We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent. Beautiful and well appointed house...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dropthumb
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent. Beautiful and well appointed house with pool, fantastic service.”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed three nights, two couples and five children. I am an expat North American living in Costa Rica and I can tell you that Paul and Rosie provide the very best of what this area of the country has to offer. Their local knowledge was priceless when selecting our activities and the house itself was an amazing retreat with plenty of space in and out. The breakfasts and dinner that we ordered were outstanding and so generous with the amount of food! Pro tip- buy some rum and freeze your leftover breakfast fruit for cocktails in the blender found in the kitchen in the evenings. The house is appointed with a kitchen ready for cooking with all appliances, oils and spices. Beautiful view of the volcano off the back of the house along with bird feeders and outdoor bar area make for a wonderful spot to unwind after a day of horseback riding and waterfall hiking. I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit the Arenal area. Pura Vida.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food, service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oasis of comfort with generous and friendly service”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family of 5 (3 sons aged 23, 20, 17) stayed at Casa Cielo for three nights while visiting Arenal area. Casa Cielo is comfortable, spacious, clean and well-equipped. The pool area is perfect for meals and lounging, and the upstairs open-air porch is lovely. Bedrooms are spacious, beds comfortable, bathrooms clean and modern. Wi-fi is effective and consistent.

Paul is the ultimate host, making sure you have what you need without being intrusive. The level of service was exceptional. Paul provided solid information and driving directions whenever asked. The house was fully stocked with the groceries we requested and an itemized bill was provided. Rosie even donated a t-shirt to my niece when we went zip-lining because it had rained and Paul warned us of possible oil splatters. Paul filled our car with gas knowing that we would be leaving for Liberia after a full-day horse-riding adventure.

Rosie's cooking is exceptional. We had some of the best meals of our 11 day vacation while at Casa Cielo. Daily breakfast was included and we each ordered to our personal preferences. Every breakfast was served at our requested time and started with fresh fruit, fantastic coffee and freshly squeezed juice. Lunches and dinners were available on request. We had tacos one night and pizza another -- both amazing.

Although driving in Costa Rica is a bit of a challenge overall, we found this area to be no better or worse than the other areas we had driven and Paul's maps supplemented our GPS well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and service
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkeyeTr...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful home; Paul's hospitality was exceptional.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was a trip with my wife, our two adult children and their spouses. The vacation was perfect - an adventure (zip lining/rafting, hanging bridges) in the morning then a relaxing afternoon and evening at the house with family. The home was wonderful - very well maintained and bigger than expected and with fabulous views. Paul was assisted us in every way. We arrived late in the evening from Liberia and he baked a cake for my daughter-in-law as she was celebrating her birthday that day. The food was great - breakfast was delicious and filling. We also ate several evening meals at the house.

You need to be aware the house is quite a drive to LaFortuna (maybe 25 to 35 minutes). With Paul's assistance we rented a large SUV and were able to get around without any problems. I was worried about needing maps and a GPS, but they really weren't needed with Paul's directions. If you want to be close to the "action" (bars and such), this is not the place.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The value for the money and Paul's assistance with everything.
Liked least: One night, the neighbor's barking dog was an issue - Paul took care of it the next day.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
708danp
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Place To Stay In La Fortuna”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I have NEVER written a review for anyone. However, I had to for this trip. Paul and Rosie made our family experience unbelievable. If you are ever planning on vacationing to La Fortuna, this is the place to stay. Besides the fact that the house is unbelievable, the food (prepared by Rosie every morning and night) is amazing, it is the little things that sets this place apart from all the rest. Paul is willing to go above and beyond to make sure your trip is perfect. For example, he provides perfect directions from the airport, he will make your reservations for your activities, he even took my flat tire to the local gas station and got it repaired. Put simply, Paul and Rosie were the bomb the entire trip.

AN ABSOLUTE MUST PLACE TO STAY!!!! You won't regret it.

Thanks Paul, Rosie, Stephanie, Lucas and Junior!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paul and Rosie
Liked least: The Master Bed was hard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
So glad you and your family had a great time at Casa Cielo! It was a pleasure having you. Come back soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S5341OEan...
Tecumseh, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Authentic Costa Rican Paradise”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Cielo was the perfect place for us to start our 2 week vacation in Costa Rica! For our 1st visit to this region, we were warmly welcomed and so well taken care of -we didn't want to leave! Paul and Rosey Robinson were so helpful from planning our excursions and transfers to our beautiful meals. Even though we cooked for ourselves a few times, (and we had all the amenities to do so), we really enjoyed the full breakfasts provided-right down to the delicious smoothies and fruit platters. it was especially nice to view the all the exotic birds that visited the well manicured property. The birds were attracted everyday with fresh fruit that Paul provided every morning. Our family of 6 especially enjoyed learning about the history of the region and how Casa Cielo came to be!
I highly recommend this property for your stay in the rain forest region of Costa Rica- you would not be disappointed. Although the terrain in this area is very rough and hilly-it is still worth every minute of your stay!
Thank you Paul and Rosey for your exquisite hospitality, your company was delightful and your children are precious!
We thoroughly enjoyed our "pura vida" experience!

Liked best: hospitality
Liked least: proximity to some excursions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing