour, white water rafting, as well as a discounted visit to a local hot springs through them.

I would definitely recommend staying in this home if you’re visiting La Fortuna!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, nice property
Liked least: weak wifi, noise level at night from lack of bedroom ceilings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing