We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of pura vida, perfect family or friends...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hgmadvent...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A slice of pura vida, perfect family or friends reunion spot!”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our family of 3 generations wanted a special place to celebrate a 70th birthday, with a lot of relaxation and private family time. Casa Cielo was just perfect for us, the location was far enough from the hustle and bustle but close enough to drive to excursions. Our hosts Paul and Rosy provided us with everything we needed. From the delicious poolside breakfasts to tour planning and home cooked dinners, we felt like we had friends to lean on the whole time. Paul planned the most amazing day for our 3 year old daughter at the local butterfly farm and a dairy farm. Every time we left for the day, the house was tidied up and we were never short of towels or any amenities. It was beautiful to come back to the house and dip in the refreshing pool. In the morning, forget your alarm clocks. Wake up to the sound of birds coming to the several bird feeders on the property. Eat breakfast and watch butterflies hatch out of their cocoons. Lounge in the hammock with a cup of Costa Rican coffee looking at the picture perfect view of the Arenal volcano. It's been over two weeks since we left Casa Cielo and we still miss it everyday. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2017
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future! Thanks again for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titita013
puerto rico
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Heaven in Arenal, the place to stay”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I stayed at Casa Cielo together with my husband and 2 other couples. We are world travelers and very selective as to were we stay as well as food. And I can tell you from the moment we reserved Casa Cielo to when we left Paul and his wife were all attentions. They purchase groceries and prepare a brick oven super fresh pizza night for our welcome dinner(you can order all types of food and drinks, Margaritas by the Jar to die for...). THey arrange for us a private birdwatching tour with a tour guide and we could even order to them to prepare a cooler with food so we could enjoy the full birdwatching trip. Another day we requested massage services and again they were perfect . The only thing is stay a week, when we left we wanted to stay longer. So whenever you are in the Arenal area go to Casa Cielo. Perfect view of Arenal Volcano and the pool perfect after a day of rafting and activities. We never went to eat elsewere. Every morning during breakfast which is delicious we order our dinner and drinks to be ready at 7:00pm by the pool.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherwor...
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect from beginning to end”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Spent four nights at this lovely oasis at the top of a mountain. Paul and Rosy couldn't have been more gracious and wonderful hosts. It felt like staying with friends. The meals were amazing. Our three teenage daughters are begging us to return next year. I'm not the type of person who writes reviews, but this genuinely exceeded all expectations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avidtrave...
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not only pura vida.... pure nirvana is the signature experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Perfection from beginning to end. Thanks so much to Paul, Rosy and family for their superlative hospitality with peace and privacy. From the easy and informative booking process, to waking up to tai chi and coffee with hummingbirds and volcano views from the main suite balcony kitchen, to tailored private day trips all organized whatever the fancy whether adventure, waterfalls or romance, to relaxing by the private pool with massages or a glass of wine and last but not least, to the fabulous feasts for breakfast or dinner which spoilt us beyond compare. We regularly reminisce two months after the dream about the amazing experience of Casa Cielo. Do not hesitate and we hope to come back one day again. Thank you again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIA666
L.I.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond expectations”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Casa Cielo, in Monterrey Costa Rica is close to The Arenal Volcano and the town of La Fortuna. It is near most of the best places to visit in the region. BUT, the best part, is that it is gorgeous here....immaculate, romantic, private, magical and run by the nicest, most accommodating couple who tended to our every need! You would be crazy to stay anywhere but here! 4 of us stayed here for 1 week and can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We are so happy that we were able to make your stay here a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again. Pura Vida!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing